We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bali in the philippines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, La Union 2514 | Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, Luzon 2514, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“bali in the philippines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

rooms here are excellent. booked a garden room and i requested the room to be near the pool. there's a small patio outside the room where me and my hubby would prefer to sit and share our moments together. The bed is comfortable, toilet and bath is state of the art. I loved it. I love the architecture. towels are available anywhere, just ask for it. The food is heavenly done.It is so delicious that id love to stay at the dining area all day long. It is a perfect place, a garden, pool, the beach and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
21
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went here first week of june with my family, two thumbs up for this resort :) just go here and relax :)

front desk - accommodating
staff - accommodating
pool - clean, exclusively for kahuna customers :) you can see the beach :)
rooms - clean, good ac :) good t.v :) better c.r :)
bar - cold beers, cool band :)
food - I choosed American breakfasts, tapa
wifi - good signal

all is good, all is better :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went 1st week of July 2013 for a business stay.
Ambiance and serenity is Very good.

What i liked
1. Big Room
2. Big TV
3. Big and Clean CR with towel and toiletries
4. Big / clean Bed
5. Front Desk and Staff were accommodating
6. Lobby and Room has internet
7. Right in front of beach. Although no waves at that time, good to recommend if it's surfing season
8. Food is priced high but worth the look of the hotel, it's like expected
9. Has spa
10. Best Part i was able to get a good deal at 3,500 per night but can already accommodate 3 pax in room. ( i was alone that time though)

Others
- For those with driver there is a driver's lounge outside
- Room comes with free breakast with multiple options
- there's TV in the dining area
- There could be hot surfers during the weekend
-As per staff celeb personalities do drop by once in a while

What i didn't like
1. During rainy season there are few areas with water dripping in the room. but im pretty sure they'll fix this soon
2. I had a spa in my room but the girl didn't really know how to do a quality massage. she was just graduated on a short course for massage 2 weeks so if you want to have a massage, best to ask for someone with a little more experience.

That's it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Of all the beaches in Luzon we went to, this is the most welcoming and best accomodation we had. We rented the suite and it was really nice. You have two beds a big bathroom and private access to the pool and a view of the beach. Room service was excellent and a big plus is you don't have to pay 22% service charge like Puerto del Sol in Bolinao. Food was excellent as well. The only thing I didn't like is that people can smoke anywhere in the resort to include restaurant and swimming pool so if you have an infant like I do, its very irritating.

Room Tip: Stay in suite 1 with ocean view, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villafranca di Verona, Italia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Was here in april 2012
Cons:
Smelly T&B's.

Pros:
Having 2 sidepool family units t'was very comfy specially for my grandma in an armchair. Small pool but nice.
Towels can be asked wherever and whenever needed in the vicinity.
Since my grandma had to eat particular food. Not even once the staff complained of my mum's personal cooking in the unit.
We also could take our breakfast plates to our units with staff permit of course.
Very near and not rocky beach as the Thunderbird's.
Comfy beds.

Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Love the place...
Good service... Fast... All personnel are with a smile...
Free welcome drinks...
Clean rooms... Like a 4 star hotel.
Near the beach...
food is okay, kinda expensive though...
Will be back soon to surf again... very nice for beginners like me..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I can only comment on this resort's restaurant, where I've dined twice already. Cost is not surprisingly steep, given it is one if not the high-end spot on this strip of beach. Main meal costs on average Php400 without drinks. I ordered one of the pasta dishes, while my friends ordered spare ribs and calamari. The server assigned to our table was a smiley little thing who was hustling from one table to another - it was a particularly busy dinner time.

It took a few minutes for our orders to be noted and a few minutes later for us to be served ice cold water. I noticed how humid the place was, with other patrons similarly fanning themselves. Mainly due to the summer heat, but I think the open kitchen layout causes heat to radiate out to the dining area too. It took a good 30-40 minutes for our food to arrive - we counted even as the show band entertained us with familiar pop songs. The portions were seriously big though, as in good for two or three to share, depending on one's appetite.

I would say the cost is worth the portion and quality. It's a place worthy of another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, La Union 2514 | Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, Luzon 2514, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the most privileged surf destination in San Juan, La Union. Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa is a boutique beach resort and spa with Balinese inspired cottages that peer out into the beach.The calming sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to take pleasure in.The charming 31 rooms, Kahuna Bar and Restaurant, and day spa, face an ocean cove and sandy beach.The architecture resembles a fusion of Filipino and Balinese style beach house with white stucco walls and a native grass roofs. Luscious plant life enhances the estate. Well thought out decoration details and functionality guarantee our guests get stimulated throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahuna Beach Hotel San Juan
Kahuna Beach Resort And Spa San Juan, La Union, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.