We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and perfect service !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added The Residence Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residence Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Early Bird Offer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Pondcihéry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing place and perfect service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The ocean front Villas provide elegance, luxe and privacy. The decoration is just perfect ! I am still dreaming of having a bathroom of that size...
All the members of staff are always available and caring, with considerable discretion.
The Private swimming pool is very well maintained and the main pool is amazing. And if you want to visit the island, the hotel has a nice choice of excursions.
The two restaurants offer very good dishes with great entertainment almost each evening.
If you need a break in paradise, this is the place !

Room Tip: Ocean front villa of course !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    37
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
231
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Residence Zanzibar is a very nice hotel with an inpeccable service. It is the 5 star hotel by excellence ! (very clean, very fast service ...)
The food is excellent. You have the choice between two restaurants: A la carte and The Pavillon in which you have diiferent specialties / animaions everyday.
The common pool is amazing ! (see the pictures)
The beach side is very nice also and the sunset view is incredible !
We recommand this hotel for those who want to relax in a very comfortable place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport. Fresh cold flannels and chilled water were a nice welcome touch. The driver explained a lot of the surroundings on the way to the airport which was great. We even slowed down to look at monkeys. When we arrived at the hotel we really liked the no fuss check in. No forms to fill in, no waiting time, you are offered a drink and get taken straight to your room where the butler explains all the bits and pieces.
The room was very spacious with a delightful 4 poster bed taking pride in the middle of the bedroom. The bathroom was great too, there was also an outside shower (as well as inside). The toiletries were lovely and the towels were abundant. The swimming pool outside each room is actually a swimming pool not a plunge pool, able to do lengths which is very rare.
The service in general was fantastic, very happy staff, quickly contagious. Everyone went out of their ways to make us feel special. Linda, the restaurant manager was very attentive and the staff was a pleasure to deal with.
There is a children nursery/play area, so well managed and organised. Loads to do there for kids. We don’t have kids but definitely could see the attraction, they have a little farm next door as well and the donkey takes the kids around on a carriage.
Each villa is equipped with bicycles, we cycled around the complex and in the heat, felt very hot by the time we reached the spa, a lady quickly offered us a fragranced cold flannel to refresh ourselves.
The food was of high quality, never ate so much lobster and prawns in one week. The entertainment was 5 stars too.
All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel, the whole experience left us wanting more so hopefully we will go back. There are so many little special bits to this place that it is hard to remember them all. Hakuna Matata is definitely appropriate as nothing you ask is a problem.
Heartfelt thanks to the whole team at the Residence – Zanzibar for making our stay so special. Definitely worth the 5 stars.
Carole.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea front room, really worth the extra money! Go to the Rock for lunch, the hotel can help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

From our greeting the staff have been amazing: i loved the no fuss check in; no filling forms and wasting time- soon as i drove in they knew my name means were expecting me.
The waiters at the restaurant are very friendly my 2 year old daughter was treated like a queen,
Spending two nights here to get away from work and hussle of Dar - perfect spot.


Got the Ocean View pool villa which gives my wife and I complete privacy.

I will be back soon.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I spent there five days as part of my honeymoon trip and it was the perfect place to finish! The villas are great, clean, big, well equipped and with good taste.
The food is also great and all the staff are very helpful and nice, they made us to feel like in heaven.
The place is very quite and although the beach is not the best one (lots of seaweeds) the jetty allows you to avoid them... anyway the views are awesome!
Luckily one day in my life I will be back because the Paradise cannot be so much different to this place...

Room Tip: The villas facing the sea are superb! if you can afford it, get it! the difference is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I must start this review by saying my husband and I arrived at The Residence after a stay in Kenya that completely raised our standards. So whatever followed was doomed to be a bit under our expectations.
This being said, the place is beautiful, villas huge and the decoration impressive yet clean.
Our garden villa was very nice, although not as clean as it could have been during our stay.

The staff is very kind but undertrained. The food is good, especially at the themed buffets, but not amazing. We had a club sandwich where the bacon (an optional considering you are in a Muslim island) tasted and smelled like fish. Then again, the themed buffets were very good.
Swimming pool is beautiful and the private pool at the villa came in handy when we craved privacy.
We found the pricing scheme hard to understand for the first days. We were on a full board basis (not AI) and some things remained unclear for us. Example: drinks ordered at the swimming pool were free but the same drink ordered at the same place but with food was charged....... ??
Don't even consider staying here without your meals included. It's really expensive.
Since we were in our honeymoon, we were offered a "private" diner that we chose to have at the beach (for an additional fee, would be free at our villa). I say "private" because two other couples were next to us. We feel that the management could have warned us, we would have booked it to the following night when the beach was empty.

I guess we were supposed to have a butler but we never met him.

The property is very big so bikes and golf carts are available. The only time we asked for a golf cart to pick us up, we had to call twice because the first person forgot to send it. Apart from this we used the complementary bikes available at each villa which was great - must admit I missed riding one ! Unfortunately, we think the paths are poorly lit at night - a bit of a challenge for the first night riding back from the restaurant.

The Jetty is a wonderful setting completely under explored. We stayed for a week and during this time absolutely nothing happened there - not even the bar that should open at 6:30 according to the hotel directory. So we used it to watch the sunset, relax and wait for the bar to open...
Definitely recommend the Spa and the omashiatsu treatment.

Don't get me wrong, it is a good resort. But we consider it overpriced for the quality delivered. For this price, none of the flaws above - even if minor - should happen.

Room Tip: Garden villa 219 faces the back of the presidential villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I'm writing the is review for the viewpoint of tired and stressed parents, looking for a place for the whole family unwind and enjoy. This hotel, although on the expensive side, goes the extra mile to welcome and look after families. Accommodation is in large villas, all with big private pools and sun deck. On arrival at the villa, bikes are awaiting us, one for each member of the family. Great for energetic kids to cycle around the large compound (there are no cars, just golf buggies so totally safe) Our kids cycled off to the kids club to be entertained for nearly the whole afternoon. All hotel staff cannot do enough for families/kids, earlier meal times, special meals and drinks, they really look out for the little ones.
Breakfast is fine though could become a little repetitive (we stayed four nights, same food every morning), as could evening themed buffets (Indian, Italian, Mexican, Middle Eastern) though there is the option of set menu and a la carte at the beach-side restaurant. Standard of food is on the whole excellent and there is certainly plenty of variety. Drinks can be expensive. Free snorkeling trips/sailing and kayaks all add to the experience. But you wont find much of Zanzibar here if that's what you're after - you could be on any tropical beach in the world. This was our fourth trip and we'll certainly be going again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the South West of Zanzibar, Tanzania, The Residence Zanzibar has 66 spacious villas each luxuriously appointed with stylish contemporary furniture, private swimming pool and attentive service.The Residence Zanzibar is set on 32 ha of perfectly manicured gardens and a Spa that offers the finest Carita products.It boasts a mile-long powdery white sand beach, flanked by coconut palm trees and a Jetty that stretches 150m out into the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Kizimkazi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.