We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat the fish tacos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna

La Luna
Playa Pelada, Nosara 4, Costa Rica
506 26820122
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 40 restaurants in Nosara
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Eat the fish tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is such a sweet little restaurant, set on a cozy porch with cafe lights and wall murals. The menu has a little bit of everything, but the fish tacos were absolutely fabulous - a must try! The restaurant is set right on the beach and is a great place to watch the sunset.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    174
    71
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Watch the sun set and then enjoy a delicious dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I think it's going to be hard to give anything but glowing reviews of everything in nosara. La Luna sits on top a small hill where you can watch the sun sink into the sky. The view is just beautiful.

Once the sun goes down you can enjoy really good food. The ceviche was delicious as was my meal (coconut fish filet and shrimp). The staff was super friendly. This is another to check off your list if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to watch a sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time here with our two boys. Since it is right on the beach, the children could play in the sand while we had a cocktail during the sunset. This is a great place to land while in Costa Rica.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best setting and great food in Nosara!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Since first visiting Nosara in January 2008, La Luna has always been at the top of our list of restaurants to visit each July that we are here. As one of the few restaurants to be so close to the beach, it's a fantastic restaurant, where one can enjoy a spectacular view of the sunset while relax to the sounds of the groovy chill-house music. The cocktails are fantastic, food is super fresh-love the fish tacos and the wood-oven fired pizzas too! And we love the stellar service that we get from our friend Carlos, who works there. Just a reminder, they don't accept Credit Cards, so bring cash, US dollars or Colones are accepted here. Enjoy!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food! Great atmosphere! The Best location !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is no better location in Nosara for lunch or dinner. The constant sound of the waves lapping on the shorline while the breeze whistles through the ttrees, makes La Luna our favorite 'go to' restaurant for lunch or dinner. The food is consistently great and the staff are wonderful. Angelina has provided a wonderful 'home like' feel with the comfortable couches strategically placed on the lawn under the soft lighting draped through the trees. It is a great place for couples or families. Our children love to run around the beach down below while we enjoy a leisurely glass of wine.
Hands down - our favorite place to eat !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.