We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Constantin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Constantin Hotel to your Saves list
St. Constantin Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thermopillon Street | Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Gouves
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Fantastic Hotel !!!! Hotel Staff were very very good .
This location was perferct for a great family holiday in crete. The beach is only 1 min away from the hotel very ideal. There were great places to eat right on your door step.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    113
    66
    31
    28
See reviews for
157
154
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Arrived in St.Constantin Hotel in the 1st of October with my boyfriend,bout twenty minutes after midnight.Mr Stelos welcomed us with a big smile and gave us all the directions bout the hotel and took us to our room.We stayed for a week in the new buildings and our room was really big and spacious.We booked an All-Inclusive package and we were quite worried as it was our first time being All-inclusive.Thank God besides our worries and that it was the end of summer season in Crete besides the rest,the food in the restaurant was really nice and fresh.Big buffets and show cooking bbq was big prons.In our room we had a double bed with a big balcony,facing the chapel of the hotel and a small part of the sea,free air-con(big pron),a nice kitchenette with a small fridge,big modern bath,a hairdryer and a telly with satellite channels.These were all standard in all rooms as we found out the next days of our holiday.Rooms were cleaned daily and towels and linen were changed every two days.The pool-bar was serving free drinks all day till bout eleven o'clock the night.The staff of the hotel were very polite and friendly.They never refused us anything and they were always there in case we needed sth.Really dissapointed from the people who wrote negative reviews bout this beautiful place.I read what they wrote and its totally opposite.It was just a beautiful and quite holiday and we are really looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks wonderful holiday at the St. Constantin’s apartments in Gouves, Crete & can only reiterate the positive comments of previous reviewers. This accommodation is something special - the standard far above normal Greek apartments with beautiful interior and exterior.
After reading a few poor reviews about this hotel we were a bit worried about what the hotel would be like, but don't believe everything you read. I and my daughter could not fault this hotel in any way at all, all staff was very helpful and friendly, special mentions to our house keeper Irene, she was exceptionally helpful, polite and we got everything we asked for, nothing ever was too much trouble. The hotel is kept exceptionally clean. Rooms are large & have plenty of storage space, also the bathrooms are big, modern and immaculate clean and a free air-con is a big added bonus. The two pools were very well looked after and always clean and inviting, there was never a problem of getting a sun bed. Standard and the variety of food in the restaurant can only be described as excellent, always fresh and plenty to chose from.
We had a fantastic time at the St Constantin’s Apartments; We found it a great place for peace and quiet whilst still being able to travel to the larger places on the island for the nightlife or shopping experience. St. Constantin’s apartments cater for everyone including families, young and older.
Gouves is the perfect getaway place for people who want a real feel for the life of a Cretan citizen with its lovely tavernas (especially Milos taverna – best food and great service), supermarkets and charming sandy beaches.
Overall, I recommend this hotel highly and we had a really amazing holiday. I only wish we had a few more days there as we didn't get the chance to do as much outside the resort as we would have like to.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

