We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOLIDAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Constantin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. Constantin Hotel to your Saves list
St. Constantin Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thermopillon Street | Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Gouves
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“GOOD HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from 7 night stay and overall very satisfied, the goods outweighed the not so goods the best things spacious rooms, great bar service, Fantastic animation team who had boundless energy, were so genuine, nice and friendly and hard working, and not too in your face..The food was fine, but I reckon a few tweaks wouldn't go amiss, For me personally, fresh juice at breakfast and a toaster would have been great,the hot food was almost cold at times even at beginning of service, but aside from these small niggles it was plentiful and we always found something to have..The rooms, are well equipped BUT I DID THINK THE CLEANING COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER, AND A FEW OTHER GUESTS WE CHATTED TO SAID THE SAME SO IF THE MANAGER READS THIS, PERHAPS THIS IS SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT,ALSO IN 7 DAYS WE NEVER SAW THE POOL BEING CLEANED, BUT IT DIDN'T LOOK TO BE DIRTY THOUGH..all the staff we came accross were very polite , friendly and helpful , and we did enjoy our stay very much and it was nice and quiet, which is just what we were looking for.also, few nice touches were the self service drinks in the restaurant and the pool bar lady coming round the guests by the pools with a tray of fresh, chilled fruit, melon, grapes and orange, and the little snack bar and ice cream was very handy.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Manager at St. Constantin Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Emmabee,

We would like to thank you for preferring our Hotel for your recent visit to Crete. In addition, thank you for your positive comments about our Rooms, our Bar Service, our Animation Team, our Staff and our Snack Bar. It is all our Guests remarks that help us get better every day. We are really glad, to know that you had a great time at your holidays.

Moreover, please accept our apologies and we would like to inform you that we are going to try even more in the cleaning department, to become better and the result of it to be perfect. For your information, our Swimming Pools are being cleaned every two days at the early morning hours and they are disinfected every day.

Once again, we send you our apologies and thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to offer you a genuine 5 Star Greek Hospitality, here at the St. Constantin.

Yours Sincerely,

Georgios K.Pagonakis
Manager of St. Constantin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    112
    65
    31
    28
See reviews for
156
152
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Miro St Contantin is a five star hotel, which falls short of its rating in quite a few areas even by Greek standards. We arrived at the hotel in the early hours to find that our room bore no resemblance to the photographs online or in the travel brochures and this we later discovered was because “we hadn’t paid enough”. The St Contantin does indeed have a two-tier pricing system totally unknown to us when we booked and this definitely takes the less-expensive rooms below the five star threshold into the three star zone we have seen in other countries. The room was equipped with a cooker, fridge and kettle for self-catering guests but there were no sachets of tea, coffee, sugar or containers of milk. There was no literature about the hotel, no information about its facilities, no welcome pack, hospitality tray or water. There was no soap in the bathroom, just a wall dispenser containing “hand, body and hair liquid” and the safe deposit in the bedroom had to be paid for. The air conditioning unit was totally inefficient, a fact which apparently could not be rectified. Beach towels were available (to rent for one euro) at reception and we had to leave a deposit of ten euros per towel. Use of the sauna was extra and entrance to the unmanned and unsupervised gym was by application for the key at reception. In the dining room it would have been nice to have had freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast instead of orange squash from a machine.
On the plus side, the staff were courteous and helpful, the food was satisfactory if a little predictable and by the end of our very enjoyable holiday we had worked around the negative aspects of the hotel and were genuinely sorry to leave Crete.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the swimming pool and entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Manager at St. Constantin Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear miles_cheshire 112,

We would like to thank you for preferring our Hotel for your recent visit to Crete. In addition, thank you for your positive comments about our staff and our food in our Restaurant. We are glad to know that you had a great time at your holidays. It is all our Guests remarks that help us get better everyday.

We are sorry though, to know that besides you had a Great Time in our Hotel, we did not fulfill all your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we checked your booking and we saw that you had booked a standard double room. We are very sorry that the travel agent you booked your holiday with, did not provide you with all the pictures of our 6 different types of rooms in the brochure. Besides that, from the second day of your stay, you were moved in a Superior Family Room (in the 1st floor) with a Sea View with the extra amenities (which you mentioned in your review), all provided to you and put in your room without any extra charge, as a gift from our Hotel, so you would be satisfied.

