We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Outstanding" say very experienced travelers to Tuscany!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scacciaguai

Scacciaguai
via di Mezzo 23, Barga, Italy
0583/711368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Barga
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Outstanding" say very experienced travelers to Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have had a second home in this part of Tuscany for over 27 years; we visit Tuscany twice annually as a general rule. My wife is an excellent cook of Italian food (and author of an Italian Cookbook). We love food and wine, and have dined at many restaurants in Tuscany. We feel that Scacciaguai is currently one of the outstanding all around dining experiences in all of Tuscany. Hyperbole? Not meant to be. The atmosphere, decor and table settings are wonderfully tasteful. The staff (owners) are so friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. And the food is not your typical Tuscan fare (not that there is anything wrong with that cuisine). They use wonderful, fresh ingredients, but with fresh continental twists. A menu that is a joy to explore. The wine list is filled with fine choices at reasonable prices, not only from Tuscan, but from other wine areas of Italy as well. Located in the heart of Old Barga. Don't miss this experience if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    62
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

What tempted me to dine at this wonderful restaurant was the the fact that you could see the chefs cook on a screen by the table. Don't be put of by the sight of only a few seats through the window because around both corners there are elegant tables that look like the decor of a posh London restaurant. Before we ordered our dishes we got a glass of prosecco and focaccia on the house - what a start!

To start I had steamed prawns with potato puree and truffle oil. It was a pleasant dish but there was far too much puree. There was no way I could've eaten it all. I suggest you have the lighter dish of beef carpaccio with cream sauce and capers that one of my companions had.

For my main meal I had the special of beef fillet with shavings of truffle - a carnivore's dream. It was one of the most tender bits of beef I have ever eaten and there must've been a whole truffle grated on top and not at a big cost. Only three euros more than the standard main in Barga.

We were too stuffed for a dessert so we just had an espresso as usual. This was the best meal of the holiday and I recommend it to everyone who loves good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice food and surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Vanda at La Gelateria recommended L'Altana and Scacciaguai and we tried them both on different days and all I can say is fantastic! The menu was varied and all local ingredients so we knew we were off to a good start. We only had a main as it was just for lunch and wanted to make sure we had enough space left for an ice cream at Le Gelateria. I had the ravioli and my wife had the spaghetti with prawns and a tomato sauce and they were both absolutely fantastic.

The decor inside is great and so is the view over the courtyard when you sit outside through the back. Absolutely breathtaking.

Highly recommended to all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“"outstanding!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Inviting atmosphere, friendly and attentive service, marvelous food and wine- memorable experience. Would highly recommend...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Elegant, delicious, simpatico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have eaten here three times. Each time, superb food and service. A little different that the usual Tuscan fare...in a good way. A bit more elegant, with lovely serving dishes and napery. Yet one is quite comfortable dining there in jeans and sneakers. They even have a sushi appetizer. When in Barga, do try this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scacciaguai also viewed

Barga, Province of Lucca
Barga, Province of Lucca
 
Barga, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Scacciaguai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scacciaguai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.