We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach resort with a laid back atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, La Union 2514 | Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, Luzon 2514, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
norcal U.S.A
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beach resort with a laid back atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed with the wife, my son (7 months), and relatives for 3 days after holy week. We stayed at the suite with 2 others while the rest stayed at a garden room. The suite is very spacious as you can have 2 persons staying at the living room area comfortably (the sofa converts to a bed). The best part of the suite is that it's literally steps away from the pool and the bedroom view is out towards the ocean.

The resort itself is very well maintained and the staff is very helpful with all our needs (we have to request the staff to buy halo halo outside as their restaurant don't offer it which is quite odd as it is a traditional Filipino dessert). The pool is cleaned and maintained everyday and for the most part of our stay, we had the pool by ourselves. I like that the side near the restaurant has a pool side bar and a basketball hoop. If you're looking for activities outside the resort, kayaking and surfing lessons are available ranging from 200-400 pesos per hour. Other than that, the atmosphere is very laid back, no peddlers offering their wares or services.

The laid back atmosphere must have affected their employees as well as it is the main complaint I have. On our last night of our stay, the waiter who took our order forgot to give the order to the kitchen and none of the waiters didn't seem to recognize that a table full of customers are still drinking water for at least half an hour nor did the said waiter checked back on us and see if our food arrived. Also, the front desk gave their complimentary 15 min massage vouchers that night instead of the day we checked in. All those incidents were resolved but hopefully it would not happen again. Also one minor issue is their TV reception, not sure if they have cable or satellite but during the night, there is no reception to both TVs in the suite. We called front desk and they said it will be resolved in a few hours but it has happened a couple days in a row.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
21
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We made a reservation for two nights at another resort and after one night were disappointed by certain things about that resort. I was told and had researched that the two really good resorts in La Union are Thunderbird and Kahuna. I didn't choose any of these two because per my research, accommodations were pricey. I should've just went with it because you certainly get what you pay for.

So after the first night, we decided to look for another place to stay for our second night. I called Thunderbird and they were already fully booked. I called Kahuna and they had availability but the price was almost double what we paid for the first resort but I wanted our second night to go smoothly so I went ahead and booked.

From the moment we got there, the staff was so accommodating and friendly. The price went down a bit because of senior citizen discounts courtesy of my parents. The rooms are cabana style - each room is detached from the rest. It's like a mini house that has a sitting area outside, a bedroom, and a really cool bathroom that feels "al fresco" because of a large window that doesn't have blinds and there's just a tall wall obstructing the view from outside (I'll post pictures of the bathroom with this review). Everything is really clean.

The beach was great - perfect for swimming and of course surfing because it's located in San Juan. The resort has an infinity pool with a bar where if you sit on the bar stools your legs are submerged in water and there's a big screen TV if you wish to watch something while enjoying a drink. The restaurant is a bit pricey too but to be expected for a high-end resort. My mom's main complaint with the restaurant is that the Philly cheesesteak was a bit on the tough side and the fruit platter was pitiful, but overall we were satisfied.

The accommodations include a complimentary dry massage for each room - 15 minutes each for two people, but can be converted accordingly if some people do not want the massage. Since we had three rooms, 6 people could've availed of the massage for 15 minutes each but since only 3 of us wanted the massage, we each had a 30-minute massage. There's also a complimentary breakfast included, not buffet but you have to choose from the menu and it's still pretty great.

Overall, I was highly satisfied with this resort. I hope the staff will keep up the great work and continue the outstanding upkeep of the facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

the place was really nice.staffs were all accommodating.keep it up.going back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Very clean, very nice resort. going back next year. Love the employees.

Room Tip: all the room are good. but we stayed in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic, Zambales, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I keep meaning to write a review to let everyone know this gem in San Juan. No other place can be as good as Kahuna when in San Juan, we've been coming back to this hotel for a couple of years now and we love it more and more everytime we come back.

