We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafront hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Memory Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sweet Memory Apartments to your Saves list
Sweet Memory Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michail Vasilaki Street, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Hotel Sweet Memory)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Gouves
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Seafront hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived late at night and were welcomed and offered a complimentary drink, we were then checked in and shown to our apartment it was spacious , well equipped and clean.
The location is excellent, right on the seafront, the beach is pebbly, the water is crystal clear and lovely for swimming, there are sandy beaches in either direction about a 10 minute walk away.
The family at sweet memory really made our stay enjoyable, we had most of our evening meals cooked by mama and thoroughly enjoyed everything, the wine and beer are reasonably priced.
We hired a car for 5 days from Hello car rental to visit other areas in crete.
Will definately return again to sweet memory in future.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    32
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
68
105
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just got back from Sweet Memory 1 after two weeks of total relaxation. I must admit that all the reviews about this place are not exaggerated. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by Andiopi, who showed us to our room, she even carried 1 of our cases up to the top floor. The room was spacious with separate bedroom and was well decorated. We had gone for self catering but seeing Mamma Koula's breakfast we had breakfast every day at just 5 euros each, 2 eggs, bacon & sausage, plus home made bread, coffee, tea, chocolate, juice, cereals, toast, yoghurt & fruit or honey. We ate there 3 times in the evening which was really nice, a starter, main and dessert all for 10 euros each, which discounted if we had breakfast.
On arrival after being shown to our room, we came down and met Yannis and found him to be very delightful, especially when he bought us a welcome drink.
Overall I can not fault this place, Yannis, Mamma Koula and Andiopi and all family and staff were very lovely people.
If you fancy a dip in the pool Sweet Memory 2 is only a 10 minute walk away, where you will meet Costas and his staff, who again are all lovely people..
Don't miss out on the BBQ excellent value, and the food is great .

Room Tip: Room 34 has sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fantastic welcome when we arrived at Sweet Memory 2 in Gouves, Crete. Kosta greated us warmly, gave us a drink on the house and at 1.00am made us delicious Spaghetti Bolognese, we sat near the pool (I have never seen such an immaculately clean swimming pool anywhere) Kosta cleaned it daily, the tiles were scrubbed around the water line and a robot machine cleaned the tiles on the bottom of the pool. Kosta's hospitality was second to none, nothing was too much trouble, he would make any meal for you whatever the time of day or night. The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean, the cocktails were amazing. Yannis (Manager) thankled us for choosing to spend our holiday there and said it was there job to ensure we had a memorable stay with them, which we certainly did... 100% amazing holiday, I was tearful when I said goodbye to Kosta as we left, we felt like we were leaving a friend behind, he was such a genuiune guy and made us feel so welcome in a very loyal way. We had one tiny complaint about traffic noise, we told Kosta and 2 days later Yannis came and told us we could move to a studio at the back overlooking the pool, bar and restaruant area, we were both amazed and delighted that they had taken this little criticism on board, thank you for making our holiday so perfect, and big thanks to the Cleaner who was lovely, to Akiss who served us breakfast and Eria who waited tables in the evening, you all made our holiday amazing. We will back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter or Rooms at Sweet Memory One are 500m from the beach and Mama Coulis i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

due to flight delay, we arrived late on a Saturday night ,as promised we were met at SM1, however we were then informed we would were being put into SM2.We were disappointed to not be at SM1 as we had specifically chosen this hotel for its fantastic sea front location. However, after the first day in SM2 we realised that we had an even better set up. The apartments themselves were basic, but very clean and comfortable. The pool area and bar were excellent, and the food delicious,(especially Mama's bread), and the location was only a 5 minute walk to all the shops and bars and less than 10 minutes to the seafront. But the one thing that really made our holiday was the staff. Kosta, the manager of SM2, was brilliant, with his friendly, caring attitude, always willing to help and full of plenty tips and local knowledge. We stayed for 2 of the Sunday BBQs which were great fun, and again the food was excellent. It really was a wrench to leave SM2 on our last day and will definitely return for the food and the service alone.
In Gouves itself it is not that busy, shopping is so cheap and there is plenty of choices for eating out. Our favourite was Atlantis but there are lots of great places to eat and drink and everyone works so hard to give you a great service ! Great holiday, great value for money and great people, especially Kosta!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing, laid back holiday, this is it! Family run Taverna who all make sure you're looked after. Big thanks to Mama Koula and Andiopi, Mama's home cooking was just that, 'home cooking', unlike the surrounding generic frozen offerings, and Andiopi, so lovely and friendly. We had room 33, top floor, large, basic, but with everything you need. (Who goes on holiday needing TV and microwave!!), sun all afternoon on the balcony, perfect. We borrowed their sun loungers and umbrellas every day and used them on the beach in front of Taverna, ok, this beach is pebbley, but hey, it's right outside the door, also it avoids all the usual crowds you get on the sandy beaches with rows and rows of beach beds. The sea was fantastic. Some days like a mill pond and others with amazing surf because of the strong breeze, (which was gratefully received due to the heat), recommend taking beach shoes to wear in and out the sea tho' as the stones can make a graceful entrance and exit impossible. As an aside, we did visit a couple of places for drinks/eats, highly recommend The Milena, food excellent quality and the red wine also. Also try the Kondimar Bar, more upmarket for drinks, music and cool surroundings. Would we come again, probably not, but then we don't like to visit the same place twice. Would we recommend, absolutely!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hospitality at SM was just incredible - Mama Koula was so welcoming and endearing, and my mum and I grew very fond of her and the waitress, Adiopi. They made a wonderful effort with me, being vegetarian, to ensure that I had plenty to eat at dinner time - I was given more food than anyone else! The apartment itself is large, and is kept clean, brilliant value. In SM1 it was fairly quiet, with a family atmosphere, which was just what we were after, there are plenty of brilliant bars nearby to go out in too. We were truly drawn in, and were genuinely upset at saying goodbye to the team - and goodbye to the wicked view!
I would highly recommend it, and would love to go back! All about town, when we said we were staying at SM, the locals expressed approval too. It is well known as a lovely place to stay :-)

Room Tip: If you fancy a quieter stay, go for SM1, but if you would like a bit more of a loud atmosphere, go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Wanted a 1 night stay before we fly back to Athens from héraklion the airport is about 15 km from the hotel, this hotel is very nice with a pool,the wifi works great , a ok breakfast and a really nice staff Anna who looks like the manager is super nice help us to get around and let us use the pool after we checked out.
a bit out of the way but if you have a car this is the perfect place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Memory Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memory Apartments

Address: Michail Vasilaki Street, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Hotel Sweet Memory)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gouves
#2 Family Hotel in Gouves
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gouves
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweet Memory Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Memory Apartments, a best choice for families and young couples, is a 4 star+ self-catering apartment complex located in Gouves, a family-oriented resort, east of Heraklion. Literally a few meters from the beach, our apartments are spacious and modern in a serene location yet not far from restaurants, taverns, bars and a vibrant nightlife nearby. The apartments were built in 1990 as a family business with a friendly staff at your service at all hours to ensure a memorable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sweet Memory Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Memory Apartments Hotel Gouves
Sweet Memory Apartments Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Memory Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.