We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going the extra mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Sauldraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Sauldraie to your Saves list
Hotel La Sauldraie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Avenue d'Orleans, 41300 Salbris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Salbris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“going the extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On our way to the hotel through Paris we were robbed of all our money, credit cards, passports and all papers identifying us. We finally managed to reach the hotel, very late at night but the owners had kindly waited for us and even offered us dinner. The room was very nice and comfortable and spacious. When we departed the owners loaned us money to complete our journey and let us leave without paying. ( We of course sent them a cheque when we got to our bank) but how is that for service, they could not have been kinder. I only wish our stay could have been under better circumstances and that we could have had the dinner we had planned for at the hotel. We thank them so much for their kindness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauldraie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Sauldraie, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Joan,

Thank you for reviewing your "short stay" in La Sauldraie. It's a shame that you didn't enjoy the 2-days stay you had planned, but the most important was you could reach your final destination.
We do hope, that everything is now going better for you, and that you're relaxing.

We'll be very pleased to see you next time you'll come to Salbris, and make tou discover Chef Benoit's cooking.
Enjoy your holidays.

Warm regards
Dominique AUFRAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
27
61
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We first came to La Sauldraie a few weeks after Dominique and Benoit took over.
The welcome was amazing and the food excellent. We have stayed every year since then and have seen the changes and the effort Dominique and Benoit have put into improving their hotel.
2013 - Once again we stayed at La Sauldraie, indeed we reserve prior to leaving England now for ourfirst and last nights in France. We have had so many disappointing last nights, as so many places close on a monday, that we take no chances now. We are assured of excellent accommodation and cuisine which make for a great start for our holidays and although a sad end we would not chose to stay elsewhere.
As for our hosts Dominique and Benoit we hope to see you next year and for many years to come.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauldraie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Sauldraie, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at La Sauldraie.
We really appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and Restaurant. It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and and that we are contribuing to soften the end of your holidays.

Thank you as well, for mentioning the efforts made in order to refresh the hotel, Weare looking forward to seeing you again at La Sauldraie next year.
Thank you again for writing and we are wishing you and your family all the best for the coming year.

Warm regards.

Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

When travelling back from Spain to The Netherlands on a dreary day in early May 2013, we once again spent the night in Hotel La Sauldraie in Salbris. Since Dominique and Benoit took over the place a few years ago - and salvaged it from the of jaws certain decline and mediocrity - Daisy and I have been steady guests. La Sauldraie constitutes an ever-so-pleasant departure from traditional French hospitality characterized mainly by visitors having to put up with bad plumbing, unfriendly hosts, exorbitant prices and, not unimportantly, mediocre food presented in an Oh La la -aren't-you-lucky-you-may-taste-this type of way. Dominique and Benoit have listened and learned from travellers' cliché experiences.
They have worked miracles in the delipadated premises and restaurant turning it slowly into a modern and well functioning Hotel. At the same time, they have retained that particular charm that is characteristic for their region. Benoit's cuisine and Dominique's warm touch make us feel welcome time and again. There is something about that place - nearly every time we stay there we end up meeting other interesting guests over a drink or two. If they have time, our hosts happily join in.
We hope to be able to continue visiting La Sauldraie for many years to come!
Daisy and Rolf
Rotterdam

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauldraie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Sauldraie, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review and we certainly hope that you are able to stay with us when you return to Salbris again!
We are delighted that you have noticed our efforts to refresh the hotel, which is very encouraging for us and all the team.
Thanks as well for mentionning Benoit's cuisine and the convivial atmosphere. Seing our guests sharing a moment or even a glass is the best achievment we could expect.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Benoit and Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The person on reception must be the most unhelpful person I have ever met on my 50 years of travel around the world - bordering on extremely rude.
The internet does not work in the room I have been allocated and the hotel is extremely run down and old fashioned.
In my opinion it should be removed from the Logis Group immediately.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauldraie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Sauldraie, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for writing your opinion. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience.
Some precisions are nevertheless imperative.
By the LOGIS website, you booked for a business stopover (Package for business travellers).
When you arrived, I informed you, that this kind of package was reserved for persons in business trip, and if not, the modalities of your booking could be changed to : 1 night + 1 diner + 1 breakfast.
I didn't want to wait the check-out to inform you.
You pretended not to understand despite the printed reservation confirmation you showed me, on which the policy was clearly mentioned.
Whatever, having travelled all over the world for 50 years, this should not seem strange .

All these explanations were given to you in English, which is not my native language. I apologize if my vocabulary is quite limited and if it was not clear.
I tried to switch to French, but no more success.

