We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxation in traditional friendly Greek family surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divina Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gouves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Divina Apartments
Save
You added Divina Apartments to your Saves list
1.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Gouves
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leytonstone, London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Totally relaxation in traditional friendly Greek family surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent a wonderful 15 nights at the Divina apartments and were two of the few guests who hadn't been stayed there many times before, but were still greeted as if we were regulars.

Yes the accomodation is basic, but it is traditional Greek. If you want Boutique stay in Heraklion. Yes, the shower is tiny, but how much room do you need to wash? I'm a fuller figured lady and I managed fine. The water pressure in our room (106) was great.

The apartments are set back from the road - about 100 metres, meaning there is no road noise. Although the path is not tarmac it is far from a dirt track!!

The apartments are spotlessly clean and the sheets and towels are changed every other day - even the day before we were leaving.

The Divina is ideally situated on the edge of Gouves, so is nice and quite but only 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village, with plenty of shops, restaurants and bars and only across the road from the sea and a few yards from a sandy beach.

The Divina Taverna is reasonably priced and the servings are large. The service is great, especially by Yiannis and there is a good, family atmosphere. The food is cooked from scratch , so there may be a wait for your meal, but it's worth waiting for. There is plenty of choice on the menu, but Alex is more than willing to vary his menu to suit individuals.

Many Greeks use the Taverna, which to me means it is a good, traditional restaurant!!

If you are looking for a peaceful, friendly holiday, the Divina is the place for you!!

Room Tip: Room 105 has a pool and sea view from the balcony, but has no windows in the bedroom. We were in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First of the positives, the apartments although VERY basic are clean and the cleaner is excellent,towels were changed regularly and cleaning very thorough.
The restaurant is lovely and the prices are very reasonable you only need one course as the portions are huge.
The pool area is clean and the sea is just across the road.
Now for the not so good part, the apartments are set back from the road and to reach them you have to walk up a very long unlaid road this is not for the faint hearted especially while dragging your luggage.
The bathroom is appalling it is so small and there is no where to put anything like towels etc when you are trying to take a shower.
The shower itself is dismal it is as small as a caravan shower and it has one of those 70's shower heads that you attached to taps and the water trickles out.
Trying to shower and wash long hair for a week was a nightmare.
Although the water only trickles out it manages to flood the bathroom every time you shower.
The room we were in 208 had a ugly view of a dry arid grass and a manky old hosepipe.
The people were nice and friendly but the apartments seriously need updating.
Also bitten to bits by mosiquitos so take spray etc with you.
I would go to Crete again and would eat in the restaurant but I wouldn't stay at the Divinia again.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having read the reviews I went to the Divina with low expectations. Upon arrival my expectations remained low. We arrived at 10.30pm, the wind blowing, the taverna half empty. However, we were greeted warmly by the team. We were then taken to the room and all the reviews are correct. This is basic accomodation, but it was clean and everything we needed was there.
We dumped our gear and headed back to the bar. It was at this point that the holiday changed. Within 10 minutes of arriving in the bar and meeting the staff and sharing a drink (Raki Time!!) I felt totally at home. This place is simply Magical.
We ate in several other restaurants over the two weeks, but none can match the quality and value of the food on offer at the Divina. The staff, every one of them (but Yiannis is the real hero!) are fantastic and make you feel welcome and appreciated throughout your stay.
The pool was great and both my daughters made friends and enjoyed each and every day.
Back to the wind..., this was a real blessing. It kept the temperature to a bearable level, and made for great fun on the beach in the waves.
The resort is a little tired, but this is typical of Greece given its current troubles.
In summary we had a wonderful and unforgettable two weeks. Yes Gouves needs a freshen up, yes the rooms need a little updating, but these are trivial points. The real magic of the Divina is the people.
Would we go back? Simply yes.
Thanks to all at the Divina, Raki Time!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great holiday. Apartments were basic but adequate and were clean and tidy and serviced every other day. We had a one bedroom apartment with a small kitchen area and lounge, with the bench settee acting as a bed for a teenage girl, again basic, but you only get what you pay for. We of course also had a shower/washroom. The swimming pool was great, we had it virtually to ourselves on some days. The beach was a 2 minute walk away with reasonable charges for sun beds(2) and parasols – 5 euros. There is also a brilliant water park about a 20 minute drive away, also in walking distance is an excellent aquarium, great value for money, oddly it also has a fish restaurant!! Look out for the nervous fish.
We were joined for the second week by my sister in law and her husband and niece. Read his “quite pricey” review, not sure he was on the same holiday?
The weather was fantastic for the whole of our stay, with fantastic sunsets every evening. So hot on one particular day that we had a bush fire up in the hills behind us that required a helicopter with water bucket to bring it under control. Not really anything to worry about unless you owned a nearby property.
All the staff at the Divina apartments/ taverna attached, were friendly and helpful especially Janis, and were not, as some previous comments, pushy about eating at their particular taverna. The food at the Divina taverna was first class and there was plenty of it, we had 3 courses on some nights, but 2 would have sufficed, probably put on some weight, daren’t get on the scales!! The downside in regards to eating, not just at this taverna but all around the resort was that it was fairly expensive, but if you look around you can get reasonable food at reasonable prices, particularly recommend the pizza restaurant in main shopping/ restaurant area, which is about a 15-20min walk.
We went on a couple of trips, booked through our rep, Gillian. Beware though, she does over sell them, guess she’s on commission. What she tells you, you get, is not necessarily the case. The trip to Santorini is, (This from a male point of view) is just a very expensive shopping exhibition with additional cons on the sea cat, make sure you get the full facts about the trip to the volcano, you will need swimwear, and you don’t actually see the volcano, just some hot springs. You have been warned. My wife says that I should qualify this with a “my wife and daughter enjoyed it though” twas ever thus.
Would we go again and stay at the same place, most definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is one of the best holidays i have been on, without a doubt the most relaxing holiday i have been on. The apartments are clean, very basic but it had everything you would need. pool was great and very clean, the beach was just across the road and a short walk to the sandy beach.The taverna you can not fault, food great to be honest we spend most of our holiday eating at the taverna it was so reasonably priced, and if you were looking for something that wasn't on the menu the chef would be more than happy to cook you something you wanted.
I would certainly go back there, these apartments are run by a very welcoming family and are always there to help, my daughter Sophie, had a great holiday to so if you're looking for something relaxing and quiet then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived at Divina Apartments at 2.30am, and understandably there was no one about, but there were instructions on the gate and we and we managed to find our room ok. The key was in the lock and we let ourselves in. Luckily, our sister and brother in law and our neice had been there for some time before us, and warned us that the water from the taps was salt, and therefore not to be drunk. Luckily as well, they had got us some essentials (including toilet roll and water).
We were on the ground floor, and the room was pokey and in my opinion not worth the money we had paid for self catering, especially when I had only paid a bit more for all inclusive last year. We ended up spending about £700 on just food and drink in a week for a couple and a teenager.
The room was sparse, and the sofa bed (sic) very small and uncomfortable, although the king size double bed was comfortable. The bedding was clean, but threadbare and changed (as were the towels) regularly.

