We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from a nights stay. Beautiful hotel and fitted out in standard MacDonald deco, staff and service impeccable. Only criticisms of the hotel, car park virtually no parking at the front of the hotel and hotel guest had to park in an over flow car park or should I say over flow muddy field; it wasn't made clear or I didn't read it that the pool was in another building, once at the pool the water was freezing and the staff member was rather rude when trying to turn the jacuzzi on, apparently it is broke and 3 mins on 3 mins off, rather than snap at paying customer pop a sign up then we wouldn't press random buttons! Other than that a great stay and great food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review follwing your recnet stay with us here at Forest Hills, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please accept my sincere apologies about the temperature of the swimming pool, unfortunately we had a problem with one of our boilers which caused this and it has now been repaired, we are also in th process of reviewing the timer on the jacuzzi as I agree this is quite frustrating.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    286
    121
    62
    27
See reviews for
212
418
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Having read some of the latest reviews, we thought it best to let folk know about our stay at Forest Hills during our wedding. We arrived on the 21st for the whole weekend and from the moment we arrived the hotel were nothing but fabulous! As we live in the Middle East, we had to plan our big day from afar - but thanks to Morag, Helen & their wonderful staff - our day was everything we dreamed it would be!
The hotel is beautiful since it's renovation, a real homely feel. The food was excellent, service 5star throughout our stay & the overall atmosphere within the hotel is happy. Obviously being a large wedding, we did take over the majority of the hotel however I don't believe this would have impacted on anyone else's stay. From what we could see, the staff were excellent to everybody. I know all of our guests were overwhelmed by the standard of service & how well the whole wedding was managed! Any noise issues with a bus (our guests had to get home somehow!!) is certainly not down to the hotel - no matter where you book a weekend stay in a hotel, there will always be a risk of it being the same weekend as a wedding!
As the bride & groom, we were so happy with everything & honestly could not fault one thing. A particular mention to Matthew who works on reception. He is an absolute gem & honestly could not do enough for me! Thank you so much - you are fabulous at your job.
Overall we can happily say that Forest Hills made our wedding the best it could be. We are so glad we chose this hotel & I know all our friends & family agree!
Donna & Gary xx

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Gary and Donna

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review following youir wedding weekend, myself, Helen and the team are delighted that it was everything you had hoped for.
It was lovely to see you both looking stunning on the day and surrounded by your family and friends and the very cute attendants.
I hope you had a nice honeymoon and a safe trip home. We look forward to seeing you on your 1st Anniversary
Warm regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My family and i stayed in this hotel 19th - 21st Feb. We had booked dinner bed and breakfast for both nights. The hotel is spotless and beautiful, all members of staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. My children aged 15 and 9 loved the pool and spa areas although the jaccuzi was being refurbished when we were there so we didnt get to use it but this is an excuse to return to the hotel so we can use. We stayed in room 103 and 307 the views over the Loch and Mountians were breath taking. There are lovely walkways around the gardens of the hotel which were ideal for my mother to dander around. The food was off extreme high quality in the restaurant at dinner time. We ate both days at lunch time in the bistro and the food was also of high quality. It was lovely and relaxing to sit in the lounge by the fire at night and have after dinner drinks while the kids played with the board games supplied by the hotel which meant the kids were happy and so were we. Would definitely return to stay here again, some time soon i hope and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: room 103 magical views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for the positive comments that you have given our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am pleased to report that the jacuzzi is now abck in operation so you msut treta yourslef to another visit!
I am delighted that you enjoyed the board games, its so nice to watch families play together. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for fabulous family wedding. The hotel is in a beautiful location over looking Loch with miles of hills and greenary. Hotel itself has beautiful grounds and even a waterfall. Only 4 miles from Aberfoyle if you needed chage of scenery. Plenty of car park space. Warm and welcoming reception area and staff. Corridors to rooms slightly drab but still has character. Our room was huge, fresh, spotlessly clean. Huge super king bed that was super comfy. TV, tea/coffee facilites/ Iron, trouser press, hairdryer. Lots of storage space. Large bathroon bathroom. The other double i saw was just as lovely. Hotel lounge and sitting area was so warm and comfortable, big soft chairs and sofa to sink into. Dining area has the best views and gorgeous decor. Function area lovely too. We had buffet at night of wedding and breakfast inmorning and all food was lovely. Breafast would of been hotter had guests kept the lid on the food dishes! Continental was best but thats my opinion. Leisure facilites-used pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna. Large spacious clean area in all. Pool nice temerature. Brilliant break. No cell phone reception for me with virgin. Apparently occ vodafone has one! This can have its pros as well as cons, for me, no real problem as used room phone to call landline(£1.00 for 1 minute) and passed my one necessary message. Wifi is available but i didnt use.

