We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staying in Grecotel Amirandes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grecotel Amirandes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grecotel Amirandes to your Saves list
Grecotel Amirandes
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 106, Gouves, Crete 71202, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Gouves
Kiev
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing staying in Grecotel Amirandes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I was in this hotel from 22nd till 26th of May, 2011 and enjoyed my staying in this hotel very much, it was business trip!!!
At arriving we were welcomed by hotel staff with champagne.
Good rooms, I lived in room #361(main building) with front sea view, recommend to take the one with it, cause it really worth it when you wake up and see sea at once!!!
Hotel has nice territory, especially I like decorative swimming-pool which looks amazing at night with a lot of little lights.
2 Sandy beaches, the one from left is with umbrellas and deck-chairs. During dinner time they give bottle of mineral water and some fruit(water-melon or smth like this) for free.
If to walk left from deck-chairs, there is very good sandy walk in the sea for children.:)
Also there are great view and one can sit at stones and enjoy some private staying.:))
In fact, I was surprised that people prefer to stay by the swimming-pool then by the sea, it was with sea water.:)
Hotel doesn’t have active animation, it is for quite relax staying.:)
At nights one can enjoy listening to jazz music at café downstairs or perfomances at amphitheatre.
I enjoyed the one listening to the singing of tenors. Also they have there something like kids disco,
but from my opinion with kids better to go to Grecotel Club Marine, there are a lot children and good kids club so parents can also have some rest.:)
As for cuisine, it is very good, both in main restaurant: different dishes from fish, meet, and a good variety of fruits and pastries :))) And it was the first time I tried snails.:)
At breakfast fresh orange juice, strawberry and champagne. Sometimes during breakfast played saxophonist.

So to make a long story short, this hotel will be perfect for romantic staying for honeymooners and young couples…

I wish I could stay few more days there, but have to go to another hotel…With great pleasure will return here again, but this time for the rest!!!
Great thanks for Staff!!! The service is perfect!!

Room Tip: rooms nearby #361 rather quite and have front sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    65
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
93
183
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had a great stay in this Hotel and for sure we recommend this Hotel to everybody.
We decided to spend our Holidays in Amirandes after reading different reviews and for sure we will return back.

We visited Amirandes the first days of September. We had a great welcoming fresh orange juice BUT after 5 minutes they explained us that the Room was not yet ready. Honestly we did not expect this (it was around 13: 00) they explained us that the hotel was fully booked, they told us that they can offer us a coffee in the Bar. We were not very happy for this but we couldn’t do anything else. A Lady from Guest Services escort us in the Bar and without asking brought us after 10 minutes a fruit salad. The Room was ready around 13:30 so we didn’t wait a lot. The same lady (Maria) came to us and she escorted us to our Room. She explained us everything and we had together a small tour around the Hotel.

We travel a lot around the world but it’s the first time that we saw a hotel exactly how it seems in internet.

The hotel is really spacious even if was full we never felt this thing. The Olympic side pool was perfect and the service in the Restaurants and Bars was very good. The quality of food was excellent, in breakfast somebody can find everything and the a la cart Restaurants were delicious. Something also very comfortable is a free lunch for the kids with different kind of spaghetti pizza, nuggets and all these snacks that the kids really love.

After travelling many years I believe the thing that makes the difference in this Hotel is the personnel. Everybody is ready to help you with a great smile.

Special thanks to the personnel on the beach and to Maria Sfakianaki
(Guest Services) with her Hospitality and her suggestions concerning some interesting villages and excursions, did our Holidays really unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District - Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Recently returned from a fourteen night stay at at the Amirandes. Having stayed in three of their other five star Hotels we had a good idea of what to expect.
This Hotel beats them all, a first class package of what a five star hotel should provide. Only four years old it offers very good accommodation with modern furnishings throughout. Nice bedroom with bathroom and walk in shower, good air conditioning, fridge, safe etc.
We dinned in the Amirandes Mediterranean restaurant which had a upmarket feel to it, and enjoyed the food which was selective and well prepared. All of the staff try very hard to please you, and go the extra mile in achieving this.
If you enjoy the pool and beach you are not going to be disappointed here. Their system of sun beds and towels are the best I have ever seen. Get up in the morning, no rush as towels and beds are all set up for you at the pool and the beach. People coming to the pool area at twelve and one o'clock - beds inabundance, and the hotel was full. Good soft mattress with towels on the beach and no card or collection required - just chill out.
Nice beach in front of the hotel with areas on one side having canopy shade for the villa resisidents. Only ever saw four out of the twenty five in use - seems a waste.
We did notice that some ground floor garden rooms were not perhaps up to the standard of the other rooms, and these were numbered from rooms 5--- onwards.
So what's the catch. Euro zone prices, £9 for a glass of wine, £3.50 for a small beer, £32.50 for a decent bottle of wine and £3.50 for bottled water. We found a small supermarket just 500 metres up from the hotel with water 50 cents a bottle for 1.5 litres, seven times cheaper than the hotel. I think the Greeks are trying to get the tourists to bail them out!
Entertainment low key, but adequate and you need to eat at 7-7.30pm to gain a good seat in the open air restaurant or leave it until 8.30pm.
We are very hard to please, but during our fourteen night stay, we never went to reception once, only to pay the bill!
Go and enjoy it

