We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would return to the Cosmi apartments!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmi Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cosmi Apartments to your Saves list
Cosmi Apartments
Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Gouves
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We would return to the Cosmi apartments!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We booked to stay at the Ourania apartments with Libra but as they lost the contract there, we were given the Cosmi apartments as the only alternative (we also had our flights changed twice by Libra by over 17 hours but that's another story!)

After reading the reviews for the Cosmi apartments, I have to say I was dreading the holiday but honestly we all enjoyed our stay there. A few points I would like to make after reading some other reviews..

* The apartments were well stocked with plates, cutlery etc. but no kettle just a 2 ring hob (very common for greek apartments)

* Stairwells and pool area was well lit most of the night and then switched to nightlights (which are touch operated on the wall)

* There is one cleaning lady who we saw everyday, very early mopping the whole pool area and surroundings. The sheets and towels were changed in our room a few times during our stay. Bins were emptied almost everyday (she has sunday's off!) and on a number of occasions, she even did our washing up for us!

* There was always hot water in the room, even when we had the shower going for ages, and yes there is a shower curtain but it's not much use and the floor does get wet (another common thing in greece), you have to be careful or put a towel down.

* The owner Nikos (I wasn't looking forward to meeting him) turned out to be perfectly fine with us. He made a point of finding out my little boy's name and said hello to us everyday. There is a 'snack' bar but when we were there he was only serving drinks and ice creams. (But we spent most of our time at the beach so didn't really matter) And he only kept the bar open on a night until around 11 pm (depending on if he had any customers) so most of the time we didn't really see him.

All in all, these are a good example of greek self catering apartments - the pictures in the Libra brochure doesn't do it justice.

As for Gouves, I really liked the resort - it was much bigger than I had anticipated and seems to be split in to different areas, there's the beach road (two/three different beaches depending how far you walk - the best is about 5 minutes away to the right, past the first shingley beach) there are a few tavernas, bars and supermarkets on this road - Ilios and Liminaki are both nice and we went there for breakfast a lot!

Going left on the beach road takes you to Gouves town centre (about 15 minutes at a stroll). This is much busier, shops and restauraunts all the way up. There is a lovely chinese restaurant at the top by the cross roads and the philoxenia is really nice too.

I must also recommend the blue sky bar on the beach road (where we stopped off a few times on the way back after a meal in the centre) This is on the beach road, rows and rows of comfy sofas, swinging seats and soft lighting along the sea front. Biliana, the head waitress couldn't do enough for us and was always bring out fruit and ice cream for my son!

As for trips, we didn't go too far but the Watercity water park is really good fun, only 20 minutes away and 21 euro entrance. A day trip on the bus to Heraklion is really nice too for something else to do (the bus stop is on the main road as you go left out of the apartments).

I would definately return to Gouves and these apartments but not with Libra, the rep was adequate enough in resort (although no where to be seen at the airport!!) but as a Travel Agent myself, I know what level of service expected from a holiday company and they did NOT provide it. I will actively discourage my customers from using LIbra and if you have the misfortune of already being stuck with them (as I was) - I really wish you luck. I hope you can enjoy your holiday despite the lack of service, inaccurate information (i.e. wrong terminal number and luggage allowances on tickets!!) and endless changes!!

If you have any questions please feel free to e-mail me!

  • Liked — nice pool, quiet setting
  • Disliked — No snack's at pool bar
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

i got back from this resort yesterday and one of the first things i did was check what other people had to say about their experence at cosmi after hearing for the past week how 99% of my fellow holidaymakers were going to complain about the service offered there. it seems the week i have just had at the hands of Nikos The Miserable is not a one-off incident.

