We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delectable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Shed Restaurant

Wharf Shed Restaurant
22 The Strand, Whakatane 3080, New Zealand
(07) 308 5698
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 32 restaurants in Whakatane
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Zealand
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Delectable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Oh My God- the food in this place is absolutely delicious!!! Went on the off chance that it would be nice- had seafood on the brain- and we certainly were not disappointed. Not only is the food amazingly good the service is wonderful as well. We had seafood chowder and scallops followed by creme brûlée, yummy yummy yummy. If you happen to be in this neck of the woods this place is certainly a must!! Enjoy, we did.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    11
    10
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Maybe we went on a bad night......!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Have been to the Wharf Shed in previous years and it has always been very, very good. We hadn't been there for a year and this time we were disappointed.
Whilst the decor and ambience along with the service remains pretty good the food this time was a real let down. We ordered a herb and garlic bread to start which arrived very quickly. It was tasteless and only the outer crust was cooked - the rest of it was a doughy wet gooey mess - yuk! Our mains, both meat dishes were cooked to our liking but were bland and the extra vegetables we ordered were VERY bland, pale and overcooked. Normally we would have ordered more drinks and desserts, but couldn't justify spending more money on an a below average experience.The wharf shed charges a premium price but what we received did not match - come on Wharf Shed, we've been before and never been disappointed, we hope this isn't the start of things to come!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great NZ Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Nautical decor, with sailing ship paintings scattered amongst other sailing/fishing decor. If you order the sea food platter make sure you bring a healthy appetite and more than 2 people.
The wine selection is good, food was perfect, service is quick, professional and friendly. Definitely in my top 2 places to dine in Whakatane.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Smiley, friendly service, great location and fab food!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Doesn't really rock the wharf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Curious to find out if this was a hidden dazzler sitting nonchalantly on the deck fronting Whakatane's estuary,I made reservations for dinner with a plateful of moderately high hopes.Wharf Shed takes its name seriously -a porthole is set into its main door, slats of polished wood form the floor,walls and ceiling while decor consists of familiar maritime memorabilia.The walls have framed pictures of many-sailed multi-masted ships negotiating choppy sea (fighting the tide of mediocrity?) Affairs were commenced with a entree of Scallops. These turned out to be small chunks -lacking both a delicious sear and luscious interior, their taste further undermined by the funk from the adjoined coral. The eventual enticer here was the berry vinaigrette which accorded sweetly bracing anointment to the salad with thin slices of grilled apple and briny dried tomatoes. A Sauvignon Blanc -The Ned from Marlborough - qualified as an excellently polished complement, well-suited to those who like their potions swirling on a lighter note.

Next- Thai marinated medallions of oven-roasted,cold-sliced Pork - these were soft and hearty but were devoid of moist brio and complex savouriness.Coriander-scented crisp noodles turned out to be plain squiggles of fried flour.Not content with the creamy appeal of aoli with cashewnuts,I asked the girl who came to clear the dish, what exactly the purported Thai condiments were. After consulting the chef,she came back and replied,"Brown sugar....and red wine?" uncertainly as if losing faith in her own answer even as she uttered it.

Service, especially by the hostess who attended to my meal, was polite and often agreeably solicitous, but as the patrons increased in number my table was left unattended for liberal waves of time. The tariffs here are reasonable -my meal with 4 dishes and a glass of wine cost NZ$ 87.
For the mains, their vegetarian options include creations like a Samosa Parcel with feta,walnut and aioli. The advertized fish of the day -Tarakihi and Gurnard, with potato mash and a light curried sauce came across as a solid choice but the menu cover-blazoned proclamation of the Award of Excellence in Beef and Lamb for 2006-2010 induced me to try Lamb Tenderloin. It wasn't true to its name's enticing connotation, and was too gamey for my taste.Where I expected a silent roar of rapture,there only issued a bleat of disappointment. About the associates- spinach timbale slid easily down the gullet,but the tamarillo jus and potato-cream-bacon were of the sort that would not inspire cartwheels of self-congratulation were I to rustle up creations of similar caliber myself. This was the third successive dish topped by finely cut lacy beetroot- not only did this detract from the visual impact of the featured ingredients but also showed lack of imagination implicit in planting default garnishes.

Dessert- Creme Brulee- This was flanked by whipped cream,chocolate wafer and slices of semi-ripe papaya & pineapple ( it had been spared that constant crown of beetroot) A firm jab with the spoon broke the torched crust -its powdered sugar and crisp shards contrasted well with the caramel custard beneath.'Twas a vaguely conciliatory finale to the meal. I arose ,neither gutted or stoked, gazing at the rouge haze cast at the center of the room by the cluster of multicolour lights directly above- and sighing that at that juncture,it'd perhaps take a burlesque show by some Hellenic beauty in order for me to regard the place in a superior light.The evening ,nevertheless,ended with a cordial farewell by my hostess. It was felt,on balance, that one may consider docking at Wharf Shed in search of serviceable food with a decent wine list, while being fully forewarned that its kitchen's levee is safe from a tsunami of culinary revelations.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Shed Restaurant also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Wharf Shed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Shed Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.