We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet with some fun thrown in for good measure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marie Kelly

Save Saved
You added Villa Marie Kelly to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Marie Kelly
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Gouves
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet with some fun thrown in for good measure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Warm and friendly atmosphere with a great staff and owners. Everyone welcomed in and treated like family.
Natalie and Alex serve your food and drinks needs (dont ask Alex for food;) )
Rooms are good. Cleaned regularly and linen changed often. Balcony on most if not all rooms ideal for that private sun or for reading your favourite book and having a beer.
Pool area is well maintained and clean. Always space for sunning yourself. Pool is ideal for all ages with a separate little pool for the babies.
Bar is where it's at for fun. Always open until late, late, late. Fairly priced in comparison to local tavernas etc.
All in all, a friendly place to spend your holiday with plenty of places to eat locally.
Can't say enough about how well we were looked after even though I kept the bar open most nights until the small hours!!!

You won't go wrong here.
Please remember that nearly all hotels worldwide charge extra for air conditioning, deposit box etc and Villa MarieKelly is no different.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    64
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
59
84
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been to Crete many times but last year we decided to return and went to Gouves as we know the resort and were booked into the Marie Kelly apartments. We enjoyed ourselves so much and were very pleased with our apartment we decided to return this year. Although we had a late arrival we had a friendly welcome from Olga who seemed to remember us. As is normal practice in Crete we paid for air conditioning and the safe deposit box. Olga and Dimitris are lovely hosts and are so obliging if you should have any kind of complaint. We have a one bedroom apartment which is very comfortable with a well equipped kitchen should you want to cater for yourselves. The maid Pella keeps the apartment clean and she is very friendly so we have no complaints. In the morning we breakfast at Marie Kelly. Natalie who is on duty during the day is a lovely person and cooks a very good breakfast. There is a lovely pool area with plenty of sun beds and this area and pool are also kept very clean. In the evening Alex comes on duty in the bar. He is also friendly and keeps us going with his stories so what more can a guest ask for. Skorpios tavern which is run by Sophia and her husband is on your doorstep. The food is very good here. You are spoilt for choice for places to eat and all within walking distance of Villa Marie Kelly. We enjoyed our holiday in July that we have booked to return in September.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks, July/August. What a fabulous place! My family have stayed here many times before and you simply cannot beat it. The management, Olga and Dimitrios, and the staff Natalie and Alex, are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are always clean and each one we have stayed in has been spacious. Even during peak season you can always get a bed around the pool, which is always spotlessly clean. During the day you can buy snacks at the pool bar which I have always found delicious. However, if you wish to venture out, there are numerous bars, restaurants and a bakery, within a few minutes walk all serving fresh homemade food every day. These apartments are situated a two minute walk from the beach and close to bus stops where you can catch the local bus and enjoy the sights of this beautiful island at your own pleasure. These apartments are the best we have ever stayed in, I feel confident that my children are safe here and we have made many friends into the bargain. I really cannot recommend these apartments highly enough. Fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in late June for a week. We stayed in a lovely, large 1 bed apartment which had no less than 4 balconies to choose from depending on whether you wanted sun or shade. 2 beds in the main living area which also included a dining table and 4 chairs, a small oven, 2 cooking rings, kettle, toaster and ample crockery/glasses etc. It was always clean, a large bathroom but unfortunately the only criticism was the tiny shower cubicle, way too small for anyone but a child.
The pool was lovely as was the pool bar run in the evenings by Alex who likes to entertain until the last drinker falls!
The area is lovely with some superb restaurants, all very low key and the beach is 2 minutes walk away, a bit small and wouldn't like to be there in peak season as it would be so crowded.
All in all we had a great holiday and would happily return to these apartments and recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just arrived home from a weeks stay at the Villa Marie Kelly and miss the place already.
Having read some previous reviews I had a couple of notes written down regarding rooms to avoid, eg, #224 being noted as small with poor shower. Well guess what, we ended up in #224. I resisted the urge to ask for a change until I had assessed the place myself and I am glad I did. It was lovely. We had no issues with the shower or the size of the room at all. It was kept clean quite regularly and the staff are a delight, very helpful indeed.
The place itself is in a great location, approx 100m from the nearest beach, of which there are plenty about. 50 m from the nearest supermarket and 20 m from the best meat restaurant I feel in Gouves. Although there are many facilities close at hand it is also very quiet so good for a sound nights sleep.
This place is ideal for people who want a nice relaxing time and I would definitely go back there....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed a few times in these apts and I have never been disappointed. Everyone is helpful and friendly. The apts are very clean and have lots of space, the pool area is spotless and there is never a problem with sunbeds. There are a few great resturants round about George's and Scorpios being out favourite two. Janis and Sofia (scorpios) and George and Effie (George's) are lovely people can't so enough for you. All in all Dimitris, Olga, Alex and Natalie, George, Effie, Janis and Sofia will always make us want to return to the Villa Marie Kelly and we will do just that in 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from our fifth stay at Marie Kelly, after having a fantastic two weeks.
Apartments are clean and spacious, cleaned every day beds changed 3 times a week.
Lovely pool area never any issues with getting a dubbed, intact some days only my family and one other couple around the pool.
Bar area is run by Natalie and Alex at night both do everything to make sure you have a great holiday.
The owners Olga and Dimitri are lovely people, can't do enough for you. Me and my family love Villa Marie Kelly and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Marie Kelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marie Kelly

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gouves
#8 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marie Kelly 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mariekelly is a luxurious fully renovated complex of 30 autonomous apartments. They provide fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, boiler and toaster, bathroom with shower, air conditioning, safety deposit boxes, TV, telephone, haidryer and balconies or terrace with panoramic view to the sea, pool and or garden. Villa Mariekelly offers reception service, free parking, free book hire from a huge variety, satellite TV, internet facilities, laundry service, pool table and other games, outdoor swimming pool in a huge terrace with sun loungers.Gouves is a modern tourist area, 20 km away from the city of heraklion, with organised beaches, cafes, taverns and restaurants. You may find a variety of shops in the shopping centre, as well as car and motorbike rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Villa Marie Kelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marie Kelly Hotel Gouves
Hotel Marie Kelly
Marie Kelly Hotel
Villa Marie Kelly Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marie Kelly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.