We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Zanzibar to your Saves list
The Residence Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Pool diving lessons!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

so far this is the most beautiful hotel i visited in zanzibar , the staff are so friendly , love the villas the food is great , i went there with family and friend we had so much fun very relaxing, my favourite part is that every one had their own villa with a private pool and the fact that we moved arounf with bicycles

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    53
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
131
314
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel easily ranks alongside Le Tousserock, Mauritius. The location is reassuringly remote and the beach stretches endlessly beside a rythmical shore line. The architeture is not the most upscale I have stayed in, but it is more than compensated for by the amazing staff. I stayed from Boxing Day to just beyond New Year's Day. The buffet and food stations offered evry culinary delight imaginable and the a la carte was fantastic. The glass fronted infinity pool is stunning. The spa is a hospitable haven from the African sun and the staff are second to none. Each bungalow benefits from its own butler and guests can travela round the site by golf buggy of the freely provided bikes. It was heavenly.

Room Tip: Go all out for the beach fronted bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for one week back in Dec (at the start of our 2 week holiday) and can say that it was a lovely resort. All of the staff were very attentative and polite.

We had a garden villa and although people are saying they weren't massively private, we didn't see it as a problem as ours was 'fairly' secluded. We had breakfast in our room every day - unfortunately 9 times out of 10 our orders weren't 100% correct but when they did get it right in the end, it tasted lovely.

Dinner was ok - we got a call every night asking us where we would be dining which got a bit annoying after the 3rd day.. think it's a little necessary to do that.

Rooms were lovely, very spacious, the bathroom was huge! Private pool area was just heavenly. Was very nice to wake up and have a swim.

This place is very "resorty" which doesnt make it a bad thing, just feel it lacks a very personal touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This amazing place is the perfect heaven. ! The staff is amazing and the location spotless and so very beautiful. We stayed in a Villa for 4 days with own private pool and maid. Staff was always available and very pleasant. A verey nice gym with all new equipment and a spa that just gives you the most relaxing treatments.
We had dinner and lunch there everyday and it was sooooo creative and delicious. Most days we could choose between a la carte or theme dining in one of the other restaurants on the grounds. We were provided with bicycles and it was so much fun to drive around the beautiful surroundings.
We are definately going back. Has a great sense of sadness when we left for the airport. Could easily have stayed for weeks....

Room Tip: We just loved the private villas with ocean view and private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I have just returned to a cold and windy UK after 7 wonderful days at The residence what a treat, we were regaally looked after(thanks for the villa upgrade)The service was great the food was top quality the villa very (very) comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. We should have got out and about more but....
Its a long way for only 7 days but amazing to think that 18 hours from leaving your door we're back in the depths of rural England.We 'd love to come again but will look closly at one of your other sites.
Thanks again for starting our joint 60th year off so memorably.

PS one small critisism, a colder mini bar please.

Room Tip: The sea front villas are great because of the view but the garden villa look to be the same with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Luxurious from the beginning of our trip to the end..we stayed at a pool villa, amazing view from the room, amazing staff and service, gorgeous grounds u can see with the provided bikes, stunning pool, and beautiful jetty. Food was always amazing and the menu changed every night, we had a great romantic dinner in the villa, breakfast was the highlight of the day, a great selection and being served in the villa is such a treat, the spa is alright, We've tried better, but a massage is always good.
Overall wonderful, the most luxurious in Zanzibar!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The staff & service are just amazing. The hotel, facilities and grounds are beautiful. The suites and amenities gorgeous. Loved riding around on the supplied bikes. The view is beautiful & pristing. The food was very good standard and interesting themes. We only had a quick visit but would highly recommend for those wanting something a bit different, a place that is truly relaxing and where the little details are taken care of. No request was a dram - staff were just so attentive and accommodating. Sunset cruise was absolutely beautiful - definitely do it. We were there as part of a work trip and required catering for our departure - the Food & Beverage Manager (name - Soon) and Chef both met with me. They were so professional. Soon is a credit to this establishment, he was so lovely and gracious. Take away food was of a high standard. Hope to come back and would highly recommend to our clients.

Room Tip: It is a bit of a drive from the airport so, as long as you are aware of this its not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.