We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days in the Trossachs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Three days in the Trossachs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Forest Hills on a midweek break. The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment at the time and the dark wood furniture in the bedroom showed quite a lot of dust from the building work. However, the work didn't impact adversely on the pleasure and comfort of our stay. The staff at Forest Hills were first class and treated their guests with efficiency and good humour. The meals were excellent and the menus very good and varied. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a pleasant stay in the Trossachs. Travellers should note that the area has poor mobile phone signals and Wi-Fi in the hotel is expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    327
    146
    64
    30
See reviews for
250
497
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked a nights stay package deal. Dinner b&b and a treatment. Had full use of the spa pool etc as well. Staff friendly and helpful. Food is that bit more expensive but good quality, breakfast could be a big bigger though. Location is ideal for walkers cycling etc. Local shops are 5miles mad there is no internet/phone signal and no free wifi which is the only downside, although if your there to switch off from the world then it's ideal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on Friday night after getting a deal for b&b, facial and dinner for £200. The location is fabulous, really beautiful. However the hotel is very dated! I can appreciate that traditional is what people are looking for in this location, however it felt more dated than traditional. The "cocktail lounge" had a massive hole in the wall and the carpet in the dining room was ripped. They charge £5 for wifi, I felt they were trying to squeeze as much money as they could from us - a cocktail was £10.50, a bit ridiculous. The bread was £1.75 each for 1 slice, a bit ridiculous. I thought my dinner was lovely, the salmon was great and they had a good choice of food. However, my boyfriend had the prawn and salmon starter and felt ill straight away - he now has food poisoning. The breakfast was disappointing, microwaved scrambled eggs and the orange juice was from a carton - not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. I would like to point out that the staff were all lovely, especially the new assistant manager of the restaurant who was great - a little more human than the rest who appeared to be a little robotic.
Wouldn't go back to this hotel, or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed Here For one night in October 2008 it was my parents wedding it had lovely rooms and the bistro was great there there was machines you could win an iPod nano And the family were great there they all loved it after my parents got married we went outside there was a big chessboard it was super fandaby dozy

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here last weekend. The location is stunning, loch, forests, mountains literally on your doorstep. What's not to like. The hotel itself is OK. I thought the rooms were a bit tired, but perfectly nice. The spa and leisure facilities are great. A second hot tub would be nice, there are some real hot tub hoggers in the world. The hotel building itself if lovely, but other buildings are a bit concrete blocky for my taste.

The restaurant is good, but I wouldn't say it was anything particularly special. Nice enough food, but nothing to blow you away. The service is good, but I did take umbrage at being addressed as Sir by one of the European staff. There is no way you would mistake me for a man. And I think the restaurant is overpriced. Charging for bread is just tight, when you are then charging £35 for a three course meal, with supplements for steak, asparagus, cheese etc. Especially as the bread was one piece, and about 2 inches square. We were not offered any more. We were offered three types of bread and when my husband asked which the waitress would recommend; she shrugged and said she didn't know. In that case, make it up…
Bread obsession over, the meal was nice, but at £250+ for three of us, way over the mark for the quality. Rooms were also overpriced in my opinion. £230 for a room with an uninterrupted view of the car park.

So in summary, amazing location, nice hotel, decent restaurant, average service, nice facilities, over priced. I think you could find somewhere as nice, for less money in the same area.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get one with a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've stayed at the forest hills resort hotel in the past and loved it. although it was only me and the missus that went. This time we took our 3 year old. different story. I wouldnt say this hotel is a family hotel, yes they have a pool and yes they cater food for kids but that's about it. There is nothing for a toddler to do apart from colour in the free welcome pack colouring book (which was something I suppose). But for the cost to stay in this hotel I would have expected more. No regular kids club, no child care, no entertainment, no games hall that has anything that works or is acessible to children...nothing to do at all. very disapointing. There is a small part at the bottom of the hotel but this has limited facilities. No free wifi.. bt charge for internet access.. had to pay it so my daughter could watch some cartoons on youtube cause was nothing else to do..The hotel itself was nice, clean, bedroom was ok. Food was really good. Drink as usual with hotels very pricey. I would come back but without my daughter as it's really only suitable for couples with no kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night what a lovely place Spa gorgeous fantastic massage. Just make sure you request an upgraded lodge and don't expect Internet access signal is poor but a getaway break just the ticket! Weather let us down but what can you expect for a bank holiday. Staff very helpful Would recommend

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.