where to start? my mum and i arrived at 7.30ish local time at cosmi last saturday to a near-pitch dark resort wherein the bar was shut and no-one was there to greet us. we later learned that nikos had removed all the lightbulbs from the outdoor lights to save money and only replaced ONE bulb very reluctantly after a couple fell up the stairs on their return to their room in complete darkness later on in the week. (both were strict non-drinkers i sholud add.)
anyone who has been to greece will know that the pipes are too small to accomodate toilet paper so you have to use use the bin for all used paper. all the bins were only changed once a week, so you can imagine the unsanitory condition of the bathrooms. the same with the towels - only changed once during our stay. the shower curtain didn't reach the floor so if you had a shower (which, incidentally was stone cold evry day.....nikos had a back-up generator to heat the water but refused to, to save yet more money) the entire bathroom was flooded and you had to use one of your precious towels to mop the floor.
nikos was arrogant, unwelcoming and rude; he blatently ignored you if you said hello, feigned ignorance if you had a question and was mainly absent for our entire stay. the bar was open about twice during the whole week and left unmanned. in fact, one night nikos was seen getting dronk in the town and then driving home when he should have been provding service for his guests.
we had to check out of rooms midday friday but were not going to picked up by the coach to the airport until 1.40 sat morning. therefore, we had 13 and a half hours to kill without a shower or anywhere to leave our cases. my mum asked if we could keep the apartment on but nikos merely shrugged and said he would charge us 30 euro to keep it for a fuurther 7 hours, thus only taking us to 7pm. what were we supposed to do for those remaining 6 1/2?? nikos didn't care, in fact the bar was un-open so we had to sit shivering by the pool in near darkness til our coach arrived (october nights are chilly even in greece.) adding to my anger is the fact that also in the group of 6 waiting for the night flight was a pregnant lady.
overall our time at the cosmi apts was the worst ever in terms of basic sanitary conditions (or lack of them) and total lack of human decency from the owner nikos. unless you are prepared to spend money in his bar (which, ironically is never open) he will at best ignore you and at worst be rude and arrogant. he is ruled completely by money and, if you stomach it, you can watch him parade around in his merc, lovingly hosing it down as you have to put up with a freezing cold shower.
the rep isn't much better; when one of the guests tried to complain about the un-open bar she was completely ignored by 'tracy, our friendly representative' who chose to give all her attention to another guest in the hope of selling him another day-trip. i think all she was worried about was earning commission from the trips.

all in all a really bad experience, the only saving grace being the wonderful fellow guests who we met and the lovely phillipo's taverna down the road wher phillipo, the owner, is a complete and welcome contrast to 'nikos the unbearable'.

  • Liked — the other guests
  • Disliked — evrything, nikos especially
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CELBIN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

My partner and I stayed here this year and had a fantastic time! This is my second time at the apartments and I can't wait to go again. The apartments are frequently cleaned, bins emptied and linen/towels are changed regularly.

The pool and bar area are also spotless. The bar provides hot and cold drinks, sandwiches and ice creams all of which are very nice. Nikos is a good host and we enjoyed his company.

We ate out at Philipos (down the road), Liminaki and Da Vinci Code all of which I would highly recommend as excellent providers of food and value for money.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

We have visited Gouves several times and absolutley love the area, nice beaches, plenty of restraunts, generally lovely people.
We booked the Cosmi for the first time and the last, the location was a lot further down the resort than we thought and was a long walk every evening into the main area of Gouves.

The apartment was ok as Greek apartments go, although the utensils were basic to say the least which isn't very good for self-catering.
When we arrived at the apartment it was clean and tidy, except for the toilet bin which had "dry poo" left on it, this was the last time it was cleaned "properly" until we left! (we actually saw her cleaning our apartment on the last day"

Towels and bed linen were only changed 3 times in 2 weeks, the cleaner only cleaned parts of the floor and didn't using any cleaning product only cold water, the rubbish bags were left for 3/4 days before being collected and accumalated in the cupboard.
The bin in the toilet that contained toilet paper was emptied every2/3/4 days, basically when she could be bothered, and with 2 adults and a child sharing an apartment it's not pleasant or hygenic!!!
Where ever we have stayed in Crete the cleaners have always emptied the bins, especially the toilet bin everyday as it should be.
The owner of the apartments has to be the most Ignorant, Arrogant Complete Waste of Space. If you wanted to spend all day drinking at the bar you may get a smile or a hello, other than that he completly ignored everybody.