Moreover, we would like to let you know that, all of our guest, no matter what time they arrive in our Hotel, they are given from the Reception staff, our All-Inclusive program and General Information about our Hotel. Also, if we have an early hour arrival like yours, then we always keep cold plates of food and small bottles of water, which are given to our guests (including you too).

In addition, the travel agent you came with, is informed that the safety deposit box and the beach towels are on extra charge so you should know it or if you did not, then you should ask more information from your travel agency. Furthermore, if you were not satisfied from your Air-Condition system or you faced any kind of a problem with it, then it would be fixed straight away from the Reception Desk if you had inform them.

Finally, we would like to inform you that, our Gym was renovated this year and it was provided with new equipment too. The reception desk and a sign outside the door of the Gym, inform our guests, that it is not supervised. Comments though and suggestions from our guests are always welcome from our Hotel.

Once again, please accept our apologies and thank you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to offer you a genuine 5 Star Greek Hospitality, here at the St. Constantin.

Sincerely,

Georgios K.Pagonakis
Manager of St. Constantin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived back on Sunday after a week at the St Constantine Hotel. I was a little concerned since booking the holiday as I had been told by my better half that I was not allowed to go to my beloved Majorca again this year and we had to try a Greek Island.
We chose this hotel as the reviews were very positive, and I must say we were very happy with our experience.
One negative thing though, and nothing to do with the hotel, was the transfer drop off booked with ResortHoppa. The coach driver dropped us off at the end of a road and when we asked where the hotel was, were told to walk for a bit and then ask someone. We walked for 10 minutes and then found the hotel asking a friendly local bar manager A little later we realised that the driver could have dropped us off earlier with a 60 second waljk to the hotel via another road.
Anyway, we had a superior room with double bed and two balconies and appartment room (913) was huge but could have done with a sofa and table in the main area.
A decent sized bathroom was available and a kitchenette with no facilities bar cups and saucers although being All Inclusive, this was not really a problem.
Air Con was excellent and was much needed.
Food was very good. Breakfast offered small frankfurters, chips, eggs, bread, cereals fresh fruit etc, plenty of choice for everyone. Lunch was good too with the fruit, fresh vegetables, salads, hot and cold meats, potatoes and local style food too. Dinner was similar but a wider choice was was always very tasty.
Drinks were generally good but the gin tasted very weird. The beer was decent and plenty of soft drinks available too.
The snack bar was OK and the main bar was excellent with friendly service.
The hotel was very clean everywhere we went and the staff were extremely helpful and polite.
Rooms were cleaned daily and sheets and towells changed every two days.
The animation team were excellent and provided good, if basic, entertainment.
Kato Gouves is quiet and there is not a lot going on. A few bars and restaurants dotted abouted sporadically with the odd supermarket.
We ventured out one night to try a local restaurant and has a great meal in Georges Tavern a 5 minute walk away.
The main town of Gouves is 1 mile walk away and we stumbled upon this driving back the hire car we hired. Very handy as this enabled me to watch the mighty Crystal Palace do Charlton at their place in one of the many bars in the main town.
The sun was damn hot but we cooled down in the pool when necessary.
Overall, a great holiday and we are both pleased we gave Crete and this hotel a chance. We would defo come back.
Thank you all for an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Request a pool view on the first or second floor.We had 913 at pool level seen at the right hand sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel and I am already eager to get back!
The room we had was spacious with a separate bedroom as there was 4 of us and as we are a family was a better solution than 2 separate rooms.
All the staff were very friendly and approachable and couldn't do enough for you. I lost count of the times I asked the reception staff a question, but my questions were always answered in a friendly manner.
The food was excellent and there was always a different selection each day so you never got bored with it. Yes, there was always chips, but you didn't have to choose them! There was always a different potato option!
All I can say about the animation team is that they were EXCELLENT! Jack was so funny in the shows at night and during the day kept everyone entertained with water polo and volleyball. He is the nicest person you could wish to meet and is so hardworking - I don't know where he got all his energy from! Aga kept the kids (and adults) amused with mini polo, mini baskets and was great with the kids at the mini disco! She was also such a lovely, hardworking person. Then there was Alex who was the fitness guru with aquagym, pilates and zumba - I don't know where she gets her energy from!
