We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Despo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Despo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Despo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gouves Pediados, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 hotels in Gouves
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

As everyone we read the reviews on this hotel and we can honestly say we have had a wonderful 2 weeks holiday in Crete.

We had room 301 which was clean and adequate, we paid the extra for the air conditioning. we do understand that several people had problems with noise from the weddings that the hotel catered for but we didn't hear any noise.

The food was enjoyable, the chef and all the kitchen staff do a fantastic job, we did have pork a few times but we also had chicken, lamb, fish always a good selection every night, we do feel that you have to expect to eat Greek food whilst you are there, nothing was too much trouble for them, on two occasions I asked for something that was not on the evening menu and within minutes I had it delivered to my table, that's what I call service.

The all inclusive drinks, my husband happy with beer and a little Raki, i chose a drink not on the list we paid a fair price for a large measure so no complaints from us. George was a excellent bar man made everyone welcome whatever the nationality.

Didn't have any problems with sun beds, if you get to the pool before 10 you should be ok.

Please be careful crossing the main road especially when you have young children with you.

If you have chance hire a car there is so many beautiful places to see.

If we were going back to Crete we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask your travel agent to request a quiet room for you jet2 did this for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    122
    68
    51
    36
See reviews for
79
197
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel itself is dated (old block) with small bathrooms and cretan base stone beds. However the rooms are cleaned daily with towels and bedding changed regularly and reception happy to supply extra pillows. All the staff were lovely especially Maria on reception and George in the bar. The food is absolutely fine with Greek dishes on the menu every day and plenty of salad choices etc. The pool is clean and even though we are late risers we still always managed to get a sunbed so not overcrowded. The bar is well run by the day time guy and George at night and makes for a very pleasant place to make friends and spend the evening. Gouves itself is suffering as a resort from recession and the impact of the all inclusive hotels with many closed bars and restaurants but we did give our support to the ones still open and would urge others to do the same so there is still a resort for people to come back to. Overall a lovely stay in a typical Greek hotel.

Room Tip: Book a "superior" room in the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I could not expect much more from my stay at this hotel considering what my partner and I paid. This is a traditional hotel, in a small town retaining it's Cretan tradition considering the locality of Heraklion and Malia/Hersonissos (the main tourist areas). This explains the friendly approach of the staff and the family feel of the hotel.

Ill try and cover what is said in most of the reviews below plus a few things that should be said.

The food, the important stuff first! As said this is a traditional Cretan hotel and the food is no different. It is excellently cooked local food, all sourced locally as well. We thoroughly enjoyed all the food we ate and we could tell the chef took great pride. Greek food is a lot different to the majority of Europe so please consider this and do not expect 'burger, chips and beans' for every meal. The quality of the food was made apparent by the number of local functions held at the hotel. Enjoy trying something new! There is always a vast choice of cold dishes to go along with three hot choices, with bread and deserts. The staff will bring you a drink to your table. Breakfast would be the only disappointment with the food as it is the same every day and is bland, however there is a great bakery 200m down the road opposite. If there were some pastries in the selection then that would be great.

The rooms, adequate for the price paid, your only sleeping there after all. The small en suite/wet room does get very wet with the poorly maintained shower however the room and bathroom were very clean. Two bed changes a week and three towel changes, can't argue. 7 euro extra per night was a bit cheeky but made sleeping a bit better.

Swimming pool was great, small shallow one for kids and a decent sized one for everyone else. During busy times sun beds are hard to come by as everyone likes to get up early to reserve them.

The bar and inclusive drinks, service was acceptable but sometimes certain staff can seem more favourable to some guest than others. The all inclusive drinks start at 11am till 1030pm. Soft drinks are fine but the alcoholic drinks are not the best; beer and wine are not great, raki, ouzo and brandy are not the best alternatives. A vodka/rum would be an improvement. Mid afternoon there would be afternoon snacks and ice creams in the all inclusive.

The beach is only a ten minute walk away and is a good change the the poolside. You will pass the amazing 'George taverna' on the way to the beach, we recommend having food there highly!


Would return to this hotel for another budget holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid the dungeon rooms and make sure you have an A/C unit fitted in your room as not all have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family have just come back from a 2 week stay at this sorry excuse of a hotel.on the way to the hotel from the airport was like a death sentence.no road lights no pavements for the pedestrians to walk on and the drivers do not give a monkey how they drive.on arrival we went straight for tea (wich was very nasty)and then went to unpack and shower.if u cant be botherd to stand for a shower this place is great h can sit on the loo and ur literally in the shower.it was 40 odd degrees that night unable to sleep or breath all night we asked reception about the air con to find out we had to spend half our spending money on it.it was needed.the next morning we went for breakfast.it was
Literally cardboard toast and cerial or a bowl of fruit and that was the same evry morning for the remainder of our stay there.obviously we were starving and the kids hated it.when 11am finally came the bar opened

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very old and dated hotel, in need of a good modernisation package...rooms are shabby, mattresses are very old and lumpy...every weekend there is a christening or a wedding reception so don't expect to get any sleep before 3am! The staff were brilliant except the idiot barman who did the evening shift, an idiot who didnt think it was his duty to collect glasses! the bar across the road water down their drinks!! Andreas around the corner was brilliant, big breakfast for 5 euros...the food in the hotel was always fresh and plentiful...the breakfasts were poor though but ok...just watch that main road it's a nightmare, must be awful if you have small children with you...Internet is a joke, it hardly worked...all in all it is what it is and the weather was great as were the trips we went on...also 7 euros a night for air conditioning is a bit naughty, plus 2 euros a day for a safety deposit box can add quite a lot on to your bill.

Room Tip: Get in the new extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked three rooms, for six adults and two children. We were put into basement rooms which were awful. Ceiling in bathroom leaking continually all night in one room, sewer under rug in another . We were transferred into other rooms the next night which were marginally better. There were two greek weddings at the hotel while we were there which did not finish until 4.a.m.. The bar had little that was drinkable, even soft drinks had no resemblance to coke /lemonade/orange etc. the local alcohols were a bad representation of ouzo or metaxa. The plastic glasses were brown and stained, we resorted to buying our own and staff wouldn't serve you unless you returned glasses to them. ( we wouldn't expect to be continually waited on but some service was expected!) .Staff were great to those who sat at the bar all day but had no time for anyone else and were outrightly rude.
Basically out of seven nights we had three nights of no sleep. There are not enough staff to run the hotel successfully. It needs renovating. Olympic holidays have not even replied to our complaint.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay & were made very welcome. Reception organised extra pillows & chairs in the balcony for us.
Food was great considering what we had paid. We did have a lot of Pork but also had Moussska, Fish, Turkey,Pasta, Lamb & always a hot vegetable choice as well as full salad. Service in restaurant was excellent.
Yes,you do have to battle for a sun bed. Yes,drink selection isn't great & service at bar was a little unpredictable.
Think bottled water & a sugar free/diet drink should be included.
Our room was fine but a little small for 4 people.
Gardens are beautiful.
Would we stay again - yes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Despo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despo Hotel

Address: Gouves Pediados, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 hotels in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Despo Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Despo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Despo Hotel Gouves, Crete
Despo Hotel Crete
Hotel Despo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Despo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.