When you advised me that the internet was not working, immediately I made a test with my own laptop. The Internet and the WIFI was working perfectly.
Greeting a lot of guests, if Internet was unavailable, I would have been already informed.
But, how did your succeed in posting your review, on May 21st, whereas it'sthe date your were in our hotel ?

Settled in a 8 acres of rural parkland, the building has been build in 1864. Regarding most of my gests feedback, it's widely contributing to credit the house of a charming hotel.

Now, some words about your room (23 square meters,) which is equipped with :
Bathroom with shower, sink and renovated toilets (January 2011)
2 twin beds dimension 100 * 200
Double glazing (since January 2011)
Painting and wall papers (renovation 2011)
Flat Screen TV (October 2010), DTT channels
Wardrobe and bedside tables ( January 2013)
New carpet (January 2013)

Even if the revovation is not complete, a lot of improvements have already been realized, in the last 3 years, for when we've been here.

About the LOGIS label. We respect your opinion.
But, the LOGIS label is awarded by a professional consultancy agency, assigning a mystery customer to assess the LOGIS approval, based on a detailed checklist and looking over various items.

Thanks again for your review, we always have lessons to learn from our guests comments.

Thanks to the readers who'll have the clear-sightedness to understand that a hotel (or restaurant) and his staff, cannot only be resumed the way you did.

Fairthfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stay at this hotel at least once every year. Each bedroom has been refurbished to a very high standard - each having a specific theme. The food is beautifully cooked and presented using local suppliers. There is a wide choice of wines, several of which are from the local area.
A warm welcome is given to everyone and the owners do their utmost to make sure that everyone enjoys their stay at the Sauldraie. We would thoroughly recommend a visit either for a meal or an overnight stay. There is safe parking and a lovely garden to sit out in during the summer months.

Room Tip: We have found that the rooms at the front of the hotel have always suited our needs. They are brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauldraie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Sauldraie, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Google Translation
Chers clients, chers amis,
C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments.

Un grand merci également pour signaler nos efforts de rénovation, mais aussi la qualité de la cuisine du Chef Benoit et sa carte des vins de Loire. Il est important pour nous de vous faire découvrir la richesse des produits régionaux dont nous sommes fiers.

Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir prochainement dans notre hôtel, nous vous prions de croire, Madame, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Dominique et Benoit AUFRAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have visited this area on business trips quite frequently in the last year and La Sauldraie has become my preferred hotel without question. This is a lovely old French hotel full of character and run enthusiastically by the owners who always provide an individual and personal touch. I always look forward to staying here.
Dominique is always most welcoming and helpful, she speaks fluent English for those of us who like me are still working on our French. Her husband Chef Benoit cooks lovely seasonal and locally inspired dishes. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and comfortable with superb beds, a good night’s sleep is always guaranteed.
The menu is always varied and interesting; you are guaranteed to dine very well. If you twist his arm Chef will usually share some of his kitchen secrets with you, and his home made confitures at breakfast are often unusual but always so tasty! The wine list includes some interesting local selections that are well worth trying. If you enjoy good honest food you will not be disappointed here!
Located just a short drive from the A71 this is an ideal location for an overnight stay or for a few days to explore the region. I would thoroughly recommend La Sauldraie to anyone seeking a friendly, comfortable and individual hotel in this location, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauldraie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Sauldraie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback. We are firstly delighted to read that our hotel-restaurant is your favourite in Salbris and it is always our great pleasure to welcome you back.

Chef Benoit is even more delighted and very proud to hear how much you enjoy his food and regional wine list.

I will be certain to pass on your comments to the rest of the team which really do appreciate your kind words so thank you once again.
We very much look forward to welcoming again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We often drive through Salbris on our way south from Paris. This time we decided to stay overnight and booked into this hotel following a recommendation from a friend. The location is great - just off the main road that runs parallel to the motorway south from Orleans to Vierzon. Our welcome was warm and we were given the large family room in the main building because there were no families requiring it that night. The room was spacious and furnished with character and just far enough from the main road not to be disturbed by too much noise. We ate in the restaurant and had one of the best meals we have eaten in France for a long time. The menu reflects the chef's interest in local produce and included such things as partridge, wild boar and different sorts of mushroom. The hotel is run by a husband and wife team of Dominique at the front of house and Benoit in the kitchen. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauldraie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Sauldraie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay in La sauldraie in Salbris recently and thank you also for this superb feedback. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time whilst staying with us.
Our menus are updated on a seasonal basis, so that next time, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy new food.
We all look forward to hopefully coming you back again in the not so distant future.
Warmest regards
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Sauldraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Sauldraie

Address: 81 Avenue d'Orleans, 41300 Salbris, France
Location: France > Centre > Berry > Cher > Salbris
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Salbris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Sauldraie 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Sauldraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Sauldraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.