We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back and Friendly Outside Inn.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Outside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Outside Inn to your Saves list
The Outside Inn
11 Suriyat Road,Nai Muang, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Laid Back and Friendly Outside Inn.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed with girlfriend for one night before early flight from Ubon to BKK and onto Mandalay the next morning.About 10 minutes from the centre of town and a little difficult to find if coming by car though to be fair the hotel has put up numerous signposts directing you there.On arrival we were greeted by the friendly owners Brent & Tun and shown to our rooms.These were large and comfortable with fridge,tv and a/c plus large bathroom with shower.Evening meal set up in pleasant garden setting with a choice of Thai and Mexican which was pretty tasty washed down with a few cold Singha beers.Collected early next morning by pre booked taxi and driven 10-15 minutes to the airport.All in all a pleasant and relaxing brief overnight stay!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Wrote a review awhile back when eating here for the first time, best Mexican in Thailand. Now staying here for over a week. The entire menu is fantastic, fresh & prepared to the exact. Mexican, American & Thai...all better than most places I've been & also a favorite of my Thai wife who is also a good cook. Prices very good for the quality or low however you want to look at it. Good place for all travelers. Been to many 4-5 star hotel/restaurants in Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Phuket and never the same good fresh quality, authentic taste as the food here. Meaning, authentic per original origin is real, not "the fake" westernized versions like with the franchised corporations or 90% of the foreign invested solo company restaurants. Born & raised Los Angeles & this, Outside Inn, is the good stuff.

Accommodations wise, or across the board so to speak, the owners are very friendly, hospitable & helpful with any questions. The room, "Jasmine" which we're currently staying - very comfortable, even for long-term. Me & the wife staying a total of 3-4 weeks in Ubon, started with an apartment...talk about "living in a stone hole", then to T3 hotel...a small thin walled box. Then here at Outside Inn, the Goto home in Ubon Ratchathani. This is Real Thailand with real people & good food; if want different food, there's many places not far. They also have rentals...just ask. All good atmosphere, relaxing evening or quiet sleeps.

As a side note: Also, first time in Thailand, a hotel, guesthouse, apartment or whatever (incl., 4-5 star hotels/resorts), they (Outside Inn) have a good quality TV (looks like a 32, but 2 HDMIs & a USB port with video support. All Thailand accommodations before here, have gotten the bottom-shelf stuff (sure big but cheap) without such access & compensated with superficial room decor. I travel a lot & tend to carry my shows/movies on a USB hard drive.

Another side note, no noise from neighbors, from street, from construction...absolute peacefulness. Staying in the larger cities, even smaller such as Udonthani, you always hear dogs barking or construction work or traffic or bars/restaurants blasting their music or the person next door doing whatever but loud...here, most quiet other than the birds.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. The rooms were large, clean and the beds comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Brent & Tun really have made a little oasis in the heart of Ubon. It really was a pleasure to find a place to relax in after a day of exploring. The food & drinks are affordable and top rate.
If you are planning a trip to Ubon it would be hard not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

stayed at this place for 2 days :) it has everyting you need, good food, do try some of the mexican food, and exelent service. and big nice airy rooms. and a lovely garden to sit in.
great place for kids too,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My girlfriend & I stayed here for 2 nights passing through to Laos and thought it was just beautiful. Very attentive friendly owners with great food, relaxing atmosphere & nice big rooms. Would def stay again, however Ubon is not a town with anything to really do for tourists - so if I did I probably wouldn't leave the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the Outside Inn for almost a week and absolutely loved it. This cozy little guesthouse is an oasis in Ubon with a lovely little garden patio, charmingly furnished air conditioned rooms, and the nicest staff. The owners Brent (American expat) and Thun (Thai) are the friendliest and most accommodating people who will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. It was really convenient that they have bikes for rent, and after a day of riding around town I loved relaxing and watching one of their huge library of movies on the big flatscreen TV in my room. Also don't miss the awesome Thai and Mexican food at the restaurant. Thanks for the wonderful stay Brent and Tun!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed there after a long week, running around .
It was very comfortable , great food , good value and very warm welcome hosts .
I would recommend this hotel for everyone .
Thanks for your excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outside Inn

Address: 11 Suriyat Road,Nai Muang, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Outside Inn is a unique and intimate place to stay, eat, drink, and just relax in Ubon Ratchathani. All our rooms are large and very comfortable and feature complementary hot breakfast and free brewed coffee, unlimited purified drinking water, free in-room WiFi access, handcrafted hardwood furniture, ceiling fans, large two-room bathrooms with top of the line shower heaters, comfortable Western-style pillow-top mattresses, a sitting/lounging area, and authentic Thai and Isaan decoration and style. Other available features include air conditioning, HD TV with premium international satellite, large refrigerators with minibar, free in-house movies, and front terrace/patio access. Rooms are cleaned daily by our professional staff and there is 24 hour onsite management. The Outside Inn also features a full restaurant/bar/cafe. Please see our separate restaurant TripAdvisor listing to read all our great restaurant reviews. We offer made-from-scratch Mexican food as well as other Western and Thai favorites and a full drink menu including authentic cocktails, beer, wine, coffee, and other non-alcoholic drinks. The Outside Inn is set in a beautiful garden setting with classic Thai and Isaan style and architecture throughout. All located in the city of Ubon, within easy walking distance of restaurants, bars, cafes, shops, and night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Outside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Outside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.