We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creelstock 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Creel Inn

The Creel Inn
Catterline | Stonehaven, Catterline, Stonehaven AB39 2UL, Scotland
+44 1569 750254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Catterline
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the historic fishing village of Catterline, perched on cliffs overlooking the bay and harbour, The Creel Inn is set among some of North East Scotland's most beautiful coast line
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Creelstock 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Came here to see my son's band in their first ever performance, and was blown away by the beautiful surroundings of this hidden gem. The music was first class, the battered haddock was amazing and the service was prompt and friendly. Already looking forward to Creelstock 2015!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    57
    30
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Fresh crab claws with garlic butter were delicious as were the scallops and the service was really fast. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Not our first visit bit we always enjoy going back as we know we will get good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were here today for the wedding anniversary of my sister and brother in law and we had excellent food! Exquisite service and a good atmosphere!
We will definitely come back!!
Thanks for a lovely evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big restaurant in a little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed on holiday in Catterline and was delighted to find this restaurant a 2 minute walk away. It is not a tiny wee place as it looks from outside, but quite a big restaurant so obviously very popular with people living in the surrounding areas. The food was first class. We visited twice during our week for dinner and sampled the local fish (lobster was delicious) and also the steaks. Service was very good too. We also stopped on a couple of occasions for a drink outside where we chatted with locals and other tourists. Small car park for those travelling by car, but enough street parking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lobster lobster lobster - Give it a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We dropped in on our way up to Aberdeen and whilst the GPS had some difficulty in locating the Village let alone the restaurant, we finally arrived and it was well worth it. The Lobster was fresh and came from the local bay. the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. If by chance there happens to be an American guest there trying to get a free meal by complaining that they don't make Lobster Thermidor back home like that and that she might end up in hospital or even worse "dead", just ignore it and enjoy the meal. Afterall, it was Free entertainment :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Creel Inn also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Creel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Creel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.