We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantis in main streeet Grouves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Restaurant

Atlantis Restaurant
Main Shopping Street, Gouves, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 46 Restaurants in Gouves
Cuisines: European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atlantis in main streeet Grouves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My Husband and i have just come back from Grouves in Crete, And I would like to recommend Atlantiis Reastaurant on main street. It is the best restaurant we ate in. The food was exquisite but more then that it has a relaxing friendly atmosphere. Clare and Andreas " the owners" make you feel very relaxed and give that home from home feeling. And there is Nino who is not just charming but very entertaining with his clever magic tricks. I highly recommend Atlantis as a must.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    24
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Well cooked tasty food - and that's from two former HM Forces Chefs!!!! The Greek Plate gave a flavour of local food. The Stifado was flavoured to perfection and the calamari was succulent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Before holidaying in Gouves I had read the reviews for the restaurants and Atlantis was definitely on our list of places to eat. We finally made it to the restaurant on our second day and both of us were disappointed with both our courses of food that we ordered. We decided to give it a second chance after speaking to other people staying in our apartments and headed off again - but - not for us, it was our least favorite restaurant of all the places we ate in and definitely would not recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great variety of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

very friendly staff excellent english, food to die for especially their garlic bread and all thier greek dishes are beautiful

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Pleasant surrounding, excellent food but disappointingly no bread offered.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Restaurant also viewed

Gouves, Heraklion Prefecture
Gouves, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Gouves, Heraklion Prefecture
Gouves, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Atlantis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.