We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Magda Hotel to your Saves list
Magda Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gouves Pediados, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Gouves
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ok for a week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Just back from Gouves and although we weren't sure about the resort at first, it was really ok. Might get very busy in high season, though. The Magda hotel is good - staff helpful and friendly, very clean but not a 4 star hotel. Probably a 3+ star. The food is repetitive and although there will always be something that you can eat, it's not always appealing. Soup,salad on every night and a choice of fish,chicken and meat. Rooms comfortable and clean but you do have to pay extra to use the fridge and for a safe. Swimming pools outside are clean and pool for the children. Indoor pool good but sauna padlocked and although there was a sign for the gym, we couldn't find it. The entertainment / Animation staff were very good. Always came round to tell you what activity was coming on and weren't pushy if you didn't want to do anything except lounge by the pool ! Aquagym, archery, boules during the day and low key entertainment at night. Mainly French and Brits at the hotel. Short walk to the beach and several bars and restaurants also along the beachfront. Hire of loungers on the beach was 5Euro for 2 loungers and parrasol. Eating out & drinks not cheap due to the exchange rate. Euro3.50 for a beer and Euro2.50 for a small glass of a soft drink. I would recommend the Magda to a friend but would have to point out all of the above first. A holiday for families with perhaps younger children - not teens-and for couples looking for a relaxing holiday. Also, enjoyed the full day's trip to Spinalonga.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    118
    51
    14
    7
See reviews for
83
122
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Please excuse my English is not my native tongue.
Worst hotel ever –DO NOT GO !
I was captive in this hotel for 2 weeks in July 2008.
The hotel – is fake 4 star hotels by civilized European standards max 2, 5 stars.
We book a honeymoon suite and on arrival we receive a small room.
The room was changed for double room not HM –suite as we bookend, only I raised my voice to the receptionist.
Very dirty rooms, with damaged furniture.
Smell of vinegar on the pool area, and on the days without breeze sewer odors.
Every maid supposed to serve like 25 room so imagine the quality of their work
(I had the dirtiest bathroom ever saw in a hotel probably).
We discovered on arrival that we have to pay extra for deposit/safe box and refrigerator.
(60 Euro together). Very bad food , almost no trace of Greek food , 95% was int food : lasagna pizza , French fries , chicken wings etc ( like fast food ) ; sparkling water was 3 euro / 0.2 liters and the cherry on the cake was the RE-USE of non eaten food from evenings in breakfast.
EVERY towel we receive was tear or with stains.
Nobody was cleaning the dust in our room for 14 days.
The personal was unfriendly and they do not understand German and not much of English.
Hotel parking lot was 40m down the street on street corner and without security ;
No AC in the lobby area , and the presented internet ( on the hotel web ) is neither free or available in the room , they have pc in the lobby “for rent “ 2 Euro / 15 min.
On the last day ,for the late check out , they ask for 45 euro – I give them the finger !
Conclusion – THEY RUINED OUR HONEY MOON
PS Crete is wonderful, but not if you stay at Magda Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from the Magda hotel.The hotel staff were very warm and friendly and the room we had was spacious and spotlessly clean.
The food in the restaurant was excellent with a great variety of different dishes.
The hotel itself is in immaculate condition and very near to the village of Gouves.
I would recommend this hotel for families and mature couples.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

Had a very enjoyable holiday at the Magda Hotel, Crete. The rooms were reasonably spacious and comfortable and the whole hotel is kept extremely clean.

There are a mixture of nationalities, majority French & British but this, if anything, made our stay more enjoyable. There was no loutish behaviour at this Hotel.

There are three pools, two outdoors all reasonably sized. Sunbeds are easily available. Much of the daily entertainment was pool & sports based (there is a separate sports complex) and the Animation Team worked very hard to keep everyone involved and amused. There is some evening entertainment at the Hotel if required.

Hotel bar prices not too cheap (G&T £4!!) but cheaper drinks and snacks were found at the Asteria bar appr 10 min walk from hotel. (Pint beer £2) Hotel Breakfasts good & evening meals ok & not too formal.

Gouves resort not the most attractive-beach 5min walk & fairly clean- Sunbeds £5pd with some 'watersports' avl

Out & About Water City waterpark appr 5km away up top of mountain-kept my children amused but watch prices of snacks.

In all, an excellent holiday and I would recommend the Hotel to future holidaymakers looking for a reasonably priced family hotel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — the Bar prices
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

After being moved to this hotel as the hotel we booked was full we had to give our good and bad points, firstly the good well 5 mins from beach, very clean maid cleaned and made beds, changed towels daily, nice food good variety, friendly staff, must visit the da vinci code restaurant tho down the road food is fantastic there! can't stress that enough, beach staff nice and friendly, water park good but beware food and drinks there very expensive.
now the bad, not alot of food the kids liked, drinks expensive about £4 for malibu & coke, £3 for a beer, night time entertainment not very good no kids mini disco, said we could have late checkout of room for 40 euros as we wasn't getting picked up till 2am then chucked us out with 2 small children as they needed the room, rep not very helpfull our tranfer didn't arrive to take us to the airport had to get a taxi, but that's direct holidays/thomas cook for you

  • Liked — food, pool and friendly staff
  • Disliked — entertainment, drinks prices
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

We were a party of 4 adults and an 8 year old child. I contacted the hotel directly and they offered me a family room which would sleep all 5 of us, plus dinner and breakfast for 140 Euros a night. For that price I decided to stay here.

It was a bit tough to find. Their web site isn't the greatest.

There was mass confusion during check in. Only one person at the counter and dozens of guests. It took forever to check in. And I think someone gave us a wrong price because they had to find a manager and confirm it. But I had the printout so they honored it.

The hotel has a nice design, although there are no elevators to rooms on the upper floors. The room was easily big enough to sleep 5 and could probably do 6, with a seperate master bedroom. The room was quite as well.

They charge you to use the fridge or the safety deposit box so that was a negative.

Not much was open in April so I was glad we decided to eat there that night. Until we ate there. They do buffetts that are themed and probably change every night. It was Chinese night while we were there and it was awful. And you pay extra for the drinks, which ran 2.50 Euro for a bottle of water and up.

Breakfast was pretty good and I would recommend it.

The nearby beaches looked nice, although cold in April.

This is a monster bus resort sort of place. They are trying to get into the beach resort market for people who want to spend a week on the beach. It met our needs for one night, but in high season I can see this place as being crowded and noise.

For much more money I would not have stayed here, but I was glad I did for the package we got.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Dinner was really bad.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

We had a wonderful week at the Magda. The hotel is a 5 mins walk from the beach and has a sports complex with tennis courts, golf etc for a small charge.The food is excellent with plenty of choice.The staff are all really friendly and very helpful. The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. We couldn't fault the hotel in any way and would definitely stay there again.
The only problem we found with Gouves, was that being the last week of october, the resort was closing down, therefore the majority of bars, shops etc were winding down for the season. We found this to be the case in other resorts on the island as I guess you'd expect. However, this didn't spoil our holiday and considering it was the end of october the weather was gorgeous, with very few clouds and plenty of sun!! I can honestly say this was one of the best holidays we've had and I would recommend the Magda as the perfect place to stay.

  • Liked — Very spacious and spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magda Hotel

Address: Gouves Pediados, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#8 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Magda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magda Hotel Gouves, Crete
Magda Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.