We wanted air-conditioning and were charged 80 euros, my other son and girlfriend were charged 75!

When my son's girlfriend started being sick after a meal they had earlier in the night and he came running out to get me, NICKOS was shouting "boy, boy" so i went up to ask him what he wanted and he "pretended" he couldn't understand me, and pointed at another fella for me to speak to, his son i think so i asked him what he wanted and he asked if everything was ok, i asked him why Nickos couldn't have asked that, and he had no answer.

My 9 yr old son went up for ice- cream after seeing another having it, and was told "no, later", because NICKOS couldn't be bothered.

We were told we couldn't eat/drink anything by pool unless bought at "snack bar", which is a joke, either ice-cream when he could be asked or a ham and cheese toastie, there was nothing else.

As he wouldn't serve my son we bought ice-creams, drinks, crisps etc and ate them by the pool and refused to put any more money in his pocket.

This man has an attitude the size of Crete and i would Never recommend this place to anyone, save your money and go to another hotel/apartment and have a nice time.

Another thing you shoouldn't do is book with Libra as from the check in desk from our departure airport Bristol they were rubbish, our names weren't on the passenger list even though we booked over 9 months before. It didn't end there as we had to rely on the bus driver as we had no Rep on the bus, that was after searching around Heraklion airport to find anyone working for Libra to get info from, when we did find one we were given the bus number and an envelope.

Our departure from apartments was the same, no Rep on bus to take us to airport so when we arrived we didn't know where we had to go for check in. There was a larger que outside with First Choice Rep's, when asked what the que was for they said the Birmingham flight. We continued inside and found our check-in desk number and joined the queue.

A Rep from MyTravel came up to us and asked if a Rep had sent us in, so we told him we hadn't seen a bloody Rep, he then said that there were people outside that had been quing for 30 mins for this flight.

I replied that was their problem not mine, and if a Rep had been there to tell us what we had to do then fare enough, but as we had to fend for ourselves then we were in the queue and that was where we were staying!!! and we did.

Again when we checked-in our names were not on the passenger list, we eventually went through and our flight was called early, and took off early which was a first.
The aeroplane wasn't too good as the leg room was non-existant and i'm only 5ft 6ish. The food going out and back was diabolical but there we go.

Gouves is a lovely relaxed family type of resort and we love it, the rest won't be repeated by us, we will visit again but through a different tour operator, aeroplane, and apartments.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, TAKE HEED!!!!!!1

  • Liked — Leaving!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — the owner
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

the apartments were clean and well furnished. nicos was a great host. lots of good places to eat nearby. a nice walk into the town of gouves along the sea front. good bus services. all told a good holiday.

  • Liked — very friendly
  • Disliked — no kettle
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

Cosmi Apartments are situated in a quiet area, about 5 mins walk from a sandy beach. A larger beach, with water sports etc, is about a 10 min walk. There are a couple of supermarkets nearby. The apartments are well furnished, clean, well maintained and have a nice pool and bar.

Kato Gouves is a family resort with some good, inexpensive restaurants and bars. (Don't bother with All Inclusives - get out and mix with the locals!!) There is a good mix of both tourist and more up market shops - Kokalis and Little Treasures well worth a visit. For a more traditional Crete, cross over the main road and visit Pano Gouves - about 3km away, an unspoilt old village, with a couple of traditional tavernas/restaurants.

There is a good, cheap and reliable bus service, which runs to Heraklion, Hersonissos, Malia etc. Great resort.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmi Apartments

Address: Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cosmi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmi Apartments Crete
Cosmi Apartments Hotel Crete
Cosmi Apartments Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmi Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.