We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, convenient, and lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpino Hotel Ristorante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpino Hotel Ristorante to your Saves list
Alpino Hotel Ristorante
Via G. Pascoli 42, 55051 Barga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Barga B&B and Inns
Woodside, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple, convenient, and lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Alpino in a single room and enjoyed dinner there with two friends who were staying at a resort near town. My room was simple, clean and pleasant, and I slept soundly. The hotel was easy to find (once my GPS got me to the right town), and overnight parking nearby was a breeze. The hotel staff were kind enough to cancel one night's reservation at the last minute when car trouble prevented me from getting into town. Breakfast was simple, but enjoyable. All in all, my room at the Alpino presented an excellent value, and I would definitely recommend it to travelers on budget and/or single travelers.

Our dinner was also quite enjoyable - my friends claim they had the best carpaccio they have ever eaten there. My vegetarian fare was also very good, and the service was great, especially considering that we three friends enjoyed our food, wine and conversation long into the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Alpinos is ledgendry. The food is mence and the service was great. Me and my cousin really enjoyed it, we love Alpinos! Its in a brilliant spot and its nice to walk to. I love Barga, its soooooo cool!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As a frequent traveller to Tuscany , Barga is a favourite place to explore the area. The Alpino is a central hotel with a very busy bar /cafe underneath which is a popular meeting place for locals.
The hotel itself is traditional and comfortable. Our room on the second floor overlooked the pedestrian area and gardens. The room is spacious , en-suite is modern and excellent .
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms which is a shame , hair dryer available on request , tv and remote controlled skylights ! Plenty of hanging space etc and beds comfortable.
We spent 2 nights here , breakfast is continental , not sure which continent it is actually from as it consisted of a bread basket ( not fresh, more like square dry wafer) jam, a plate between 2 of us with 1x strawberry sliced into 3 , 3 cubes of pineapple, 3 slices of apple and 2 slices of kiwi & a pot of coffee. There was a choice of muesli or cornflakes and a glass of blood orange juice each.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but it did seem popular , there are a variety of good restaurants in the area .

Room Tip: Our room 22, is on the side of the hotel overlooking the piazza , there is a road running along side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Alpine is a nice hotel. The room we had was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and everything was spotlessly clean. Our room overlooked the main street. I was a little disappointed when there never seemed to be anyone at the front desk to offer some directions... so it's not a fancy place. It's located a short walk from the best place for breakfast (Lucchesi's) and a 15 minute walk to fascinating, historic, "old Barga".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Food is fantastic and service is great definitely well worth a visit if you are in the region.
Roberts and his staff couldn't be more helpful.
Great menu, great location.
While in Barga you must visit the walled area at the top of the town the views are spectacular.
Being Scottish I was not surprised that many fellow Scots visit this town and many have ancestors who originated from here including Paolo Nuttini the singer from Greenock.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was the only hotel we could find open when visiting Barga in early May. Initially we thought the hotel was closed as the cafe/bar at street level was shut up. However, when we entered the building we received a friendly welcome and were shown available rooms. The one we chose was on the top floor, decorated in rustic style, with new shower room -very clean and comfortable.

We don't usually eat in hotel restaurants as food can be over-priced and poor quality. This was a clear exception. We were extremely pleased with the excellent quality freshly cooked food - especially the pasta. The owner was attentive without being overbearing and made helpful suggestions.
So glad we stumbled across this hotel. The only drawback is it has no parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is wonderfully clean and comfortable. The room that I stayed in was for a single and generous on the top floor. The bathroom was very clean with top notch fixtures and very clean also. I ate several times at the onsite restaurant and was very impressed with the menu and prices.
I found this hotel on tripadvisor and it was an excellent choice as my budget was small. The proprietor gave personal service as I were one of his own and at the included giant breakfast even cooked eggs especially for me! I don't know about the other hotels in Barga but this one is at the roundabout in the very center of town and an easy walk to anywhere and back.

Room Tip: I can't advise as I only had a single, the children did play in the court in the evening but wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpino Hotel Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpino Hotel Ristorante

Address: Via G. Pascoli 42, 55051 Barga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Barga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Barga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpino Hotel is situated in the centre of Barga. The hotel was opened by the Castelvecchi family at the end of 18th century, who still own and manage it today. The owners pride themselves on their friendliness and hospitality - you are treated as a guest rather than a client, and the atmosphere is intended to be more that of a home rather than a hotel.Now completely refurbished throughout, it offers comfortable and modern accommodation. Seven double bedrooms with A.C. - TV all en-suite.Two Studios, en-suite with cooking facilities, A.C. - TVContinental Breakfast service.Lift to all floors. Restourant/Wine Bar: a welcoming veranda and diningroom with air conditioning. Wireless internet access is available in all our bedrooms.o further the intimate feel, each bedroom is distinctively and charmingly furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alpino Hotel Ristorante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Ristorante Tuscany/Barga, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpino Hotel Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.