We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner selections” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Main Road, Nosara, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Nosara
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Four of us went for dinner last night. We had heard that the food was very good but the prices might be higher than other places. The dining area is high up and gentle breezes made it comfortable. It seemed we were away from everything and heard howler monkeys in trees some distance away. The choice of items is varied. The quantities are large. We went with a selection of appetizers that we shared along with a generous glass of house chianti. Food was geat and the owner personally made sure we were happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excellent food, excellent surroundings, charming owner. We had a large group and they were just delightful to us. Mmmmwa!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Dolce Vita, has the reputation of the best food in Nosara for a reason! I have eaten there several times on my yearly visits to Nosara, every time is great! I love the personal care you get directly from the owner Roberto, he is always making sure each table is happy and satisfied with everything. I lived in Italy for 2 years, this is true Italian food at its best! By far, I think he has the best pizza in town, they use quality chesse and put on a lot of toppings, not just sporadic little peices like most other pizza places in Nosara, and best of all, they are less expensive than the other pizza restaurants. The pastas are incredible! My favorite is the "Russo". The word around town is that it is expensive, I find it less expensive than many of the other restaurants in town, especially for pasta and pizza. The specialties are not on the cheap side, but are very fair valued for the incredible food you are eating, everything is first quality, and many of the ingredients are straight from Italy. I would suggest making a reservation, and dressing up a bit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went here with our friends ve in Nosara and heard it was the place to go, well I won't go back. Terrible service, had to wait 15 min just to order the drink, then wait 15 min to get it. Ordered lobster, it was supposed to be 2 whole lobsters, i got what looked like 2 big shrimps, overcooked and small. My wifes meal (lobster ravioli) was good though, just hate terrible service.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food in the Jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Set off the road amongst the trees, La Dolce Vita is a special place to have a meal. The owner, Roberto, is from Italy and knows real Italian cooking. Having been to Italy several times myself, I found the dishes to be of the same quality found in local restaurants and homes in Italy. The house Chianti is great. The bread included with each meal is very good with plenty of real garlic oil and giardiniera to go with it. The antipasti are very good with a variety to choose. Roberto even has real buffalo mozzarella and it is very delicious. The main courses are large. The specials use what ingredients are fresh that day and are creative, but still use true to Italian cuisine. Chilled limoncello is given to everyone gratis after the meal. The staff were all very friendly and polite. Overall, La Dolce Vita is a very good experience in the Nosara area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.