We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate lodging, great beachfront location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nosara Beach House
Save Saved
You added Nosara Beach House to your Saves list
APDO122-5233 | Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Nosara
Kauai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Adequate lodging, great beachfront location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was my fifth trip to Nosara and my first stay at the Nosara Beach House. We were a couple and a 16 year old traveling so we stayed in the two bedroom apartment above reception. The apartment was hot even late at night as it is not configured to catch the ocean breezes and the AC in our room was not functional. Leah was friendly and accommodating, she gave us another room downstairs with working AC and didn't charge extra. The beds were fine but not particularly comfortable, the rooms themselves were clean and the grounds were well maintained. The best thing about NBH has to be the location, it's one of a few hotels with direct beach access via a footpath. The reason I'm only giving NBH 3 stars is because in my opinion it is just average and it is not particularly a good value. But if location is your #1 concern, NBH is a very adequate place to stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs two bedroom apartment is HOT! The downstairs rooms are much more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Burke, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The location was prime. The rooms are pleasant, bright & decorated nicely. The bathroom/shower area was spacious. Having a kitchen was great (and it was stocked with all essentials). The outside patio/pool area was breathtaking and extremely relaxing to lounge around in. Our room & the grounds were very well kept and always very clean & the housekeepers/staff were genuinely nice & happy to help with any needs we had. We never felt unsafe & there were 2 rechargeable flashlights plugged in to the walls in case we went out at night :)
I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the Nosara Beach House for 1 week. From the time we stepped out of the car until the time we left Leah made us feel welcome and well cared for. She went above and beyond when giving us info about the area. She made finding everything easy by giving us directions and suggestions for dining and nightlife. The trail to the beach was convenient and allowed us easy access to all other parts of the town. The room was extremely clean and was more than adequate for our needs. It was nice having a small kitchen and refrigerator for our stay. The room stayed cool even with out the use of the A/C. The grounds were gorgeous. The pool was refreshing and offered both a shaded area or place in the sun for relaxing.
We look forward to returning to this little piece of paradise soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Nosara Beach House for eight nights and it was the absolute perfect place to stay for our surfing trip. The location was as close to the water as you can be in Nosara, the accommodations were wonderful (ceiling fans in every room, comfortable beds, screened-in patio, semi-private pool area), and all of the major restaurants, shops and attractions were easily accessible. Leah and her staff were fabulous. They attended to our every need, helped with recommendations and reservations and made us feel like we were at home. We were able to surf everyday (walking the boards directly to the beach and storing them on-site), take multiple yoga classes at various nearby locations, ate wonderful meals every day at local establishments and even arranged a trip to see the sea turtles nesting north of Nosara. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My cousin and I went to Nosara and had booked another hotel. After one night there we decided it wasn't for us and were lucky enough to get into the Nosara Beach House. It was so perfect. The rooms are cheerful and pleasant to be in. The bathroom was really large and having a kitchen was a bonus. The pool and grounds are gorgeous and having our own private path to the beach was awesome! The staff was extremely helpful and always available. We felt really safe there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My family stayed at the Nosara Beach House and had a wonderful experience. Leah the proprietor was really a joy. She was so helpful with local information. The location was great: close to the beach, restaurants, shops and farmer's market. Having the pool was a great way to cool off on the warmer days. The room was very clean and the staff helped keep the sand in the rooms to a minimum. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Nosara Beach House.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at the Nosara Beach House for 5 days, everything was great. Leah, the proprietor, was extremely helpful and welcoming. Short walk to the surf. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nosara Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara Beach House

Address: APDO122-5233 | Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
#5 Family Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Nosara Beach House Hotel Nosara
Nosara Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.