We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Russians, Russians and more Russians” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lyda Beach Apartments

Save Saved
You added Lyda Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lyda Beach Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gouves, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 40 hotels in Gouves
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Russians, Russians and more Russians”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arrived at Lyda late into the night, the guy who was on reception was helpful, but made no mention of where breakfast would be served or at what time.
Got to the room which was very dated. The beds! Oh my god the beds, quite possibly the worse bed I have ever slept in, the pillows were awful and dirty. The bathroom had mould on the ceiling which, buy the looks of it had never been attended to!
The food was bland, we have a 5 year old who we struggled to find things for her to eat, and things that she wanted to eat.
If you want bacon for breakfast forget it at this hotel, the only day I thought they had it, turned out to be fried ham from the night before.
The bar staff didn't make you feel welcome at all, the guy with the bald head and big nose (Stefanos) I think was only interested if you had a skirt and long legs. It would helpful if they actually smiled when serving.
The pool areas are kept clean and the sun beds are plentiful.
This hotel is definitely not a 4* place, 2 at most.
Would we go back, maybe but it would need to have a major revamp, and staff training about smiling.
Russians rule the roost here, rude and arrogant, would pile food on plates, then just leave masses amounts of food on the plate.
The couple we were with also had to stay one night in a very sub standard room due to some technical reason (what we Brits call a cock up)
There must be better hotels in the area than this one, look long and hard before choosing here.
The entertainment was pretty poor for a place of this size and number of guests, Bingo, and loud music which was the same every single night.

Club Lyda you need to smarten your act up......... Quickly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    29
    32
    57
See reviews for
53
69
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived late in the night, we were shown where our room was and invited back to the bar area for some ham/cheese/bread if we were hungry. We didn't however we did go back for the bottles of water. The bar itself was still open to pay for some other drinks and the bartender was friendly. The room was basic and quite retro in style however it was clean and we wasn't planning to spend much time in there except to sleep. The only problem we had with our rooms were that we were just below the pool so didn't have much of a view and that we were next to the cleaners cupboards so got woken up quite early a few mornings by their chattering.

The towels were replaced about 3 or 4 times in the week we stopped there. We paid a few nights for the air conditioning and it worked, the tv featured a lot of greek programmes however there were american sitcoms and films if that's what you want to do on holiday. There was a fridge/freezer which was perfect to keep the drinks we purchased from the onsite supermarket.

The pool area was great, plenty of beds, kept clean. They had lovely gardens around the apartment complex.

You had your standard all inclusive drinks however very small cups but if you wanted something else it's not too expensive for other drinks. I think a can of cider was about 2/3 euros.

The food wasn't great. There was quite a small selection and not quite catered to everyone. The daytime snacks was normally salad & chips. The few things that I could pick from weren't very tasty or nice at all. However, they do replenish a lot and there is enough for everyone. You may struggle to get a table to sit at though.

The supermarket on site sells quite a range of things and is open until about 1am so quite useful.

The apartments are about 10-15 minutes away from anything. There is a lovely cafe bar and shops across the road. They do breakfast from 2 euros and open for meals in the evening. Very small but friendly. A lot of people from the apartments went across to eat there.

There is a bar called the rainbow bar about 10 minute walk down the road which has quite cheap drinks and is comfortable to stay and sit for a while.

They play music around the pool during the day and the only evening entertainment was a guy with the laptop.

The bartenders and the lady who replenished the food were very friendly as were the receptionists. However, for all the friendly ones there were quite a few who were the complete opposite.

There were quite a lot of feral cats around, they didn't really bother you much but the last thing I want near me whilst trying to eat is a cat...

The bar area wasn't very comfortable either but I suppose they don't really want you drinking there so aren't going to make you comfy.

If we weren't all inclusive and was self catering instead we would probably be happier. However, as we ended up spending more than half of what we spent on the holiday having to go out and eat and drink we weren't very happy.