Room Tip: Avoid rooms starting 6---- these are garden view and apppear to be dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

A royal vacation for my wife and I.Only have one word to describe: excellent.We will always remember how well we were treated in all ways.Excellent management. The day of our departure we received a thank you gift.We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Different categorries but all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
223 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
770 helpful votes 770 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

HOTEL REVIEW # 183 Gansevoort

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Directly on an average beach and walking distance to a few local restaurants.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: It was 180E round trip by taxi to/from the ferry port/airport. We rented a car for 160E for 6 days as it was less expensive and we were able to see other sights.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

Standard. Room was all white with almost no color and no pictures. Very boring. Highlight of the room is the oversized patio door that opens up all the way to make your bedroom almost feel like it is outside.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed/sheets were good but nothing too special. Our bed was 2 twins (doubles) pushed together to make a larger bed (and beds were made separately). Pillows were not down pillows and were not very good.

LIGHTING: Excellent in bedroom and bathroom

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Nicest part of the room. Shower had excellent water pressure.

TOILETRIES: Very nice local Greek products.

CLEANLINESS: Entire hotel is spotless

A/C: Worked well.

COMMON AREA: Definitely beautiful at night with how it is lit up via fire and lights. Olympic sized pool was nice but too cold (like nearly every pool in Greece/Europe).

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was very quiet and all morning light could be blocked.

FOOD: Breakfast was good for a buffet (I prefer freshly prepared items) and there was lots of selection. Tip: Espressos can be ordered at no extra charge. We had a pizza one day for lunch that was not very good.

TV/INTERNET: Flat screen TV with about 3-4 English channels. TV could be bigger for the room. Wireless internet worked OK

SERVICE: Staff was very nice and there were only a few minor problems.

SUMMARY: Definitely a great place to stay if going to Crete. I preferred the Blue Palace Hotel much more than this property. I don't think Crete is all that great of a place to visit as the beaches are just OK and there isn't much to see.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Lovely resort, located near the airport (so all flights pass most of the day and night over the hotel). We had a family room located on the ground floor, with a shared garden. Room had everything we needed, but, I felt that for the price we paid and the overall level of this hotel, our room wasn't to the standard you would expect. Mainly the furniture and how things worked. Please note that having this type of room invited man little animal friends to also stay with you.... Overall this hotel is super high class. Both breakfast and dinner buffets were very good. Great viriety and service. Pools were too cold to go in, even in August ! Most of the guest are Russians (80%). Rest are mix of English and Americans. Not much activities going on. Great pace just to chill out. They are not cheap, so if you can afford it, this is one of your better options in Crete. We might be back again.... But nothing made it a real wow to come back again next summer

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amirandes_Management, Manager at Grecotel Amirandes, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

With this opportunity we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a letter and let us know about your stay in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort. We truly welcome and value your comments as direct feedback always helps us to try harder, in order to improve our product, exceed our guests’ expectations and continue providing exclusive luxury services.

To begin with, we are pleased that in overall you find our hotel to be in a high level and we hope that you will choose again a Grecotel Property during your next visit in Greece. We are also very happy to hear that you were satisfied by the quality of the food and the service of our personnel. The Amirandes team makes a continuous effort for personalized service and through extensive training we try to improve day by day. Service has always been an important value for our Group and we will continue to work hard towards this direction.

Concerning the activities, we would like to point out that we have an entertainment team of 4 persons and in the high season up to 9 persons which tenderly present daily activities for our guests such as Beach Volley, Football, steps, aerobics, yoga, water gymnastics, table tennis, football, Free Golf trials & lessons. Alternatively we have our own water sports center offering a variety of water sports options to our guests during their stay and our co-operators for near by diving excursions, horse riding and mountain bike tours.

Concerning the evening entertainment, we would like to point out that the character of the hotel is in such a way that allows very soft entertainment. However, every evening there is another music band in our Labyrinth Bar and alternatively during the week, we have 3 professional shows and 2 Movie presentations in our Amphitheatre area plus one action activity such as for example Night Football. Once per week, we offer Cretan Folklore Dancing Performance accompanied with music in our “Xasteria” Restaurant and three times per week there is a signer with live piano music in our “Lago Di Candia” Mediterranean Restaurant. We really regret if the above information did not reach you promptly in order to experience some of the above mentioned day activities.