There was no TV or radio, but a serviceable kettle and twin electric hob which worked well enough the one time we could be bothered to use it, but we were eaten alive by mosquitoes and there were numerous spiders around too.
The toilet/shower unit was clean, but the water didn't stay hot for long, and the floor of the bathroom flooded every time anyone had a shower.
Do not put toilet roll down the toilet!!!??? the plumbing left a lot to be desired, and I for one found the idea of putting soiled toilet tissue in a bin by the toilet when the temperature was in the 30's outside to be quite disgusting.
We opted not to pay for AC, and we did get used to sleeping in the heat.
All in all, I would have expected this level of accommodation to be from the 60's and 70's, not 2013.
All was not bad though, the pool area was fantastic, with a lot of very usable pool side chairs and tables for those who wanted to sun themselves, and a shaded decking area, for anyone who had found that the heat was a little too much. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, and the times that we ate in the taverna, we were very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food, and the complimentary raki (!).
One day, we had the pool to ourselves for hours and hours, which was bliss.
We went to the aquarium which was in walking distance and was a wonderful experience at a reasonable price, and I would recommend it to anyone.
Also we went to the Water City water park, and had a brilliant time, although it was a little pricey.
We managed to find a Pizza place that fed 6 of us to exploding point with excellent quality food and drinks for less that 30 Euro's!! Worth taking a walk up into the village of an evening, although, as has been reported before, the staff became a little cooler when we told them of our trips to other eateries.

I hate to be negative when Greece is experiencing such economic hard times, but I was expecting more form this holiday, and the accommodation left a lot to be desired.

I doubt I will be back, but as they say, you get what you pay for. Some of the hotels that we saw when picking up other people for trips looked fabulous, and I have come back feeling tired, but tanned and well fed.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor seemed to be larger, but the bathroom smaller, and the through breeze was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks here. It was, without a shadow of a doubt the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. The apartments were clean and well presented and ample for our family of three. The pool was perfect and I found myself swimming alone at 7.30 am every morning. The water was warm even at that time.

We found ourselves eating at the restaurant 12 days out of 14 because the food quality was so high. My only observation about the food was that it would be nice to have some options other than chips with a lot of the dishes - nothing fancy but maybe some greek salad or rice would have been nice.

The staff at Divina really could not have done any more for us. My husband and I have always said we want to travel the world and not return to places but we enjoyed it that much we are already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divina Apartments

Address: Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Gouves
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Divina Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Divina Apartments Gouves, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divina Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.