We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill Full Steam Ahead” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Downhill Full Steam Ahead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I returned to Forest Hills after a break of nearly ten years. The lodges used to be fitted to the highest spec and were wonderful for family holidays. It is really disappointing to see how things have been allowed to deteriorate with minimal investment in the lodges (despite owners paying £450 each for every week of the year for their upkeep - I would love to know where this money is going as it is certainly not being put back in to the accommodation!) Returning with my own young family now we had to leave after only 2 days. Things started badly when I had to get the vacuum cleaber out to hoover up all the dog hair from a previous resident - I have nothing against dogs but don't want my toddler daughter playing amongst their sheddings. On a trip across to the main hotel the staff found it difficult to make a coffee and it was obvious that the hotel is also suffering. Top prize for grumpiest receptionist in Scotland goes to the 30-something sourpuss behind the desk. The leisure facilities used to revolve around the curling rink which is sadly gone and now although the pool is an improvement the restaurant upstairs has completely lost all its ambience. This place could be so good given its location but all the evidence is that the management just can't be bothered (or can't afford) to maintain reasonable standards. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    328
    147
    64
    30
See reviews for
250
499
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

First time we have stayed in a MacDonalds Hotel and we were impressed. Hotel staff very pleasant and professional. Although many were foreign they did try to understand our english! Food and service was excellent and had steak cooked at the table!. The only faults on the room was a cracked toilet and a shower with not much power more of a trickle! A pleasant weekend trip but beware of the extra windy roads to get there and Aberfoyle only has a couple of basic shops so you are out in the middle of nowhere. Location is tranquil and lovely scenery. The grounds of the hotel were nice and our room had views of Loch Ard. Leisure facilities are across from the hotel which is handy and would visit again although a bit pricey at £104 per person per night B&B and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

After a double booking by Dunblane Hydro we were transferred to Forest Hills Hotel and we were not disappointed, in fact very lucky to have been placed here. The service second to none, check in and check out just brilliant. Waiters and waitress very polite and attentive. Food excellent. The room very spacious and clean. The hotel setting is breathtaking with Ben Lomonds' dusting of snow in the spring sunshine.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We went as group to have our annual reunion at this hotel. It was a relatively expensive weekend esp off season ( £240 per couple per night bed breakfast and dinner) and so I had expectaions of food and accomodation that are in keeping with other hotels we had stayed in.
This hotel was however poor value for money.
The food was pedestrian and included may very cheap ingredients ( carrot soup, tomato soup, smoked makerel, mushroom rissotto , haddock, ) The choice varied little on the 2 nights and it was particularly poor for vegetarians or non meat eaters.
To make matters worse we were issued with a check sheet to fill in our choices in advance of dinner - rather like a hospital meals service.
Breakfast were the relative strong point with free range eggs and nice ingredients . Several plates however on the buffet were dirty and I had tro reject both plates and glasses.
The bedrooms were comfortable but had no individuality, There were no robes ( which we have always had in comparable hotels ) and there was very limited toiletries ( one tiny bar of souap for 2 people)
The final instance of what could only be described as penny pinching came when I was told I would be charged extra to use a credit card.
The location of the hotel is lovely though as is the pool but I would certainly not reccomend this hotal. .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Stayed for 1 night on DBB for birthday. Beautiful room, large, modern with great views. Really comfortable lounge with a fab fire - great for relaxing. Had a beautful meal that night and gorgeous breakast next morning.

Staff friendly and would definately recommend this place to anyone!

had a great relaxing break!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed in February with our family - 5 rooms in total. Beautiful, clean rooms with a lovely big bed and amazing views over the loch. Nice extra touches in our room such as dressing gowns, slippers, i-pod speaker station, still and sparkling water and yummy biccies! Staff were very polite and friendly, especially at breakfast and the very friendly and patient night-porter who let us in the hotel in the wee small hours following our family celebrations. Speaking of breakfast - wow; delicious hot breakfast of local produce and a superb cold buffet with cereals, fresh fruits and pastries, cold meats and cheeses. Excellent leisure facilities, recently refurbished and very child friendly. Only one grumble and that's the price of the drinks but it's to be expected at this kind of resort. it didn't spoil a thing and we can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel twice now!
Rooms are lovely, clean and comfy, they might not be modern but they are right for the surroundings!
The grounds are lovely; the waterfalls and gardens! The drive up is so impressive, you feel like your miles away when i was only half an hour up the road!
Food in the bar/bistro was good and not too over priced! Food in the restuarant is expensive but you are paying for fancy food! Breakfast was nice but i do prefer a buffet breakfast as i feel you get more for your money that way!

All in all a good hotel!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.