We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KayaSol Surf Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KayaSol Surf Hotel
Save
You added KayaSol Surf Hotel to your Saves list
100 M Norte Hotel Guilded Iguana, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great location, great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just spent 7 nights in the beach house at Kaya Sol. The location (beach was around the corner) and the restaurant were excellent. The beach house was the perfect accommodation for my family. We had 2 bathrooms and two bedrooms. The beds in the bedrooms were very comfortable. There was a futon in the living area but the mattress was very lumpy. The beach house has a full sized kitchen with an island so cooking at home is easy. We chose to eat most of our meals at the Kaya Sol restaurant and were never disappointed. We found the service in the bar/restaurant excellent and found the staff to be very friendly. Emerson, the surfing instructor, taught our boys to surf. The Beach House has no TV or AC so if you are someone who wants a low key, simple, no frills beach vacation, we definitely recommend the Kaya Sol Surf Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
36
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I traveled to Kaya Sol by my onesies with a group of other single travelers who were learning to Surf. The staff at Kaya Sol are all very friendly, but they work slow - Island Time. To some it may be a pain, to me it was a nice reminder that I am on vacation and should enjoy it!

The little huts around the pool are ideal to stay in. They are very small with a tiny fridge, some are without, but the sleep quality there is MUCH better than the hostel style rooms at the very end of the resort. Howler Monkeys hang out at the back of the resort and they will wake you up at 5am religiously!

The beach is about a 10 minute walk away and there is a surf shop across from Kaya Sol, so rentals are very convenient. There is a man on the beach who will sell you Pipa (Fresh Coconut Water) for a dollar. Well worth it!

Kaya Sol is steps away from a convenient store, spa's, yoga retreats and a couple restaurants. Nosara is very small and when I was there, the locals would come by to pay to use Kaya Sol's pool. To me, this was nice because I got to meet so many people!

If you don't know much Spanish, you will get along fine here. Luis is a wonderful restaurant manager. Just make sure you don't accept his wedding proposal. ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool, you won't be awoken by Howler Monkeys quite so early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We really liked staying here because of the location and food. (the restaurant is yummy the beach is super close). However i can't give it a great review because the bed was pretty awful. We really didn't sleep the 3 nights we were here because it was so hard. Not sure if that is true of all the rooms but it was of ours (number 8) Big plus is there really is hot water and the place is extremely well maintained. Most places in costa rica say they do and it isn't true, but they really do which is nice. Having a kitchen was great so we spent less on food.

Room Tip: I like the second floor rooms best, there are only a few of them and we were lucky to grab one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Nancy,

I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful trip! We think our location is pretty special and having excellent food at the restaurant is a necessity for a great vacation. All of our mattresses are less than 1 month old. We purchased high quality orthopedic beds designed specifically for hotels. The firmness level of the mattress was recommended to us to ensure the most comfortable nights sleep for the weary traveler and support for the avid surfer/yogi. I suppose all body types have different needs and we can't please everyone but we sure can try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was booked at the Kaya Sol but spent very little time in the actual room as a friend in town that owned property made available other suitable accommodations with an offer that I could not refuse. What I know is that the location is excellent and they can do a better job with reception and reliability with the wifi. That said, I did spend most of my evenings at Cocina de Jorge, or George's Kitchen which is the restaurant within the Kaya Sol property so I can speak to that. As a former restaurateur, I have grown particular so when a perfectly cooked surf and turf comes out with beef tenderloin and crunchy jumbo shrimp with a whole baked potato and spiced tomato alongside for $15, you take notice. Or try the Mahi Mahi special, as in special sauce and flavor, or the tuna fish tacos with several 5 " strips of perfectly cooked fresh as can get tuna. But a good restaurant is only as good as the service and the consistency. Cocina de Jorge has both. At the bar or your table (as of this writing), you will be greeted by the lovely Argentinian woman Maria Victoria, or surfer extraordinaire Michael, the experienced and knowledgeable J.C., the curious and affable Emerson and the ever smiling and pleasant Katia.... all with a good command of the English language. I asked to meet the owner and she, Pamela, came out with the whole smiling kitchen staff to shake my hand and make me feel welcome. There is a full bar available and even Coors light beer for those that can't get used to the Imperial brand prevalent over there. Easy listening music is available from time to time and you will be sure to meet some interesting characters at the place ranging from pure surf dudes,writers rediscovering themselves, software developers or top chefs from around the world enjoying some r&r. So, wherever you stay in Nosara, do yourself a favor and try the food at the Kaya Sol and tell em Felipe sent you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The place isn't bad but it's certainly nothing to rave about. We unfortunately left it a little late and most other accommodations (Iguana, Harmony and several private rentals) were booked up but the website does make it look better than it is in reality.