Working with the greatest enthusiasm, constantly improving our services and taking into account your well intended, constructive criticism and comments, we truly hope that you would give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our Resort or another of our hotel in the Grecotel chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

What a pity that they chose to put this hotel in this location . Outside of the hotel complex , the surrounding area was horrendous . Inside the complex the hotel was mostly well appointed with a beautiful outdoor eating area complimented by very pleasant and helpful staff . The long corridors in the part of the hotel we stayed in resembled a prison block and when uncaring people closed the doors it also sounded like one . The noise was incredible and you had virtually no chance of a full nights sleep . Evening entertainment was poor , usually consisting of a singer in the bar which was never full as it lacked atmosphere . The beach was non existent . It was at best approximately 2 / 3 metres wide except for the people in the private apartments who were given more than enough space for their needs . To one side of the hotel there was a wide and spacious beach that could have been developed but unfortunately it was over grown and strewn with rubbish . A total lack of thought in locating this hotel on this site . Gouves is at best dire !!! The Grecotel group must have got this land cheaply . The food was excellent although the drinks in the bar were a little pricey .

Room Tip: if you can afford it go for one of the private villas .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amirandes_Management, Manager at Grecotel Amirandes, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

With this letter we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort. We truly welcome and value your comments as direct feedback always helps us to try harder, in order to exceed our guests’ expectations and provide exclusive luxury services.

We are very sorry that we did not meet all your expectations regarding the points are you highlighting in your letter.
The location of the hotel is in Gouves just 18 km away from the Heraklion Airport providing only 15 minutes driving distance. The city of Heraklion is at a distance of 23 km offering few options for shopping, restaurants an coffee shops. The Palace of Knossos with a driving distance of 20 minutes is located just 25 km for guests who have culture interest. Alternatively, also Hersonnissos area is nearby at a distance of 10 km and friends of Golf playing can enjoy tournaments and practice at the Crete Golf Club just 10 km away from the hotel.

As you have noticed probably during your stay, Amirandes is characterized by a sense of relation and serenity. We are afraid that a few times some of our guests might become a little louder than expected. We understand that this can be disappointing for their ‘’neighbors’’ especially during the night hours. In cases like these, our staff respecting both sides proceeds carefully with kind recommendations, trying to resolve these matters in the best interest of all our guests.

Concerning the evening entertainment, we would like to point out that the character of the hotel is in such a way that allows very soft entertainment. However, every evening there is another music band in our Labyrinth Bar and alternatively during the week, we have 3 professional shows and 2 Movie presentations in our Amphitheatre area plus one action activity such as for example Night Football. Once per week, we offer Cretan Folklore Dancing Performance accompanied with music in our “Xasteria” Restaurant and three times per week there is a signer with live piano music in our “Lago Di Candia” Mediterranean Restaurant. We regret deeply if the above information did not reach you promptly in order to experience the evening entertainment program.

Regarding the beach areas of our hotel, we would like to comment that we have three different areas: The beach area in front of our Restaurants, the beach area east of the Amirandes pool with our water sport facilities and the beach area in front of our Villas with the Gazebos (the white cabanas) for use for the guest’s villas. Due to the weather conditions at that period, the beach area in front of the Restaurants limited the number of lines stressed with sunbeds. Additionally, we would like to position that we have our beach personnel that cleans up daily all three beaches but definitely until the ending of our entitled beach areas.

Dear Guest, we would like to assure you that working with the greatest enthusiasm, we always take into account any comments and proposals. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our resort and we are confident that your highest expectations will be fulfilled in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort, during your next visit in Crete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecotel Amirandes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Amirandes

Address: PO Box 106, Gouves, Crete 71202, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gouves
#1 Family Hotel in Gouves
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gouves
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Amirandes 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amirandes 5 star hotel in Crete, is a sparkling exclusive resort on the coast of east Crete. Themed around the lagoons that swirl through its centre, the luxury hotel in Crete covers a 70,000 sq m beachfront estate comprising of eight restaurants, sandy beaches, Elixir Spa with authentic Ayurveda treatments, outdoor Olympic-size seawater pool, over 60 private pools and extensive children's facilities. The sophisticated guestrooms suites and villas feature indulgent details such as private gyms, home cinema and state-of-the-art bathrooms with colour-therapy and aromatherapy Jacuzzi bathtubs. Refined and considerate service mirrors the Resort's meticulous attention to detail and utmost respect for the privacy of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Grecotel Amirandes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Gouves
Grecotel Amirandes Amnissos
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Amnissos
Grecotel Amirandes Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecotel Amirandes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.