We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jenny.D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi to your Saves list
L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kizimkazi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Kizimkazi B&B and Inns
Kista, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jenny.D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at loasis for 4 days and we loved the place! Its was a perfect mix of relax and adventure. So nice that you could snorkling just outside the hotel in the clear water, and after escape the sand and relax beside the pool instead of lie on some beach and get sand all over you :-) We really enjoyed our days att Kizimkazi!!! And I have to remeber to say, If you go there, you have to try the king fish curry, yummy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tornio, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Visited Loasis beach hotel with my family during the summer of 2011. The welcoming was magical. We had a large bungalow with a huge patio. There was lobster for dinner the first night. The pools were very clean and contained water from a separate source which feelt was very pleasant.The resort was located on a cliff so it was really nice views. You could catch a glimpse of Dar es saalam. We dived right under the hotel during high water and built sand castles during low tide, all within very easy reach. No beach vendors, which was a huge plus. The hotel put us in contact with the local school that we got a tour of. We have not localy gathered money to support the school. The hotel even had a tip box for the school. We were on safari with Stainbokadventures in Arusha and to vist Zanzibar and Loasis beach hotel was a perfect end of the trip. The nice Swedish owner showed us the way city as well. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The staff were amazing but the management were rude, unfriendly and not helpful. The room was dirty, so was the pool and they charged for everything. it was seriously not worth the amount i paid and would recommend anyone to go stay there. the table clothes had stains, the food was not that good and you dont experiance the Zanzibar everyone talks about. I had to move hotels and could even get a proper refund to actually just be on vacation instead of everyone strategically placed to take more of my money. it was a horrible experiance. And to reinforce when the management doesnt care, then you know the place is not worth it!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The place - like almost every other in southern Zanzibar is laughable. They charge horrendous prices and you get very little for it. To begin with - there is no beach, even if the picture on their homepage suggests it. I have rarely encountered so unfriendly and unmotivated personell. Food prices are way over the top. Organisation and cleanlyness is sub sub par and so is the diving offered. Trip manager charges 2-3 times the prices for excursions compared to others in the area. I pointed this out - 1 hour later I had a large dent i my rental car.....
. It is a joke. Don´t go there. Dont go to to southern Zanbibar ar all unlessyou like being ripped off. 80 dollars for a single tank dive!!!!!
The whole place and the whole area was a joke!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The service people are so friendly and the food was wow,the place is clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi

Address: Kizimkazi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful location, no salesmen, no loud music, clean and secure less-touristic part of Zanzibar. Large rooms, beds in Zanzibar style. Verandas with perfect sea view. Two swimming pools with natural salted water. Lots of fresh water in showers (not always on Zanzibar). Beautiful garden. Many excursions can be arranged from the hotel. Best place for dolphin tours, if lucky you can even see some while sitting outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.