We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Holiday.........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lavris Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lavris Paradise to your Saves list
Lavris Paradise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Gouves
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Walking Holiday.........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked as part of a package walking holiday. No single supplement for a twin bedded room which was large, clean with fridge & balcony... Reception staff friendly & helpful but restaurant seemed understaffed with long waits for drinks, table clearing etc. The package included breakfast & evening meal which was buffet style, lots of choice & food was fresh & of good quality (am vegetarian & there was plenty for me to eat!)......very little 'traditional Greek cuisine' but ate out at lunch time so no problem there. Nice pool area but mosquitoes a problem in evening so don't forget repellents, lotions etc. Extra charge for internet which is free in most local bars & restaurants so hotel lost out on drinks in evening when many of us moved elsewhere. Also charge for pool towels........ Set a short (10min?) walk from seafront & shops with no pavements.
Brilliant holiday (thanks Proffered Travel UK) at a very adequate 'package' hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
3
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minard
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Stayed with Olympic Holidays for one week in October with 2 older teenagers. Shared a " family" room - was great - much bigger than expected with separate double bedroom and twin beds and sofa in separate room. Ours had bath with shower. Beds were pretty hard but ok once got used to them.
Food is plentiful - we were there at end of season so prob much quieter than in high season. Repetitive but great value for 4 of us. Bar drinks and snacks were great too. On all inclusive deal, breakfast served 7.30 - 10, lunch 1-2.30, dinner 7-9.30. Snacks/ tea/ coffee available out with those times. Bar Staff were attentive - all v good English. End of season so no entertainment - fine for us, Suspect much noisier thro' the high season
Swimming pool was great for swimming in - prob 20+ m long - not heated but fine and lovely when over heating from the sun!
Surrounding area not that pretty so unless you want to chill by pool all day long, best to hire a car and go and explore.
V good value holiday on all inclusive deal - worth it even if heading out for the day. Breakfast before you go and home for evening meal.
Nice accommodation generally - very clean, rooms made up / towels changed every day .
Liked best - the ease of all inclusive deal . . . and the pool
Liked least - the hard beds.
Kids liked least the lack of Internet - only available in hotel foyer - pay daily (5€ I think ) - or 15€ for the week.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Olympic Holidays – OlympicHolidays.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

stayed at the lavris 14th October to 21st October
not bad food bearing in mind its the last week in Greece ,drinks not very good some kind of local beer undrinkable for the british taste ,spirits a bit weak bar lady was really good,
but the barman def had attitude prob because he was full of cold and did not want to be there

but all in all for what we paid I would go back

Room Tip: top tip the bar next door was very nice and nice people also top drinks , nice beer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

First thing to remember is that this is a Greek Island resort and not a major city hotel, so don't expect too much refinement. My stay was very good and it was all down to the terrific staff that were there. A special thanks to Kostas, Eleni and Eva in the restaurant and Barbara and Gianni in the pool bar. These are hard working people who will always find time for a chat and a smile.
Mosquitoes can be a nuisance, so take repellent and after bite medication with you.
There are a few bars and tavernas close to the complex, but my favorite times were going into Heraklion, (a great place to visit). However, If you did not want to leave the complex, the food and wine served in the restaurant was, in my opinion superb. Kostas is the wine expert.

I would recommend this to people who take Greek life as it comes and not expecting 5* big city comfort.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Charming hotel with excellent local food, pool and location for exploring Crete, and not too expensive. Only problem was that beach is not near, you have to walk to beach for almost 30 minutes, but we rent a car and go around Creta, every day on different beach

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenska Bistrica, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I have been to this hotel a few years ago with my friend, and I remember it as a good place, had a wonderfull time there :) We were in hotel bungalows room was big enough with safe in room. Food was excellent too, they also have a big pool in front of bungalows, not just one of them. We had all inclusive offer, drinks and snacks were available all the time. Hotel itself was very beautiful everything was very clean, I recommend this hotel very much and will go back on holiday there for sure in near future I hope :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This was not the holiday that we were sold, under the understanding it was a 4* Hotel costing us £755 each. We were sold this holiday from Wesley who was insistent it was a good quality accommodation and facilities. We explained we were looking for comfort and a restful holiday. Nevertheless insisted it was. It was in a quite location minutes from the beach. It was next to a building site and a 30 minute walk to the beach. VeWe arrived at 5am in morning; the receptionist took us to a bungalow, not a hotel room.