We just got back from a great Easter vacation and this is what i can say about it:

ROOMS: The rooms are well kept and very clean. The resort is new, i do hope they can maintain the cottages as good as they are now because they are awesome. They are very comfortable, you can also request for an extra mattress for your little kids, they can provide that for you. The bed is very comfortable too. Great bathroom amenities as well, i personally like their oatmeal- goatmilk soap - i actually look forward to it when we go back there (they sell it at their spa!) I just love the look of their balinese style cottages, very homey and yet you still feel the luxury of being on a beach vacation.

SPA - Ask for the new lady Laarni, i had free spa treatments and tried most of their therapist, but she is the best therapist at the Spa, although everyone is great. Considering that this is in the province, im surprised on how much they know about the massage techniques and stretches. I only tried the Kahuna Signature massage and Foot and Hand Spa though and didn't do other treatments. But i recommend you to go to the spa to complete your Kahuna experience.

RESTAURANT - their food is definitely the best in San Juan and i can say the whole of La Union. You know it is the best when people who are checked in at other hotels go there to eat. Try the resto at Oasis Country Resort in San Fernando too, they have theme buffet at their restaurant and its ok.

Also, make sure to let the chef/management know if you have allergies on something. My little one have a serious peanut allergy, and had a breakout at their carbonara while we were there. In fairness, they handled the issue pretty good, so as long as you tell the chef /waiters your allergies, you will be fine.

SURF - there's a left and right sand break that is fronting the hotel, a great opportunity to learn, lots of instructors (very nice people) although it can get crowded at the beginners break very often. Monalisa point is just a paddle away if you want less crowd.

I would like to request for surf racks at the resort though, if they can provide one by the beach under a shade or even by the front desk, we brought our own boards and had a hard time placing them somewhere, we had to move them all day to avoid them melting from the sun, not much shade.

POOL - well maintained and treated. my kids love the baby pool. I love the way we can sit and relax under the shade layin on the sun beds and watch the kids swim and have fun. Hopefully as the resort grow they can open their pool bar.. :)

CUSTOMER SERVICE - this is the ace of this resort - the people. from emailing to making reservation (thanks Joy and Chrysanne), to the housekeeping people, to the pool people, the restaurant, management, spa therapist, practicumers, genuinely nice people and very efficient in providing good and fast service.

my little kids will grow to be teenagers and they will grow up knowing Kahuna as our second home because i am sure if they keep it how it is now, we will definitely be coming back to this place again.

Perfect for family, thank you Kahuna for once again - a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parañaque, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

if you're the type who has a fetish on hotel bathrooms, this resort/hotel is for you! it's very clean and has a panoramic window that has a view of bamboos and hanging plants! no need to turn on the lights during the day! (don't worry its very high and enclosed to your cabana that no one can peak while you shower!) :)

the bed is very comfortable with clean white cotton sheets....they have flat screen tv, wifi access and a safe to keep your valuables! not to mention the mini ref to keep your drinks cold!

i have tried their spa...it's cute and cozy but the massage is just "ok". Restaurant offers variety of food but again it was just "ok". i love the resto view though!

Aside from my so called "ok's" the rest are very good! staff are also nice and polite!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed in the Ocean Pool View Suite for one night, to celebrate St Valentines Day. We were both delighted with our accomodation.

Very comfortable and upto quality western standards. Execellent service and good quality food in the restuarant. The staff where all very friendly and efficent, we recommend this resort and will certainly stay here next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, La Union 2514 | Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, Luzon 2514, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the most privileged surf destination in San Juan, La Union. Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa is a boutique beach resort and spa with Balinese inspired cottages that peer out into the beach.The calming sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to take pleasure in.The charming 31 rooms, Kahuna Bar and Restaurant, and day spa, face an ocean cove and sandy beach.The architecture resembles a fusion of Filipino and Balinese style beach house with white stucco walls and a native grass roofs. Luscious plant life enhances the estate. Well thought out decoration details and functionality guarantee our guests get stimulated throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahuna Beach Hotel San Juan
Kahuna Beach Resort And Spa San Juan, La Union, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.