We stayed in Suite 3 (top floor with air con) and I found it really depressing. Bars all over the windows, nasty dated decor and not a great deal of natural light. We were in Costa Rica by the beach in a lovely town but you wouldn't think it to stay here. It is also a little further than we thought from the beach - the map on the site is a little misleading.

The pool area is nice though and we bumped into the gardener and one of the cleaners a few times and they were lovely smiley people. We're both surfers but we did find quite a few of the American surfers staying around the pool to be very unfriendly. You say hello and you get nothing back - weird. Anyway, I digress...

The most annoying thing was arriving and finding a note in the "suite" saying that theft is common and on the same page stating that cleaners come every 2 days. No other info. Now, we found that odd and we also found it very odd that they state that theft is common yet they don't provide a safe for their guests, meaning the first feeling is of anxiety about where to stash cameras etc!

We did see a few bugs (looked like roaches in the bathroom) and our toilet also overflowed one day - nice! but we didn't mind the ants etc as we're basically staying in the jungle so that's to be expected.

Anyway, it could certainly do with a general renovation job, some internal decor work (not blood red curtains with hardly any light and yellow walls - that's just plain nasty) and a safe in each room.

There appear to be quite a few new places popping up in Nosara so KayaSol will have some new competition unless they make a few changes, either that or just stick to being a backpackers and make it obvious that that's all you really are.

Room Tip: Don't choose suite 3 or Cabina Fria which is basically right on the road and forms part of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Currently at Kayasol on Our 3rd visit to Playa Giones. Stayed at different places each time. Love the laid back/chill/bohemian feel in spite of being older than most at Kayasol. (We probably fit more into the age group at The Iguana.) Experienced just what I expected in a friendly laid back environment with good food and fair prices. I'm so happy Kayasol maintains an environment that kids can afford at such a special destination. Mattresses could be better but that's not why we came here. No biggie:) Wifi worked great in our room but would have been nice to have access at the pool. Pool was lovely and peaceful.....maybe because we had no wifi and read instead!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear David from Charleston,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to hear you felt welcome there with our wonderful group of mixed-age clients! That is something so special about Nosara.....you become friends with all walk/ages of life because you are all there with the same thing in common: passion for Pura Vida! I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the mattresses and a bit confused because 100% of our rooms received brand-new orthopedic mattresses for Christmas? And we do have Wifi at the pool and throughout the entire property however I like your attitude about more reading and less screen time. Maybe it was a blessing! Hope to see you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My daughter (4) and I stayed at Kayasol for 30 days in June, 2012 with 6 friends and family coming and going at various times. The dorm rooms, affordable costs, and different accommodations for diverse travelers worked out perfect for everyone. We all surfed as many days as possible and swam in the pool every day several times. We were not expecting a sterile Hilton hotel as we were in a Costa Rica surf town. The kitchen was clean and well equipped, the showers were hot, and the housekeepers and staff were always attentive, helpful, and welcoming. The grounds were absolutely amazing. You walk in under the canopy of well maintained coconut trees, and fruit trees filled with Howler monkeys and amazing tropical birds. We have traveled to several surf towns in Costa Rica over the years and we made a great choice to be at Kayasol for our first family trip choosing to stay in one place for 4 weeks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KayaSol Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KayaSol Surf Hotel

Address: 100 M Norte Hotel Guilded Iguana, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint family owned and operated hotel is located on the 200M Maritime Protected Zone. A 2 minute walk takes you to the best surf Guiones has to offer. We boast great prices & location; clean, comfortable, simple rooms; and our service is excellent. We are located on the non-commercialized end of the beach which gives you the tranquility you deserve yet puts you within walking distance to shops, restaurants & yoga. Come and enjoy the good life. Pura Vida! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KayaSol Surf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.