Room Tip: We were in 107, overlooking loch and lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your stay with us to celebrate the marriage of Donna and Gary, it was a lovely wedding and the staff enjoyed making the day extra special.
I am delighted you enjoyed the food and the private breakfast following the wedding, its always tricky to rely on others to put the lids back on the dishes!
Hopefully you will come and visit us again in the future.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent three nights at Forest Hills resort during the February half term holiday. We got a great deal through the hotel website for an Executive family room with dinner, b&b.

The booking process was very straightforward and I received a confirmation email immediately.

The location is stunning and the staff are extremely professional and welcoming. The room we were given overlooked the loch and grounds and was huge with a king size bed and a double sofa bed for the children. The main door opened into a hallway area with large wardrobes so lots of room for storing outdoor clothing and suitcases.

The food was great, both in the garden restaurant and the more relaxed Rafters.

The pool was excellent with a spa, sauna and steam room at poolside so adults could use when older children are swimming at still keep an eye on them. Lots of floats and play things for the pool if requested. The gym is very well equipped with good quality equipment and free weights. The electronic machines all have tv monitors so remember your headphones.

Some of the hallways and stairways are looking a little tired but the restaurants, lounge and reception are excellent and have obviously been recently refurbished.

Amazing location by the loch with outdoor chess and draughts and a (really quite tired) playground. Duck pond and waterfalls made up for that though.

All in all, would absolutely recommend this hotel for families or couples. The staff are excelllent and efficient and are a wonderful asset to this property. We had a great time and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were facing the loch and despite the fact there was a large wedding taking place during our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for the positive comments that you have given Forest Hills Hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The lounges and restaurants have indeed just been recently refurbished and we would hope to continue this work into other areas of the hotel in the future.
I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed in Spruce 7 apartment with my son, refurbished 2 bedroom, 3 bathrooms, lovely open plan kitchen,dining,livingroom...can not fault and extremely clean! The views from apartment were beautiful overlooking gardens and Loch Ard and snow capped hills. They have a large balcony with tables and chairs and the local ducks and birds arrive daily for their dinner!!! I really didn't want to leave and can highly recommend the apartments. We used the swimming pool which is lovely, between 12pm-2pm they have a fun session with floats etc for kids. Never found pool too busy and if you go after 6pm you virtually have it all to yourself. We ate in Rafters first night and food was good and excellent service, the staff are very friendly and work hard. They have a pool table, air hockey, snooker and table tennis but bar lacks atmosphere and equipment could do with replacing as rather worn. I found it strange that kids club only runs during week when kids at school and not at weekends? Something the hotel might think about changing since it was during a school break when we stayed. We went to Rafters every night as only place to go it is a shame they don't spend some money on making it more comfortable and provide more to entertain kids. They main hotel is beautiful and has another bar and more up market restaurant but more suited for adults than children. All the staff were friendly and helpful and a huge thank you to apartment staff. The hotel is near Aberfoyle which nice to vist. We drove to Callender, Loch Katrine and Inversnaid by Loch Lommond and the scenery is fantastic. Would definitely stay again in apartments and we were lucky we had 2 days of sunshine too.

Room Tip: Stay in a refurbished apartment..2bedroom ones have 3 bathrooms and sauna, one room upstairs and ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review following your stay at half term in one of our Spruce lodges, the refurbished ones are very comfortable.
I appreciate your feedback regarding the children's activities and will certyianly discuss it with the team to see how these can be enhanced. The current programme is planned around guest who stay a week in the resort with arrival day being a Saturday which is why the activities are midweek only.
Kind Regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I am also a little confused over J T's review. I have just come back from a lovely weekend in the hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff and found our room clean, quiet and spacious with tea\coffee facilities. We also made use of the room service which was very prompt I have to say. Although there were a lot of children by the pool it is to be expected during half term but there was still room to swim, the steam room was lovely as well. The spa facilities are among the best I've seen anywhere. All the ladies there were helpful and friendly and my exotic coconut wrap was amazing and relaxing. We had lunch in the lounge a couple of times and found the service to be very good, we also had a lovely dinner in the Bistro and bar. Nothing was closed.

We were there for a wedding and cannot fault anything really, although i can see how this would have impacted on others staying at the hotel.

The hotel surroundings and view are great as well. Shame about the rain but it is February so not really surprising.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your visit to join in the celebrations for Donna and Gary's wedding.
Its always nice when you can make a weekend of it particulalry if you manage to treat yourself to a spa treatment.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.