We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cordati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Cordati to your Saves list
Casa Cordati
Via di Mezzo, 17 | Barga (LUCCA), 55051 Barga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Barga B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Room with a view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My sister & I stayed at Casa Cordati (very close to old town entrance) this past September; the bus from Lucca drops you just outside the gate. The train stops some distance from town but was a prettier ride than the bus which also had a very slow transfer in a town not far from Lucca. Our room was on the second floor with no lift but the stairs were comfortable to climb; it was cozy with a very large bathroom and wonderful view of surrounding mountains. Breakfast was not included, but almost across the medieval lane was a gelateria with delicious pastries & cappucinos; equally delicious dinner was at Mordimi in the tiny piazza almost next door to hotel. Giordano Martinelli is the perfect host & speaks perfect English, but alas, no Spanish! He was gracious to take our luggage upstairs to our room and showed us his "casa" housing a gallery of his grandfather's beautiful paintings of which you can also buy prints. The price is right & when we go back to Barga, we will again stay here, where we felt exactly at home.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
25
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great stay and really good service from Giordano. Room was spacious, had great views and really peaceful. Would thoroughly recommend Casa Cordati. It really is a an opportunity to stay in one if the most unique buildings in Barga and for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and loved Barga. Casa Cordati was a great experience. We had an enormous attic room to ourselves with fantastic views. The house is stately, beautiful, and filled with history. We felt privileged to be staying here and couldn't believe the small price we paid for it.

Giordano was a friendly and easy going host. He gave us a detailed map of Barga and our room also had a well-written hiking guide to the village of Sommocolonia on a hilltop nearby. We followed this hike and it was great fun. Our experience in Barga couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just up the road from the bus stop so easy to find, this is without doubt the best value for money in Italy.
You are staying in an art gallery steeped in history and the welcome you get from Giordano is so friendly you feel at home straight away. We had a room that consisted of TWO bedrooms and private bathroom. The accommodation was immaculately clean and very spacious, in the heart of Barga close to restaurants, bars, and amazing Ice cream shops.

If you want to totally relax and switch off then this is the place for you, we only stayed two nights and easily could have stayed two weeks.
This is not a 5 star corporate rip off hotel this is a unique opportunity to stay in a peaceful retreat and experience a trip through history.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth Devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is a gem!!
Giordano the owner is a lovely man and is always happy to help you when planning things to see and do in the area.
We had a very spacious room with a really comfortable bed, the room also had a fantastic view over the town rooftops and on to the hills and fields beyond.
When you are here please take time to look around the gallery at the fantastic pictures painted by Bruno Cordati the owners Grandfather, truly wonderful.
If you like the formulated hotel rooms this might not be for you, but if you like truly original homely surroundings then this will be perfect for you!!!
Barga itself is a lovely place with 4 or 5 good restaurants which are all a matter of a minutes walk from the accommodation.
The new part of Barga is also very nice with a few bars and when we were there something going on every night in the plazas.
We would definitely stay here again, loved it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humlebaek, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

By an accident we found this fantastic hotel in the middel of the accient town in Barga. The hotel is an art museum, a hotel and a home for the owner and his family and in the moment you step in you are not Quite knowing in which part of the hotel you are standing in - but you are in the three places in the same time - and you just feel home. The host is very varm, helpfull and welcoming and the relaxed atsmosphere makes you feel just all right - like: why haven't I ben here before? Remember to go to the top room and also to have a good look at the owners granddads paintings in the museum. You make your own breakfast in your room, and Don't forget to enjoy your coffee looking over the mountains. Don't miss it! Mette Andersen, Denmark

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently stayed here while at a wedding in Barga. The place itself seemed a bit quirky and different, I wasn't really sure what to expect. When we arrived the place was shut up for the afternoon, but the owner soon came to greet us at the door, and was really helpful. We had to walk through an art gallery to get to our room, but this really wasn't a problem, it was different to anywhere we have ever stayed before, but we really did enjoy it. The owner was so helpful, his English was excellent so was able to help us out a lot with parking etc. The stay itself was very relaxing, we were never bothered by anyone. The room was huge, we booked a double and ended up with a double a twin and bathroom all to ourselves, so we were really happy with that. The location was brilliant, it was right in the heart of the old town, it took us some time to find it, as you cant drive down the narrow streets, unless your happy to scratch your car but as ours was hired, we weren't taking any chances. We got parking at the entrance to the old town anyway, which was a short 5 minute walk. Would recommend this place to stay, it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cordati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cordati

Address: Via di Mezzo, 17 | Barga (LUCCA), 55051 Barga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Barga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Barga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cordati is a 17th-century palazzo in the historical centre of Barga, that hosts the permanent exhibition of Bruno Cordati’s paintings and occasional exhibitions of contemporary artists. Since 2003, Casa Cordati has made available an apartment and four of its many rooms to visitors to Barga. The apartment is on the ground floor, the Foresteria is on the first floor, and the New Room and the Big Room are on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Cordati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cordati Tuscany/Barga, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cordati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.