We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Elegance in a Peaceful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Zanzibar to your Saves list
The Residence Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Snap, Share & Win
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Luxurious Elegance in a Peaceful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

From the minute you arrive at The Residence you know you're going to be very well looked after. Refreshing drinks and frangipani scented cooling towels are welcome as you are checked in and briefed by the friendly reception staff.

The Residence has about 60 villas so as you can imagine the hotel grounds are rather large and spacious. This is fine as bicycles are provided with the villa for every guest to get around or alternatively you can call the consierge service and have a club cart drive you around the grounds if you prefer (or if it happens to be raining). Apart from check in and check out we preferred to walk around as the gardens are well kept and very beautiful.

The Villas are spacious and very well equipped, probably the most elegantly finished and furnished that I have experienced on Zanzibar. Flat screen TV, ipod dock, mini bar and fantastic tea and coffee making facilities (with plenty of water) are all present and the welcome pastries and biscuits are a very nice touch. The en- suite facilities are also top notch with separate toilet (and bidet), high pressure shower and bathroom facilities. There's even a cold water shower outside for cooling down in the midday heat.

Our ocean front villa was literally 20 metres from the beach which means that the villas infintity pool may not feel very private. If you're looking for a more private pool experience you may want to think about staying in a prestige garden pool villa instead. This wasn't too much of an issue as the beach was generally quite quiet and there are no beach boys hanging around trying to sell you stuff.

If you're staying on half board there is a set menu with a choice of two starters, two mains and two desserts in the main dining hall. If you wish to dine a la carte, the hotel will give you credit of $50 US per person against the bill which is a great idea and offers more choice. It can work out roughly the same if you're only looking to have two courses. The wine is good quality and quite expensive but you can have the bottle kept for dinner the next night if you don't fancy drinking the whole bottle in one go.

There is also the Pavillion which is often open for dinner offering six course themed dining French, Italian, Swahili) as part of the half board. They will even bring your bottle from the dining hall if you wish. The food here and in the dining hall is excellent and the waiting staff are friendly and attentive. You can also have meals served at your villa if you prefer a more private experience.

There's lots to enjoy here with an excellent spa and kids club facilities. There are different activities scheduled for kids everyday for different age groups from 08.00 to 19.30 and there's even a child minding service outside of these hours if Mum and Dad would like to have a quiet meal together later in the evening.

Snorkeling, Kayaking, Pedalo and Hobby Cat activities are also included but snorkelling from the boat needs to be arranged 24 hours in advance to guarantee a place on the boat from the jetty.
Most of your time at The Residence will revolve around the villa and meal times but there are tours and excursions available if you get itchy feet and fancy some exploration and adventure away from the resort.

Breakfast offers an extensive buffet selection with everything you could possibly think of from cereals, pastries, a selection of tropical fruits, cooked items including eggs to order, bacon has rounds and three different types of sausage, yogurt, museli.... the list goes on. We were due to check out early on our last day and you can have anything delivered to you villa from 04.00 in the morning!

This is a slick and professional operation and one of the few true European 5 star standard hotels in Zanzibar. If you are looking for elegant luxury in a quiet and beautiful location then this is the place for you. The beach is good but doesn't boast the coral white sand of the East Coast but in blance doesn't suffer from the same tidal variations. Be aware that extras like drinks and food not included can be quite expensive which can add up during a long stay if you're not careful but this is to be expected with such fine dining and service on offer.

This place is perfect for honeymoon couples and families alike looking for a luxurious and elegant beach resort that delivers a very high standard of service and dining.

Room Tip: Choose a presitge villa for that little bit more space. Garden pool villas offer a little more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    44
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
112
264
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is by far the most exceptional place I have ever been to. The needs of the guests comes first.The staff is so very kind and willing to help you in any situation.The grounds and villas are just beyond beautiful and each villa has their very own infinity pool.This is paradise at its best.The food is great and you can basically have anything your little heart desires.This is such a unique property and well worth the long trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The whole hotel is quite new and all looks a bit concretey. In a few years when vegetation has grown and the newness been worn off it should be wonderful. Villa was wonderful, housekeeping was excellent incl. Dominic our personal butler. The private pool was amazing.

The frequent electricity power cuts were annoying as the back-up generator took several minutes to come on. Fortunately the power cut during the England v. Ireland 6 Nations match was at half time and the TV had rebooted itself when the 2nd half started.

The sundowner cruise in a dhow was simply idyllic.

The gym and spa was wonderful - largely open air.

Food was very good with the frequent buffets an amazing spread. Wine seemed to be quite expensive for what was offered with bottled water at table far too expensive considering there was unlimited bottled water in the villa.

The bikes supplied for riding around the resort were Chinese and already falling to bits so be careful.

The main pool was huge and little used.

All staff were v friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose close to main restaurant and on beach. The resort is very spread out which makes villas priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

so far this is the most beautiful hotel i visited in zanzibar , the staff are so friendly , love the villas the food is great , i went there with family and friend we had so much fun very relaxing, my favourite part is that every one had their own villa with a private pool and the fact that we moved arounf with bicycles

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel easily ranks alongside Le Tousserock, Mauritius. The location is reassuringly remote and the beach stretches endlessly beside a rythmical shore line. The architeture is not the most upscale I have stayed in, but it is more than compensated for by the amazing staff. I stayed from Boxing Day to just beyond New Year's Day. The buffet and food stations offered evry culinary delight imaginable and the a la carte was fantastic. The glass fronted infinity pool is stunning. The spa is a hospitable haven from the African sun and the staff are second to none. Each bungalow benefits from its own butler and guests can travela round the site by golf buggy of the freely provided bikes. It was heavenly.

Room Tip: Go all out for the beach fronted bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for one week back in Dec (at the start of our 2 week holiday) and can say that it was a lovely resort. All of the staff were very attentative and polite.

We had a garden villa and although people are saying they weren't massively private, we didn't see it as a problem as ours was 'fairly' secluded. We had breakfast in our room every day - unfortunately 9 times out of 10 our orders weren't 100% correct but when they did get it right in the end, it tasted lovely.

Dinner was ok - we got a call every night asking us where we would be dining which got a bit annoying after the 3rd day.. think it's a little necessary to do that.

Rooms were lovely, very spacious, the bathroom was huge! Private pool area was just heavenly. Was very nice to wake up and have a swim.

This place is very "resorty" which doesnt make it a bad thing, just feel it lacks a very personal touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This amazing place is the perfect heaven. ! The staff is amazing and the location spotless and so very beautiful. We stayed in a Villa for 4 days with own private pool and maid. Staff was always available and very pleasant. A verey nice gym with all new equipment and a spa that just gives you the most relaxing treatments.
We had dinner and lunch there everyday and it was sooooo creative and delicious. Most days we could choose between a la carte or theme dining in one of the other restaurants on the grounds. We were provided with bicycles and it was so much fun to drive around the beautiful surroundings.
We are definately going back. Has a great sense of sadness when we left for the airport. Could easily have stayed for weeks....

Room Tip: We just loved the private villas with ocean view and private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Kizimkazi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.