We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Zanzibar to your Saves list
The Residence Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Early Bird Offer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just came back from Zanzibar after one week spent in The Residence and all I can say is that everything was perfect. The hotel is very nice, the staff is very attentive, we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast could be improved since every day is the same thing and not too many options.
In the evening the buffet was ok with a lot of choices. We stayed in the 220 garden villa, it is a really private one – so if you would like to have privacy ask for this villa. We didn't get bored since we were one day in Stone Town and one day to the Rock Restaurant and Paje(the beach is awesome).

Room Tip: We stayed in the 220 garden villa, it is a really private one – so if you would like to have privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    43
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
106
261
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Residence Zanzibar...definitely one of the most unique, special and beautiful hotels in the world. Just by saying The Residence the quality, service, the rooms and the grounds are expected to be of the very highest nature, and in Zanzibar it goes well clear of all of them. The bright, spacious villas are anyone' s dream home, with private swimming pool, modern furniture, bicycle to get around...the best place in Zanzibar for watching the sun set over the Indian ocean water and the most amazing swimming pool I have ever seen, with transparent walls holding the water high!

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same, some are farther from the common areas than others off course, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amazing view, very luxury hotel
The Service and pride are not the best, but is still a very Nice place.
Doesnt look as an 5 star hotel... They have absurd charles, like 10 usd for anything you ask in the room or 100usd to have finger on the beach, considerando that the table is not e em 1 meter for. The restaurant.
Be ready to give tips and people fonte speak very good english.
The place us só Nice that even with all that is worth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Rooms - incredible! Our villa was about 3 times bigger than my flat at home, with 3 rooms, a reception room, bedroom, and huge bathroom with the best rainforest shower ever.

Food was out of this world and the service was exceptional. Upgrade to all inclusive if you can as the drinks and food are pricey.

I am probably the wrong person in some ways to write a review on an UBER luxury hotel as I like culture and to feel like I have got to know a place I have visited. The location for me was very disappointing, but I feel if I were on my honeymoon and wanted to get away from it all it would be great. It is about 1.5 hours from the airport in Stonetown, and the last 30 minutes is going down a completely unpaved and extremely bumpy dirt track. Which is great if you are on an overland trip and in a 4x4, but in a regular taxi...I don't know how they don't completely ruin their suspension. As you are so cut off you can't go out in the evenings, there are no restaurants or shops or anything, and if you did want to go to Stonetown it is a $100 round trip of 3 hours.

This shouldn't detract from the hotel as it is stunning, for the right people this place would be paradise.

Room Tip: If you are paying this much already, the little extra for a sea view villa is well worth it. The Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Firstly, we booked our honeymoon with Catherine at Turquoise Holidays who was just brilliant! We would recommend her without hesitation, she made the whole process from start to finish enjoyable and simple!

So, we arrived in Zanzibar after our 4 night Safari in Selous ready for some R&R and we were not disappointed. We were staying for 7 nights all inclusive. Greeted on arrival with a refreshing signature drink we went through a few details before jumping into a golf buggy to be taken to our villa.

When we arrived we realised we had been upgraded from a Garden Villa to a Luxury Ocean Villa (no124). Stepping into the living area and seeing the Indian Ocean through the wooden blinds was a sight for sore eyes. The whole villa was beautiful. Four poster bed with huge wardrobes in the bedroom, an amazing walk in shower (complete with rainfall shower head) and stand alone bath that I rarely wanted to get out of in the evenings...and a brilliant living room to chill out in with a fridge, TV, tea & coffee making facilities. Each room had a ceiling fan in as well as very powerful air conditioning.

Outside there was a day bed and two sun loungers as well as a small table and two chairs overlooking the gorgeous pool and view of the ocean! We didn't have anyone walking past the room on the beach as it was on a slightly higher section which meant we had complete privacy.

The rest of the complex is just amazing. The infinity pool was stunning with very attentive staff to help sort the sun loungers, towels, drinks etc. The reception area is open but very smart with staff that could not wait to help you with any query you might have. There was a shop which moved halfway through our stay. It had a good variety of products and we managed to get some extra suntan lotion after running out which was good. The bikes provided were great and we only called on the golf buggies infrequently to take us to dinner.

