We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Everyone at the hotel was superb from the moment we checked in til when we left. Cannot fault all staff we came into contact with. Especially reception and waitress who checked us in for breakfast both days. Room was fabulous (bathroom ok but some facilities not 100% but all working). Everything was above our expectations. Please pass on our thanks and gratitude

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments Traveller 07c. We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us . I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and in particular the recpetion team who are all fairly new, they were delighted.

Kind regards
Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    329
    147
    64
    30
See reviews for
250
500
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We only stayed the one night, but thoroughly it. We upgraded our room and could not have been more pleased, wonderful grounds and the best views ever. When we arrived at reception we were very warmly welcomed by Matthew who was most helpful in every way. We had our meal in the Garden Restaurant and we were not disappointed, wonderful meal and could I please pass on our compliments to the chef, as my husband and I had the best steak ever. We will definitely be returning and for more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you Diana B for taking the time and trouble to post such a lovely review follwing your stay with us here at Forest Hills. Matthew has only been working in reception for a few weeks but he is already proving very popular wiuth thre guests and we receive many compliments about him.
Chef was delighted that you enjoyed your steak, all our beef is locally sourced from Scotland and hung for 21 days which provides an excellent product for us to serve.

Kind regards

Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Yes this isn't the Mandarin Oriental , but I wasn't expecting it to be.
What it is...is a lovely old characterful Scottish hotel that does have a few faded edges (especial the corridor to my room)but has much to commend it .
The drive to the hotel, and the views are stunning. The gardens a joy, even in winter...sitting on the terrace in the sunshine was just heaven.
My room (a standard) was huge and well maintained, yes as others have said... bit of flowery curtain décor going on, but most comfortable, huge bed,, and huge seating area with sofa .Totally acceptable, ( executive refurbished rooms available at a slightly higher price)
The hotel restaurant was a pleasure....great views again, lovely service and good food at both breakfast & dinner.( We didn't eat in the bistro, so cant comment.)
Last but not least, lovely helpful staff. Very impressed with the young South African gentleman who took care of us at dinner....., all the receptionists, especially charming Mathew and the young lady who went over and beyond her remit and checked me in for my return flight.
Cloud was just being installed...so there should be no more internet problems.
What's not to like....be open minded and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks Mrs B 333 for the positive comments that you have given our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
The cloud wifi is now fully operational and is certianly proving popular wiuth our guests and the Lomond corridor is being recedorated in the next few weeks.

Kind regards
Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a group attending a family wedding in the locality. The room was very pleasant and breakfast in the Garden Restaurant was very good. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and the grounds were well maintained. However we all felt that Rafters Bar and Bistro (located in the leisure centre) was disappointing. The bar and dining area felt like a large open space, lacking in atmosphere, and the food was at best ordinary. All in all it is a pity that this area lets the rest of the hotel down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks for your comments courtneyfish. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food that you received in Rafters whilst staying at with us. It is always our intention that our guests receive an enjoyable experience nd we would strive to improve this where this has not been the case. The bistro itself is undergoing refurbishment later this month which I am confident will enhance the atmosphere and enjoyment for our guests.

Kind regards

Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked to eat at the hotel's bistro restaurant by phone One week before our Scotland holiday, (we stayed at the superb Lochard cottages.) Our meal was planned for Saturday to give us a nice rest after a long days traveling. Getting up the stairs to the bistro was difficult as I don't walk well, there were a lot of stairs & no lift. I gave our name to the maitre d. and he said "you are not here!" I gave the name of the young man who had taken my booking, Matthew & the date & it was still queried by the maitre....but he did fit us in albeit in a rushed sort of way. We were encouraged to order quickly as he was expecting a party of 28 ladies who were celebrating a hen night. (Good advice) but we felt rushed all the same. The meal was average, small starter & cheeses were disappointingly straight from the fridge! All in all an expensive disappointment with no apology for not having me booked in. Would not go back.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks for your comments LesleyF. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experiences that you received whilst eating in Rafters Bistro. It is always our intention that our guests receive an enjoyable experience and we would strive to improve this where this has not been the case
If you would like to contact me at the hotel directly I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and to resolve the outstanding issue for you.

Kind regards

Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

When we booked this hotel we were expecting a 4 star experience. This is not a 4 star hotel, it is a 3 star at best.

I wouldn't recommend it, beautiful views, nice spa, nice hotel/room but the service was poor, it was expensive, no mobile reception, slow internet, TV reception was poor.

£20 just for afternoon tea (Tea & Scones), the dinner was good but the price was too expensive, they charge more as they know you have nowhere else to go. The service was slow, I had to keep asking as they were taking too long. The staff were friendly and nice but I would be expecting better service for a 4 star and especially for the price.

It was just the small things that left us feeling disappointed. If they manage to sort these things out and then maybe I would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks for your comments deehaw. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experiences that you received whilst staying at with us. It is always our intention that our guests receive an enjoyable experience whilst dining in the Garden Restaraunt and we would strive to improve this where this has not been the case.
We do endeavour to offer menus to suit all budgets inclding Rafters Bistro which offers a more informal dining experience with individually priced items.
We have just received our grading report from Visit Scotland which has again awarded us 4 star status.

Kind regards
Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have recently returned from a one night stay at this fantastic hotel.

I booked directly with the hotels website and booked a king room as they had an autumn deal on.

We were not dissapointed... the room had an amazing view of the loch and a massive bed. Equiped wih tv and ipod dock we were happy.

The ground are simply stunning and for a photographer boyfriend he was in his element. We spent a while wandering around the grounds and playing a cheeky game of chess when we found the amazing waterfall.

We had booked dinner in the bistro but when we checked in we were told that there was a problem with the gas and we would be given a table in the main dining room. We ordered off the lounge menu and the food was delicious.

The staff were really friendly and treated us to a lovely glass of bubbly when they found out that we had gotten engaged earlier that day at the waterfall!

Breakfast in the morning was again really nice and great choice of hot and cold options.

After checkout we went for a swim and jacuzzi before heading home.

We will most definetly be returning to the hotel and reccomend it to anyone looking for a getaway that is easily accessable!

Room Tip: Room 205 has excellent views of the Loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear hoopylass
Congratulations to you and your partner on your engagement and I am delighted that he chose Forest hills for this special occasion. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food and service which I have passed onto Helen, Zsolt and the team who were delighted to share in your good news.
I do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.