we had booked this hotel for 2wks to celebrate our Ruby wedding annivesrary, on arrival we knew that this was not a 5* hotel, when we was shown to our room, which it was up 2 flights of stone steps and we had asked for a low floor due to our disbilities, also a garden view, whiich turned out to be the back of the appartment block and it was scrub land. There was a smell to end all smells coming up and around the front of the appartment and it was very sour indeed, the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful,we found that very odd as in the past the other greek islands we have viisted the staff could not do enough for you, also this is set up for self cartering and the kitchen had not seen a clean in months and months also the bathroom had water stains from pervious showers and the was black mould around the bath, it's obvious that they had not been cleaned.our advise is to save your money, it may suit some people but it cerntainately did not suit us we did not stay we got moved to another hotel but thas another story!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Me and my Mother just came back from St. Constantine’s after lovely two weeks holiday and can’t fault it in any way at all, the lovely hotel and most helpful staff made our stay very comfortable and relaxing, as well very special.
If you are looking for the hotel that offers plenty of Greek charm, put this place at the top of your wish list. There is a lot to be said for a family run, just a right size, peaceful hotel. If you expect to really chill out, you won’t get much charm and peace at a bustling mega hotel in the centre of busy resort. You’ll not find a huge and loud resort packed with guests (mind we were staying in the end of season), but that’s its charm. What you get is a pin-drop peace and quiet, along with a lot of good old fashioned Greek hospitality.
Well designed complex and the accommodation was a 1’st class, immaculately clean, and very spacious. On arrival we were surprised to see that up keeping of St. Constantine’s apartments was as good as we seen in five star hotels, everything was spotless, which for apartments can vary greatly. Rooms are cleaned every day, towels and bedding changed regularly except Sundays. All rooms have free air-con, well designed kitchenette, dining area, balcony or terrace and lovely bathrooms. I haven’t seen other rooms but ours had shower over the bath what we found as an added bonus.
The two swimming pools are kept in tip top condition and there are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas so there is no need to put your towels down before sunrise, and what a better way to enjoy the calm surroundings then from the comfort of the lounger. There are couple of pool tables, children play area and internet access for a small price. Hotel restaurant serves delicious and fresh food with the great choice and variety. What impressed me and my mother the most is the wonderful church in between the old and the new buildings with its gorgeous exterior and beautiful hand painted pictures of the saints inside.
The location of the hotel was perfect, not too far to the centre of Gouves, with it lively bars, charming tavernas, shops and supermarkets, but far enough not to be too noisy. Hotel is stone’s throw away from the beach which was, like the hotel, clean and worm.
And last but not least – I can never remember being made more welcome anywhere, all staff was both professional and friendly and most of them had a wonderful sense of humour. Nothing ever was too much trouble. Special mentions have to be made to Maria (receptionist)- very professional, friendly and goes out of her way to help every guest (and that comes from Front of house senior staff member in one of the busiest hotels in Newcastle, UK), wouldn’t say the same about another girl in reception but that’s just my opinion. Katherine (reservations) – what a welcoming smile, thanks for directions. Dimo & Ben – the atmosphere behind the bar would not be same without you, great sense of humour and nice “URSUS”. Housekeeping ladies – immaculately clean rooms and public areas, very well organised. And the owner George – absolutely great job wonderfuly run place!
It’s absolute quality, simple as that, because it ticks all the boxes. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending St. Constantine’s to anyone. We had the fabulous stay and two weeks wasn’t enough....
Efcharisto everyone for the lovely holiday....

P.S. For those brits who mostly enjoys “fish and chips” and doesn’t want to know anything about any other nationalities and cultures, simple advice – stick with the Blackpool.... Local pets are very well looked after and loved by most of the tourists....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIMSBY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in ,no entainment well russion bingo wot a laugh,food was taste less cold and greek and horable never even had english tea to offer ,Also they allow cats to roam round resterant whilt eating and guest 2 feed them ,discusting dnt waste ur well earnt money, going 2 this resort or hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed out of season (sept) for a week. The site is a ten minute walk from centre of Gouves but there are beaches, shops and food places very near. The hotel was lovely no problem with staff , food or getting a sun bed!
The food was simple and great but could get boring after more than a week. We had a lovely time a really chilled hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Constantin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Constantin Hotel

Address: Thermopillon Street | Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gouves
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
#11 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Constantin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St.Constantin Hotel is set on the island of Crete in the peaceful area of Gouves Village,20 km from the airport and 25 km from Heraklion City Center.The atmosphere of St.Constantin Hotel will charm the visitor and the warm hospitality will embrace your every moment during your stay. St.Constantin Hotel consists of 134 rooms, which are divided in Double Rooms, Family Rooms, Maisonettes and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Constantin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Constantin Village Hotel Gouves
St Constantin Village Heraklion
St. Constantin Hotel Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Constantin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.