I really can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I returned home from my visit to the St. Constantin hotel on Wednesday and I can honestly say that I very much miss this hotel! The room we stayed in was spacious and kept very clean by the maids, everything within the room worked perfectly including the air con. The hotel itself was also kept clean by its numerous hard working staff. The food at the hotel was always of a good quality. Yes, there were chips everyday however, there was enough selection to avoid eating them everyday; there was always a meat and a fish option with fresh fruit and salad always available.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly, helpful and hardworking. You could honestly not fault any of them. Benny the barman is the best barman I have ever encountered, always on hand to make you laugh and get you drunk! The animation team were amazing and always there to keep you entertained, with poolside activities during the day and a mini disco and show at night. The chief animator Jack is the loveliest guy you will ever meet; he is also very hard working and absolutely hilarious, as is Aga who is not only good with the children but also with those of all ages, Alex is good at the fitness activities that she provides.
I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the St. Constantin hotel and would definitely love to go back one day. I whole heartedly recommend this hotel and honestly do not understand where the bad reviews are coming from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Although not a 5 star hotel by some standards, you get what you pay for and more. Lovely staff that couldn't be any more helpful. Food was buffet's and some nice Cretan twists. not michelam starred quisine but edible and tastey. My Girlfriend and I enjoyed it thoroughly, with activiteis we could take part in and a show everynight to amuse us. Rented a car from John and Mary's at a reasonable price from down the road ad the beaches were generally clean and quite. The Hotel is spotless and the cleaners came everyday to change the sheets. Only one pillow each on arrival but on the first day I asked for another, went to lunch came back and there it was. A Compilmentary bottle of wine on departure (not great quality but personalised with our names and just a nice touch). Air con worked wonderfully and meant for a great nights sleep, don't expect to watch TV as ours barely had any working channels but we didn't really need them. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to families and couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from lovely 11 days at The St Constantine hotel, clean good sized room with small Kitchenette (nice and useful when you have a family), beach is an easy & leisurely 10 mins walk from hotel, food & drink to a good standard, good variation and attentive staff in the restaurant. The Animation team are good with the kids, games in the main pool, and not to in your face, a little bit of entertainment at night but doesn't finish to late,towels on sunbeds were a bit of a pain, luckily for me my partner gets up nice and early to get a sun bed by the pool so wasn't a problem, the sunbeds were nice and comfy but would benefit from a few more beds . also people would put towels on the beds and then not use them all day (very annoying for people who hadn't got beds) a sign saying 'towels left unattended for more than two hours will be removed from sunbeds' should sort this out. Cleaners did a good job on room.Games for kids, there are two pool tables (1 not working when we stayed), 1 air hockey table, 2 ping pong tables. No Video Games - Thank goodness - Ice cream available all day , drinks available all day from bars at both pools, snacks available at main pool all day- Wine & larger both quite good - fizzy drinks & water for the kids. very attentive reception. wi fi available in rooms free of charge, slow connection but did manage to make a skype phone call. down by the beach - two small supermarkets, a couple of bars and two restaurants. We don't tend to return to the same places for our holidays but would recommend this hotel as very good value for money . out side the hotel I would say the cost in restaurants is little higher than at home. Thank you to the staff for a really good holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Constantin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Constantin Hotel

Address: Thermopillon Street | Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gouves
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#10 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Constantin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St.Constantin Hotel is set on the island of Crete in the peaceful area of Gouves Village,15 km from the airport and 20 km from Heraklion City Center.The atmosphere of St.Constantin Hotel will charm the visitor and the warm hospitality will embrace your every moment during your stay. St.Constantin Hotel consists of 118 rooms, which are divided in Double Rooms, Family Rooms, Maisonettes and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Constantin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Constantin Village Hotel Gouves
St Constantin Village Heraklion
St. Constantin Hotel Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Constantin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.