We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday in Crete” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marie Kelly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Marie Kelly to your Saves list
Villa Marie Kelly
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Gouves
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is a lovely place very close to the beach surrounded by great taverns serving delicious local food. Scorpio just very next to Marie Kelly and Mylos just a few minutes walk away are both worth visiting if you are looking for fresh, tasty food and friendly service.
Marie Kelly is a nice complex with simple but most importantly clean studios and attractive pool area.
Natalie and Alex who are running the day/evening shifts in the bar were both extremely helpful providing me with lots of useful information about the island/suggesting places to visit as this time I travelled on my own and I spent most of my time discovering the island.
They are both extremely friendly, great company, clearly all their guests enjoyed their kind hospitality.
Mary Kelly is a nice place to stay in Gouves I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    73
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
68
102
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked a last minute to Villa Marie Kelly ,, having been to crete twice before and loved it .. these appartments are lovely fantastic position near the beach a few tavernas close by and just further along the coast more tavernas and shops and a couple more good beaches.. Villa Marie Kelly is definatly the best accomodation we have had in greece up to press proper showers lovely and clean nice pool area and little courtyard and areas to sit in, the staff are brilliant Natalie and Alex are the lovely bar staff and you dont need google or ask jeeves just ask them!!!
The area is just great for a quiet but not too quiet holiday we stayed two weeks and did not have any bad food or service anywhere ... we would definatly go again sometime after we have explored some other areas of greece ..... thanks Olga, and her crew for a good holiday.... Yammas!! sharon and shaun from lancashire.

Room Tip: we had upper floor one bedroom appartment , 213 it had 4 yes 4 balconies....brill....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Perfect location in gouves hotel very good,staff and owners Olga and dimitri can't do enough for you brilliant, rooms we stayed in were lovely,plenty of lounger to be had, good value hotel. Natalie and Alex the bar staff are excellent . Will be definitely be booking next year can't wait

Room Tip: They are . All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 days at the Villa Marie Kelly in Gouves. Olga and the team are very friendly,Alex and Natalie are absolute gems and helped to make our holiday especially good, nothing was too much trouble. The location is wonderful with excellent choices of good eating places, in particular Skorpio's, Mylos and Georges. It is with easy reach of a good beach and would suggest you watch the sunset from the Island bar. The only criticism of the accommodation is the additional cost of air conditioning, it is essential but is an additional cost not factored in when planning the holiday. It would also be good if there was more entertainment at the Villa Marie Kelly, during our 10 day stay the only entertainment was a quiz. What we particularly liked was the fact that you could get a sunbed at the pool without having to put towels out in the early hours, sun beds were always available.
We will almost certainly go back to Villa Marie Kelly and would encourage our family to join us.
Karen C

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week here on a last minute break. The good points are the hotel is nice and clean and 5 mins from beach and tavernas. Rooms are quite spacious and air con was excellent. The pool and surroundings are well appointed and there did not appear to be any problems with loungers although we chose to spend our days on the nearby beach. Staff are all friendly especially Alex, who staffs the bar in the evenings (and later) On the debit side, linen was changed only once during the week and the replacements were quite dull and stained. The piped music at the pool bar was dire and badly needs updating. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but it could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed in these apts for past 7 years. They are very clean and spacious. The owners Olga and Dimitris cannot do enough for you, they are lovely genuine people. Natalie and Alex work in bar and they are very friendly and always willing to please. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing place to go then this is ideal, lots of lovely restaurants nearby. Scorpios and George's are our favourite too. The owners can't do enough for you and the food is delicious. We will be back again in 2014 as we have made really good friends and the Villa Marie Kelly is like home from home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from a week in Crete at the Villa Marie Kelly and had a fantastic holiday. On arrival we were shown to our twin one bedroom apartment and was immediately impressed at the space and facilities at our disposal. Our room had 4 balconies, all looking in different directions so perfect for shade or sun and giving views of the surroundings. We've stayed in various greek apartments over the years and definitely rate this as amongst the, if not the best of all.
A welcome drink on arrival at the bar and a chance to find out about the area was great too.
The next day we discovered just how close to the nearest beach we were.... pretty much across the road. Though its a little beach it was sandy and shallow, great for swimming and has a lifeguard too, i guess good for kids as plenty of locals used it over the week.

The pool and bar area at the Villa though is spotlessly clean and there are a good number of sunbeds available around the pool so spent some time there too,

The first night there we walked to the far end of Gouves to check out the restaurants but honestly we wish we didnt bother, if you like walking... fine and i suppose some of the livlier bars were at that end but the best places to eat were surrounding the Villa Marie Kelly anyway... highly recommend the bakery centre up the road for lunchtime beach takeaways. 2€ for a freshly made baguette with delicious nutty bread filled us up for the day. But for evening meals then Scorpios (next door to the Marie Kelly), Georges around the corner and Mylos (a short stroll away) all served great food, (The Kleftiko at Mylos is the best I've ever had.)

All in all i would highly recommend the Villa Marie Kelly, the staff were very friendly, the acommodation great and the whole place was clean and well cared for. For the price we paid I think this was a bargain and would gladly go again.

Room Tip: room 213 has the four balconies but is on the first floor so has stairs for access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Marie Kelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marie Kelly

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gouves
#9 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Marie Kelly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mariekelly is a luxurious fully renovated complex of 30 autonomous apartments. They provide fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, boiler and toaster, bathroom with shower, air conditioning, safety deposit boxes, TV, telephone, haidryer and balconies or terrace with panoramic view to the sea, pool and or garden. Villa Mariekelly offers reception service, free parking, free book hire from a huge variety, satellite TV, internet facilities, laundry service, pool table and other games, outdoor swimming pool in a huge terrace with sun loungers.Gouves is a modern tourist area, 20 km away from the city of heraklion, with organised beaches, cafes, taverns and restaurants. You may find a variety of shops in the shopping centre, as well as car and motorbike rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Marie Kelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marie Kelly Hotel Gouves
Hotel Marie Kelly
Marie Kelly Hotel
Villa Marie Kelly Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marie Kelly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.