Most of our meals were in the dining room which was next to the pool. Breakfast was a very varied buffet (our only note would be that the hot foods such as the bacon, sausages, potato cakes...were never that hot) and you could have omelette, eggs and pancakes made fresh in front of you. Lunch was usually a buffet but sometimes there was A La Carte offered. The evening meal was a themed buffet in the Dining Room or A La Carte in the Pavillion (although as the hotel was quite quiet when we were there, it wasn't open every evening we were there). In addition as honeymooners we were treated to a private dinner on the deck on our villa.

The one thing we noted about the food was that sometimes it seemed as though they were trying to hard. By the end of the week we were craving some nice simple food. I am Greek Cypriot and have always loved trying new foods however the flavours added in sometimes were just a bit odd.

Unfortunately we had to move villas halfway through the week as the electronic entry on the front door stopped working. We understand these things happen and there is no one to blame. Sadly it took a few hours for the communication to filter through that we would be moved as the door could not be fixed and we were a little frustrated by that point. However the service recovery which included a visit at breakfast from the general manager, flowers in the room, rose petals on the bed and gifts to apologise really were second to none. I always say that in the service industry (be it a restaurant, bar or hotel) things are bound to go wrong now and again, after all no one is perfect...however it is the way things are recovered that counts and in this instance The Residence excelled themselves.

Just a note that our second villa was a Prestige Ocean Villa (no100) which was at the edge of the complex was equally as stunning and private although slightly further away from the pool and dining room. However the bikes meant that we didn't really notice the difference. The bathroom overlooked the ocean which was the only difference we could find from the Luxury one.

My husband was a bit poorly for the first few days of our stay and the resident doctor came out as soon as he could and reassured us and gave us medicine that had him sorted within a couple of days. In addition during this time, the restaurant manager was keen to make sure he had simple and plain food sent to the villa. Everyone asked after him and welcomed him back once he was well enough to go to the dining room again (even though he only missed two meals).

The staff really are wonderful! They remember you and get to know your likes and dislikes which makes you feel as though they are reading your mind!

The one downside for us was the 4.5km unmade road leading up to the hotel entrance. We can't understand how they wouldn't want a smoother arrival and departure for the guests of such a luxurious 5* resort. We knew to expect it and after our safari we thought it would seem like a breeze but it really was tough going. Although our departure in a 4x4 was much better than our arrival.

If that is the worst thing we can say about The Residence then I think they are doing a pretty fantastic job! As we left everyone said they hoped to see us again in the future. We wish the same thing...it might take us some time and we may well have kids in tow but we would DEF like to visit The Residence Zanzibar again as well as try their hotels in the Maldives and perhaps Tunis!

Room Tip: Suite 124 was very private! Suite 100 was equally lovely but further away from everything in the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had an unbelievable 5 days at The Residence Zanzibar. It was if we were surrounded by Genies and our every wish was granted. The service is outstanding with all employees exceeding our expectations. The setting is peaceful and relaxing and we found just enough to do in the days we spent there. Many thanks to the managers and staff who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed well placed so I don't think you can make a mistake. It really depends on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights after a safari for some r and r.

The property, villas, pool area, food and cocktails are perfection.

The staff are fabulous (though quite laid back ) and offer wonderfully kind and personal service - also some special touches such as candle lit drinks on the beach at night.

Our beach front villa was a few steps from the Indian Ocean - I was happy to pay the price of other couples taking their romantic sun set shots on the beach.

The Indian Ocean is very tidal but for me that adds interest as you have an ever changing landscape.

The property is isolated so for after crazy safari and with a trip to stone town in the middle it was perfect for 5 nights - I think more may have left me a little stir crazy.

Room Tip: Beach front villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the South West of Zanzibar, Tanzania, The Residence Zanzibar has 66 spacious villas each luxuriously appointed with stylish contemporary furniture, private swimming pool and attentive service.The Residence Zanzibar is set on 32 ha of perfectly manicured gardens and a Spa that offers the finest Carita products.It boasts a mile-long powdery white sand beach, flanked by coconut palm trees and a Jetty that stretches 150m out into the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Kizimkazi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.