We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to relax after safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Residence Zanzibar to your Saves list
The Residence Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Early Bird Offer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kizimkazi
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“perfect place to relax after safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel is beautiful, pool is outstanding, service was excellent. We found the staff made huge efforts to make everything perfect. Food was especially good. Beaches all along E. Africa have significant water recede at low tides making the use of the beaches during low tide undesirable. If you are choosing this hotel solely for the beach, look somewhere else besides E. Africa. The gentlemen at the water sports desk on the beach were especially helpful and kind. Our family enjoyed the snorkeling outing. Our family also rented a boat for half a day, and it was our favorite activity- the staff took us to a nearby, small island where we swam and snorkeled, and they sent us with a picnic basket full of snacks at our request. Linda at the Pavillion restaurant impressed us with how kind and helpful she was to children. In fact we witnessed all of the hotel staff being very accommodating and kind to their smallest guests. However, this is not a hotel overrun with messy, noisy, little kids. We noticed that families with young children tended to take meals in their villas where the kids can eat and swim and be silly in a more private setting. We are a family with 2 teenage boys and we found plenty of activities to keep us busy and happy. Childfree couples are also quite comfortable at this resort as well. One final special note- we had to depart the hotel at 4:30 AM (ouch!) and the concierge both wished us good night at 11 PM and was up again at 4:30 AM to see us off. Wow. Felt spoiled and well looked after. Thank you.

Room Tip: Hotel offers bikes for each guest at their villas, as the property is quite large. Golf carts also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    43
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
102
250
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Right from the outset I was worried - from the 4km bumpy ride to the resort front gate. We were greeted and whilst everyone else were given a welcome drink we were quickly forgotten and left sitting whilst everyone else was showed to their rooms. When we were the only ones sitting in reception we had three different people come over to greet us before someone rudely came up to us to tell us the agent we had booked through (and already paid!) hadn't sent them the payment. It was Saturday so we couldn't contact our agent - who was in South Africa, but we asked if they had followed up with him for payment - which they hadn't. We found it a bit off putting from the outset that they demanded payment from us without following up with our agent first. All this aside, we were shown to our room - which for a five star resort is fairly basic. The upside however is every room has its own individual pool. Note however that the Ocean Room views are essential, as if you select a garden room view everyone can see you swimming in your own pool - and you get no privacy whatsoever.
When booking this restaurant it says breakfast and dinner included. Please note, breakfast is included, however dinner is a set menu and if you don't like the set menu you get to spend $50 per person for dinner - and this does not include drinks. Also the main meals are about $38 dollars each and as we found out on the first night its $50 per person and you can't transfer so even though our meal was much lower than $100 for the two of us we had to pay an extra $35 due to the fact its $50 per head - regardless of whether the other person only eats something worth $20.
Tours are also quite expensive, however I think this is across the whole island - as tourism is their major source of income they really know how to pump money out of tourists. Even though we went to a number of other places in Tanzania and had much better service they never expected tips - this was quite different in Zanzibar and at The Residence where its almost expected - and not deserved.
Put simply, for the cost of this resort its far from five star. I would say service is about 3 star, facilities are 3 - 4 star and value for money sits about 2. I won't be returning.