We enjoyed ourselves and had a great break. Crete is a lovely island with lots of lovely places to visit, it was just a shame we struggled to put meals together there. Food and drink is generally a lot cheaper over there anyway so it meant that anywhere you went you would pay about 3 euros for a pint and could spend less that 10 euros per person on food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the lyda beach all inclusive hotel for a week at the beginning of September. On arrival we were greeted by another guest checking out who welcomed us with "Welcome to hell". Oh oh, we knew we were in for a treat and it was fulfilled. The rooms are very basic and the beds and pillows are so uncomfortable. Every time you take a shower or bath the whole bathroom floods. Apparently, this happens in every room. The TV didn't work and the air conditioning (35 euros a week) doesn't work. We complained that ours didn't work and was told to ask the next room if we could share with them (honestly). The food is not very inviting and was very limited in choice and very bland. The free drinks are from 11am-11pm, after which you have to pay. The bar staff only seem to be interested in the young girls sitting by the bar. The entertainment in the evening consisted of one of the staff plugging his laptop into a speaker and playing the same music over and over. Oh yes, he was only interested in the young girls too. The pools are very clean though and we didn't have any problems with mosquitoes. The area is very run down and looks like it was a resort at some stage. There are quite a lot of run down buildings around. There is a shop on site which is very helpful and a couple of shops opposite. Would we go back to this hotel? Never in a million years. Would we go back to Crete? We're willing to give it another chance. This hotel is definitely not a 4 star. It's more of a 1 star. Do not go to hell....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our friends and family holiday was a party consisting of 6 adults and 8 children of varying ages between 7 and 17 stayed at this hotel in August 2013, The whole experience staying at this hotel was terrible from the all inclusive food to the rooms themselves! Our three families,who paid a lot of money for this all inclusive holiday had to go out and find local restaurants to eat because the children lived on bread and cucumber for the first 2 days, The bathroom in my room was dirty and smelly and the shower trickled into the wall so was an impossibility to wash hair or anything really! two of the three families showered in the poolside public showers every evening.My partner and i had to share one bedroom with my children who are aged 13 and 17 for me this is not appropiate! this hotel just seemed to cater for the Germans and Russians and not for the British which i may add that the majority of guests WERE BRITISH!!!! the only positive to this hotel were the pools, which were clean and there were plenty of sunbeds.
I am no snob and can put up with most things without complaining,I enjoy holidaying abroad but this was my worst experience ever and looked forward to coming home.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel full stop.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

On arrival there was 28 people in our party it took hours to sort rooms out. They do not cater for the disabled. Food is only fit for the stray cats we eat out every day there Is very little choice. Cockroaches in the rooms that you could put
a saddle on. The manager is the rudiest person I have ever met when we complained of the poor service and conditions we were told if you don't like it get out. Please,please if you value your family and self do not settle for this abuse like we had too in this over rated 3star dump

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week family holiday at Club Lyda. We were expecting the worst after reading some reviews on Tripadvisor but were actually pleasantly surprised.
Its not as bad as others have put. The hotel was very basic, but this is Greece.
The food was, whilst plentiful, very repetitive and some red meat would have been nice, but overall was ok.
The disappointing thing was that there was no entertainment or activities whatsoever. The entertainment organiser's visa had expired and had left and there didn't seem to be anyone else to take over.
The onsite shop was very handy and all staff were helpful and pleasant during our stay.
We agree with many other reviews that the Russians are rude and arrogant and the way they pile up their food and then leave it all is disgusting. But the food never ran out so I wouldn't advise rushing in at the beginning of each meal and let them get on with it.
We had a very relaxing holiday overall.
We did have a relaxing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thankfully, we only spent a day in this resort, as it was a compensation for for an overbooked hotel in another location. The apartments were very basic, the surrounding area not very interesting (its a rather small village with nothing much to do during the day), the food horrible, the beds and pillows really not comfortable and the overall feel of it was that they were trying to pass the 4 star rating in the very cheapest way possible. The only nice thing about it was the two pools, but we didn't stay there much due to kids running around and the extreme heat during the day. I guess it is a good place for people who like to spend their holidays mainly relaxing in one all inclusive place, as there was some evening entertainment, stores, sauna and a club on location. But I think that Crete has so much more to offer than that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyda Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyda Beach Apartments

Address: Gouves, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyda Beach Apartments 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Lyda Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyda Beach Apartments Gouves, Crete
Lyda Beach Apartments Hotel Gouves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyda Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.