We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, what a place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Island Hotel to your Saves list
The Island Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vlihadas Street | Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Pantheon Palace Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Gouves
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing, what a place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I can honestly say we had the most amazing week and we really didn't want to come back so soon. My husband and I went for a week away to get away from the fast pace of life in England. We were in for a treat, the staff were amazing, especially the staff in the dinning room, always smiling and greeting us with such happiness and service day in day out. The rooms were clean and always tidy. It was always peaceful and calm, sorry little people, we enjoyed the calm and restfulness of the hotel. The food was amazing, I have allergies (Coeliacs) and for once I was not made to feel like I was causing issues and being a pain, thank you. We sure will be back again soon. Can't wait to see you all again soon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    337
    87
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
870
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

A great hotel with everything you need for a completely relaxing and luxurious holiday.
Easy check in.
Room spacious and modern, very clean. Our patio area, however, was unused as quite small and bushes too overgrown to see past - this, though, is the only fault we could find with the whole hotel!
We used the relaxing pool everyday, always found a bed and it was, indeed, relaxing. Also went to the beach daily and, again, always found a bed (free for the hotel). The sandy beach and clear blue sea were very inviting, normally a bit cooler than the pool area due to a slight sea breeze.
The Kitchen (restaurant for breakfast and dinner) never let us down. A great selection of food, clearly labelled for those with a gluten or nut allergies. Special mentions - Julia, the hostess - who has the ability to make each guest feel special. She ensured I had gluten free bread at breakfast and remembered our room number by the last day!! Georgios, head chef, who made me delicious gluten free versions of the menu. Margarita, from the Yachting Beach Bar, who made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, excellent service and always with a smile!! We went to the yachting bar everyday, for lunch. Sandwiches, toasties and salads for 3.50 euros, all of which can be charged to your room. (She arranged for gluten free bread to be available at lunchtimes for me.) :-)
Entertainment, not as varied as previous Thomson couples holidays we have been on but fitted with the ambiance of the hotel. We enjoyed the saxophonist, Cretan duo and Adam and his talent for mixing his own backing tracks on stage and then adding his own take on well known songs (as well as one he had composed himself!) We also enjoyed the cocktails at Tholos Bar (Island Paradise was our favourite!)
In all, one brilliant holiday and we shall be booking to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Island for a week and we both left totally chilled out. A huge bonus of the hotel for us was that it's adults only - there is lots of peace and quiet. If you are looking for somewhere livelier this may not be for you, the resort of Gouves is small and there wasn't too much going on.

The hotel itself is immaculate. Lots of care goes into the maintenance of the hotel's appearance and our room was always spotless by the time we headed in from the pool. On arrival our bathroom door was broken, we told reception and it was logged and fixed promptly. Really impressed.

My husband's favourite part of the hotel was, by far, the food! There was always lots of choice at both breakfast and dinner buffets - lots of fresh salad and fruit and a good variety of dishes to choose from. I particularly liked the omelettes cooked to order for breakfast. The hotel also made an effort to cater for gluten-free guests, indicating which options they could go for. We also ate at The Taverna. Again, it was a lovely meal but it would have been nice to have more options for the main other than pork or salmon.

We had a sea-view room. The room was on the small side - particularly the bathroom which was TINY. However, our view made up for it. Stunning. And the balcony space was huge so you could sit out and enjoy it. The bed was super comfortable and the complimentary water/hot drinks were a nice touch.

The pools are both great - not too cold but very refreshing! We went during peak season so you did have to get to the main pool before 10am if you want a lounger but the quiet pool always had space.

We booked with Thomson and took advantage of a few excursions. We would recommend the trip to Knossos - the guide knew her stuff! The reps at the hotel, particularly the entertainment rep, did make an effort to make sure there were lots of activities to do.

Overall, we had a lovely week and would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you're looking for somewhere quiet, to get away from it all, then The Island is the place for you. There is a quiet pool area and a regular pool area, but to be honest, they were both as quiet and peaceful as each other. The fact that there are no children guarantees peace and relaxation. The only downside is that the beds by the pool are occupied very early so it's not always easy to get a spot. The staff are helpful and seem to enjoy working there- they make an effort to greet you and talk with you, although they know when to leave you alone. The food is plentiful and very tasty. There is a vast array of dishes from all over the world. The entertainment is good and not too in-your-face. We stayed in a very well decorated room with a balcony and beach view. I'd definitely recommend this as it means you can sit on the balcony and enjoy the breeze and the views, especially when there isn't space by the pool.

Room Tip: Get a room with a beach view and a balcony to make the most of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with two of my friends and we had a lovely time. The hotel is mainly tailored to couples, but we were still made very welcome. The staff in the hotel are second to none, they all say hello when you cross paths, and in particular, George, the waiter, was extremely friendly and remembered us each night. The rooms are lovely, very simple but had everything we needed. The entertainment was good, and there was something on each night. The only downside is the location of the hotel, as it's quite a walk to the resort centre, however if you just wanted a relaxing holiday then you would be fine.

The food was good, and there was plenty of choice. It's probably best to go down to dinner around half seven as you seem to get a better pick of food and it's quieter so you can look and decide what you want without feeling like you're getting in people's way.

The main pool was great, huge and never gets full, so you can swim lengths without having to stop to go around people.You can also get sunbeds easily until about half 10, at which point the ones around the main pool tend to be full, but there is another smaller, quieter pool around the other side.

Overall a lovely holiday and worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I have just spent a week at The Island, celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. After a stressful time at work this was a great place to unwind ! The weather was hot and the sky cloudless throughout the week.

At a couples hotel you really notice the absence of little people; everything is calm and peaceful ! Others have noted that Kato Gouves is a bit quiet / boring but the hotel is a real oasis of calm. Regular buses allow trips to Hersonnissos and other local towns. The Thomson reps offered a variety of conducted trips across the island and arranged car hire too.

The hotel staff were fantastic; polite, helpful, friendly and so efficient and keen to please. The hotel itself was very clean and well organised. The variety of food at breakfast and dinner was great and it was all well cooked. Negatives ? The Wi-Fi coverage wasn't great in some locations and the air-conditioning (much needed in such a hot location) could have been better.

The Thomson reps, Hannah and Becky, were very attentive, helpful and friendly. The musical entertainment from Big City Swell (aka Alex and Hannah) and from Adam Croft was fantastic. We made a point of seeking out the three of them most evenings - very talented people.

We were very sorry to leave The Island today after a great week being looked after by the lovely staff, reps and entertainers...

Room Tip: The higher the room number the further you are from the hotel facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

What a find . Booked two weeks before we went, Anniversary treat . Hotel is everything that people say it is . If you follow my posts my I travel world wide and this is what you expect a Hotel to be . Wi fi is the only weak spot but food , reception staff, rooms and facilities are spot on. Beach is small but if you take your blue towels you dont pay for a lounger. Bars out front are worth a small walk,prices are cheaper and you do get some flavour of the area . PS when they found out it was our aniversary the placed Fruit and Wine in the room as a present

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Address: Vlihadas Street | Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Pantheon Palace Beach Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#2 Spa Hotel in Gouves
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gouves
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
#6 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantheon Palace Beach Gouves
Hotel Pantheon Palace Beach
The Island Hotel Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.