Room Tip: The Ocean Room views are essential, as if you select a garden room view everyone can see you swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavi L, Front Office Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your comments and feed back you sent to us on your last visit to our resort.
I would like to sincerely apologise if you felt that the immediate service you received on arrival was not up to the standard you expected. In deed, we proud ourselves to treat all our guests in a very personalised way and your welcome drink and the arrival greetings, should have been extended to you without delay.
In a similar way, i will come back personally to the person that came to you for the administrative part of the checking-in as the approach was definitely not to the level of our usual standards.
I am delighted that you did enjoy your Ocean Front villa. For the rest of the 39 Garden View pool villas only, we are blessed to have them spread over a manicured garden of 32 hectares. Every one of our guest has the pleasure of enjoying his own private space and intimacy amongst lush vegetation.
I would like to add some clarity on the Half board meal plan you mentioned. In fact, unlike most of the hotels selling half board or full board, with a set-menu or buffet, we offer to our guest the additional benefit of enjoying our extensive a-la-carte menu. An allocation of usd50 per person food only is extended. Considering the pricing of our a-la-carte menu items, usd50 is more than enough to enjoy a beautiful 3-course menu.
Finally, i would also like to mention that The Residence Zanzibar has a very simple policy on tipping and most of our guests find it convenient and effective. We do not encourage tipping. However, in many cases, guests wish to leave a token of appreciation to our employes. To that extend, we have stated in various communication tools (guest directory etc...) available to our guests that they are most welcome to add anything they 'd like onto their hotel bill. In such a way, the tip is shared equally between all members of the staff, excluding management.
I hope I did answer your queries in the appropriate manner. in case you would like additional information, do not hesitate to come back to us. best regards. Kavi. Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We loved this place!!!! Amazing! We relaxed and had a wonderful time. The staff are amazing and will go out of their way to
Ensure you are happy and have everything you could wish for. From the moment we where collected from the airport to the time we left we felt the service and the resort is exceptional. If we where to be back in Zanzibar we would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed there for a few night the welcome was alright we had heard so much about this hotel that we had to see it for ourselves. the villas are spectacular like others i agree that the beach is not the best but the pools make up for it. the staff are nice and polite almost too automated response almost robot like and at times annoyingly so. the food was average nothing too great we hated our stay and would not want to revisit this particular hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavi L, Front Office Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Mr James,
Greetings from The Residence Zanzibar.
Thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation of your experience with us.
We are glad to hear that our 60 million dollars property pleased you as well as the comfort of our villas and our superb main pool.
It is very regretful that you found our staff being very stereotype and annoying. The Residence Zanzibar will continue to invest on our staff in terms of training at our Hotel Training Academy. We are however proud of the achievement which has been made in that aspect but there is nevertheless always room for improvement. And we rely on feedback of our valued guests such as yourself in order to continuously improve our standards.
It is also unfortunate that you did not enjoy our cuisine prepared by one of our many international chefs which you found rather average. One of the chefs would have gladly tailormade the menu of your choice daily. Mr James, once again we thank you for your input in helping us improve our service standards while sharing your comments with us.
May I seize this opportunity to wish you and your family a merry xmas and a happy new year 2013
Kind Regards, Kavi. Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have been on beach holidays all of my life but this is a really exceptional hotel and must rate as the very best beach hotel I have stayed at - easily surpassing other hotels I have visited in South Africa, Zanzibar, Mocambique and Mauritius. We arrived in the late afternoon and asked to be upgarded to a two bedroom unit (we had mistakenly booked a luxury villa and needed something slightly bigger). The switch was painelss and fauirly quick. Although it cost a little extra the new villa was absolutely stunning and more suitable - although I did not see the unit we were originally booked into. The unit had a huge private pool and was virtually on the beach. The rooms were very well appointed and extremely comfortable with a noiseless airconditioner. The water pressure was brilliant and we had both indoor and outrdoor showers - extremely luxurious bathrooms. There was a good selection of TV channels as well (not that we watched TV). The resort itself is very large and a nice touch was to give the guests bicycles so that they can get around (made eating slightly more guilt free as well!). They offer various restaurants and in-room and beach dining at no extra charge as well. The food was brilliant and the variety was exceptional. The spa facilities were also ultra modern and clean. A wide variety of massages were offered at reasonable rates and although I didn't have one, two of our party did and really appreciated them. There are other activities such as volleyball and tennis but we din't use those facilities - they looked good though. Snorkelling and other water sports were free of charge and the diving was great (in a marine reserve so the sea life was extensive. The staff were amazing, pleasant and very helpful and never in your face (something which many resorts don't get right - the Residence certainly does get it right). I only have one 'complaint' and that was at the cost of the drinks. The pricing was excessive and should be moderated considerably. To pay USD 7 for a local beer (cost about USD 1 at a local shop) and the cheapest wine - admittedly a really great South African wine - was USD 44 per bottle - and these cost around USD 5 in South Africa) and gin and tonic at USD 10 each was really a little over the top. I guess they are catering for the European travellers and in that context it may not be seen to be excessive. This appears to be significantly more than other hotels on Zanzibar (in my experience anyway - in fact many include all drinks as part of the package). It didn't spoil my perception of what is a truly remarkable hotel

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spent one night at the residence with a group of friends. We had been all over Zanzibar and decided we were ready for a secluded resort where every need was taken care of. Our rooms were amazing. Everything was well prepared for our arrival by 11 am. Private pool at your villa allows you to choose between joining others at the main pool or having a romantic hideaway swim. The villa comes with 24 hour butler service. Great for replenishing ice, renting a DVD when the rain came for an hour or so, and a beautiful breakfast in bed.

The food was very well done. Many options to chose from. The seafood BBQ was wonderful. The staff were exceptional. They took care of our every need.

For those looking to save some money on their trip to the residence, I would suggest bringing your own drinks for those cocktails by your pool. A local beer was 6 usd. A bottle of water was 5 used.

Things to remember: This is still Zanzibar. There will be power outages, which only last a few seconds as their generators kick in. The beach is secluded so you won't find any wild beach parties here. Get a taxi from the airport. They are safe, they should know how to get there, and it will cost you far less then the price the hotel charges.