When entering the room a terrible damp smell was evident and the bed was like a plank of wood, the bed covers where old with tears and the sheet were white but old and looked yellow.

The bathroom had mildew around the bath and an old curtain shower, which on the bottom of the curtain was black with mildew. The bathroom was old.

The air condition unit was old, noisy and very slow to operate.

The block was old and shabby in need of decoration.

When raising this with the receptionists, he said there was no other room available and all the rooms were the same. We requested to speak to the Manager he was not available.

We had no choice but to spend a few hours lying on the bed. We were not able to sleep, the bed gave us a back, shoulder and neck ache and we felt extremely distressed, tired and anxious.

In the morning the manager was not available the receptionists said there was no other rooms available until lunch time, and the rooms where all the same. This was not a Hotel and all accommodation was referred to as bungalows. They were apartments. Fine if that what you booked. We wanted a hotel with comfort and quality. I asked the receptionist where the hotel was she declined to speak.

Lunch time we were offered a different room in a more recently decorated block, however the bed, room and bathroom were in the same condition. Except it didn’t smell.

Whilst waiting for the rep to arrive, we went and looked at the hotel facilities, the restaurant was cafeteria style, not enough seating, not enough staff, the staff were unhelpful, wore jeans and unkempt, there not cutlery available. There were dogs and cats in the eating areas
During our stay in the hotel, there were not sufficient seats around the pool bar to sit; everyone was sitting on the sun lounges at night.
There was only one waiter behind the bar and we had to queue for at least half an hour to get a drink. Guests was allowed in the pools until the early hours in the morning, there were no staffs available after 11pm. Receptionists didn’t answer the phone.

Dogs and cats roamed the area whilst sunbathing and came into the eating areas. Soiled the plants. Music was played so load you could hear it in the rooms. There was no peace anywhere. Safe, Internet and pool towels there was a charge

Next few days we wasted trying to get an upgrade, calling England and the office in Cyprus. We were informed due to the bank holiday everything was booked. We called sales and reservations in UK, who informed us that they were unable to do anything and it had to be sorted with Cyprus Office. We were very distressed and unhappy. There was accommodation to buy, but when pointed this out to Reservations, they said they could not do anything. We looked at getting flights home which really upset us even more, it was bank holiday weekend with not flights we were feeling more tired each day .
We call Olympic Holidays in England. They were really unhelpful and said they could not do anything. We spoke to sales there was a room in St Nikolas hotel. But it had to be done locally.

Debbie in the Cyprus Olympic office said she tried 15 hotels and was unable to get an upgrade. She asked the local rep Carol to find a mattress cover, and to speak to the hotel. The hotel put a blanket and a curtain under our sheets, unknown to us, which caused hot sweats.

After making our complaint official to Debbie in the Cyprus office who was then very helpful and Carol the rep found us an upgrade in the Annabelle Village. We had to pay 460 euros to upgrade and the hotel charge 180 euros we were desperate to leave and get some peace and comfort. So we just paid it. We had already paid £755 each.

These days were waste of our holiday time, caused a considerable amount of distress between us, we were tired and extremely unhappy, our families at home were also worried.

The overall experience of Olympic holidays selling us a 4* hotel, which was on very poor quality and certainly more of a 2/3*.Very disappointed with the sales person Wesley and certainly would not recommend Olympic holidays. It was the worst holiday that I've been on.

Room Tip: All check on trip advisor, don't believe what the sales person says.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavris Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavris Paradise

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavris Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lavris Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavris Paradise Gouves, Crete
Lavris Paradise Hotel Gouves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavris Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.