We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Midlothian
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just returned from 2 nights at Forest Hills and wished we could have stayed longer. Located in The Trossachs, the perfect location for an escape from the city, at just over an hour from Edinburgh (and nearer still to Glasgow), great for walks.
The staff were all very friendly and our room was spacious with a huge, comfortable bed. If I was to be picky, the shower pressure in the room could have been stronger.
The leisure club facilities are fantastic, very modern, great for unwinding in the spa or steam room and a good size pool if you fancy doing some lengths.
We ate in Rafters bistro both nights, can recommend the juicy, homemade burger. Rafters is less formal than the main restaurant with decent quality gastropub food.
The breakfast is cooked to order, quality ingredients, and great choice of cereals, pastries, and fruit.
The Wee Blether tearoom along the road (turn right as you come out the hotel) is a quirky wee cafe, great for lunchtime snack - the cakes looked amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to most such a lovely review follwing your stay with us here At Forest Hills Hotel and Spa.
We provide the ideal location to allow you to get away from it all whilst relaxing in the bar, lounge or the pool.
The only thing we cannot guarantee is the weather!
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    287
    122
    62
    28
See reviews for
213
419
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auchencairn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the 1st of March for two nights. It was truly amazing. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and the room was lovely.
Staff were brilliant throughout the hotel and the spa facilities were great.
We enjoyed a meal here on our first night. It was very tasty but not outstanding and it was rather pricey! The panacotta dessert was rather bland with a slightly 'chalky' flavour and the poached pear that accompanied it was very tangy. This is the only negative that I can say about the hotel and we never mentioned it to the staff so shouldn't really complain!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would definitely come back and highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa. We pride ourselves on offering warm and friendly service delivered with a smile and I have passed your kind comments onto the team.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

On previous reports on other hotels I have been disappointed on my return as things have changed and not always for the better. Over several years this was our 4th visit to this hotel
and it is even better than ever !! The hotel which is set in wonderful grounds overlooking a
beautiful loch has been refurbished and everything about the hotel is perfect. There is a 4 to
5 mile run from Aberfoyle to the hotel along a narrowish road beside the loch. This makes the
journey to the hotel worth while. The ever changing scenes are a photographers dream and
the scenery continually changes with the weather lighting etc etc.The hotel is beautifully presented and all the staff are perfectly groomed and pleasant. They are all proud of their establishment and seem to want to do anything for you to make your stay perfect. Dining room
wonderful, again with excellent views and the grounds expertly maintained and kept very tidy.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and my wife and I hope to return later in September this year for another stay. Could find no faults. Well done Forest Hills!!

Room Tip: Best views to the back of the hotel from the entrance overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review follwing your most recent stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa.
I am delighted that you did not find the changes to have had a negative effect on our lovely hotel. Over the past 14 months myself and the team along with significant refurbishment have worked hard to make Forest Hills better than ever. We are so pleased you liked it.
We look forward to seeing you alter this year.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I purchased the revitalise spa package for myself and my fiancé for his birthday.
We both had a brilliant time! Lunch was one of the best meals I've had - cooked to perfection. The spa facilities were great - lovely and clean and well looked after.
We both had a massage and a facial each - these were amazing. So relaxing and professional. We felt very special! The relaxation area was lovely to wait in also!! Such a nice atmosphere! Staff were all very pleasant and even the drive to the hotel was memorable due to the fantastic scenery.

Well recommended and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your spa day here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of the visit, from food ,facilties and even the drive!
Why not try an overnight spa break next time!
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed on 27th March 2014 for 2 nights. Amazing location and stunning grounds set on the Loch. We were shown to our room which was fine but my parents were shown to a room which was dirty and not ready from previous customer. After 30 mins they got in. Area we were in rooms 0-12 smelt damp in the corridor and at all times the housekeeping trolley, Henry Hoover and dirty sheets etc were left lying about ! Weird and never known anything like it. It was like housekeeping was a permanent presence which is not what customers want to see.

On the plus side the bed was massive and very comfortable , the food was good and the leisure facilities were excellent. The spa in particular was great and my therapist was very friendly.

We played snooker and put a £5 deposit down then there was an incident where someone from Hotel asked us had we put a deposit down? It was as if he was accusing us of not paying? We sent him on his way -whoever he was -So strange and caused discomfort over £5 -this is a place where a tea or coffee cost £5 ! Also could not cater our needs for a simple cheese sandwich. It came smothered in pickle and was hand made so puzzled as to why the cust has to scrape off what they don't want. All in all we got a good deal via Superbreaks so happy but needs a firmer management hand to make things better. Too many inconsistencies at the moment

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments . Delivering the highest standards of service for all our guests is at the heart of our core values and I would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case.
Unfortunately we did have a flood on the gorund floor and it has taken some time for the damp odour to fade. I was most sorry to learn of your problems with check in, we have now appointed a new housekeeper who has a great deal of expereicne which we hope will eliminate such problems.
I do hope that despite this that you did enjoy your stay and will visit us again.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed here recently with a friend for a SPA weekend. Everything was really great. Unbelievable value for money. The room was not one of the newly refurbished ones, but it was really lovely. Plenty of tea and coffee and water. Super toiletries and a lovely touch having some delicious chocolates too. The views over the loch are great and the grounds lovely. All staff we met were just great and very helpful. The SPA , gym and pool are really relaxing, we had a really lovely time. Will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Any room with that amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your wodnerful review that you have given our hotel and spa and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. I know the team always strive to create a haven for our guests to indulge and relax in. so I have passed on your kind remarks to team who are as always happy to have been of service to you.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was the best place we stayed in the uk. Fantastic service leisure center with pool, steam room , and sauna. Lots of activities including great guided walks. Restaurant the elegant one was excellent, wonderful lamb. Near to Glasgow and about an hour to Edinburgh. Aberfoyle is small and quaint plus near great boat trips on the loch. Grounds of the hotel are spectacular.

Room Tip: the rental suites have their own private sauna in the rooms, large bedrooms, and great views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review follwing your stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Resort. I am delighted that t you found us to be the best in Scotland and do hope you will venture back to see us again in the future.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.