I would highly recommend the residence and look forward to booking at their other hotels outside of Zanzibar.

Room Tip: While beach villas have a great view, everyone will have a direct view to you in your "private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had previously stayed at the Essque Zalu Zanzibar and I travelled another hour and 15 minutes to get the Lovely Residence Villa's. We drove down a 4 kilometre stoney , uneven drive it could not be very good for the suspension of vehicles that go back and forth to the hotel everyday but when we arrived what a sight.

We were greeted by Michael and Lucy and staff members again with a lovely cool face towel and refreshing drink in the lovely reception area where we could clearly see the stunning beach ahead of us.

We were all given our Villa Key's and ths time we all had a Villa each , I was Villa number 100 and we were taken to them in a little buggy as it is a good twenty minute walk to get there . As soon I walked in the lounge area all I kept saying was Wow , there was a lovely big lounge with sliding doors out on to the deck where I had my own swimming pool and ahead of that the beach with two sunbeds for my use whilst I was there.

There was another slidiing door from the lounge to my bedroom with a big kingsized four poster bed with all the mosquito nets around it facing out on to the deck and beach again, then another sliding door going in to the massive big bathroom with his and hers sinks a lovely free standing big bath again in front of the window so you can take a bath with amazing seaview and because it was on the westcoast you could watch the amazing sunset from your bath, in addition to this there was a glass fronted massive walk in shower again could fit four people and opposite that was a glass fronted toilet with bidet , then it had a glass door to go outside where there was an outshower it had a tall wall around it but I did feel a bit vunerable that when you were in the shower or bath or toilet that someone could be peering over the top but that was just the way I felt I had never stayed in anything as stunning as this before.

At each villa there are two bikes depending on the occupancy of the Villa and this is to get around the resort with ease as you can imagine the accomodation is all made up of individual one and two bedroomed private villa's with their own pool's so the resort is quite big and it enables you to ride around at your own leisure or you can call the lobby for a staff member to come and get you in the buggy.

The Hotel had kindly organised us all to have a one hour body massage to sample the amazing spa that they have there so we were asked to meet at the restaurant at 1900 for pre dinner drinks, we were greeted by Lucy who took us down on to the beach in which they had some lovely comfortable seating and the tables was set up where we were going to enjoy our dinner under the stars, they had dug some holes out all around the table in the sand and had sunk some little candle holders and it looked stunning, we had champagne and cocktails then we enjoyed our amzing dinner under the stars, it was truely an amazing experience and I had wished that it could have been shared with my husband but they can arrange this for couples etc so well worth doing if you can.

We all went back to our Villa's where our Butler had been in and had turned the bed down and had closed all the mossie curtains ready for our return, I must admit I did feel a bit nervous of being on my own in such a massive big villa and I was the end one and it only had a low wall between the resort and a plantation but I am sure I felt this way because I am used to staying in Hotels where your room is contained in one building and the fact that I was there without my husband made me feel a little more uneasy,

I eventually fell asleep after shuttimg all possible doors and leaving a light in the bathroom and the lounge area and woke uo at 6 the next day and opened the curtains and windows to that amazing view again , I didn't have anyone to disturb so I jumped in the shower and went out along the beach to take some photos, it was just so peaceful.

I went on the local Dhow arranged by the hotel to go snorkling off a reef , it was a bit overcaset but the sea was lovely and warm and the majority of the group went in , I then wanted to make the most of my private Villa and pool and went back to just laze and swim and laze and swim.

The atmosphere at the Hotel Restaurant is lovely and I also enjoyed the hour long relaxing body massage , they have a lovely childrens nursey where they have qualified staff that even teach them how to cook so with this resort I would recommend it for children they even have a little pet corner with a donkey and rabbits which was sweet.

After getting over my fear of being on my own in the Villa I thought it was the most amazing accomodation that I had ever stayed in, I love everything about it , the spacious villa's the lovely Restaurant, the gardens, the spa the little touch's with the bikes and your butler comes around at night and gives you lttle gifts like bath salts , soap, beach bags etc , I would definately recommend The Residence as a get away from it all holiday to enjoy after maybe going on a safari and you just want to chill out in pure luxury , Thank You Michael and Lucy for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the South West of Zanzibar, Tanzania, The Residence Zanzibar has 66 spacious villas each luxuriously appointed with stylish contemporary furniture, private swimming pool and attentive service.The Residence Zanzibar is set on 32 ha of perfectly manicured gardens and a Spa that offers the finest Carita products.It boasts a mile-long powdery white sand beach, flanked by coconut palm trees and a Jetty that stretches 150m out into the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Kizimkazi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.