We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crestwood Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crestwood Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Crestwood Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Crestwood Rise | Crestwood 3120, Whakatane 3080, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Whakatane B&B and Inns
Auckland
1 review
“A great start to our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I gave ourselves a week off recently and traveled around part of the North Island. Our first stop was in Whakatane, where we stayed with Peter and Janet. What a delightful and friendly couple. Their house is in the hills behind Whakatane with a superb view out to sea. The guest apartment is up one flight of stairs and can accommodate as many as four people in the two bedrooms. There is a spacious lounge, off which is a little coffee and tea making space and the usual facilities. The toiletries were good and everything was spotless. There is also a deck on which one can sit in fine weather. There is at least one very good restaurant down in the town.

We cannot recommend Crestwood too highly for anyone wanting to stay in Whakatane.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Owner at Crestwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello Tomas, Thankyou so much for your nice review on Crestwood B & B. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable.
Those 70 gardening pots on your terrace are going to keep you busy over the summer they must look a lovely display when they are all flowering. Hope to see you again sometime
Janet and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
51
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Carrol and I had a wonderful night at the Crestwood Bed and Breakfast.
This was a first for me (Lisa) to stay at a B&B. We certainly picked the right one first time!
Highly recommended. Very helpful, informative and friendly :-)
The view from our room on the top of the hill was amazing!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Owner at Crestwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Carrol and Lisa, thankyou for your kind review we enjoyed your company and interesting discussions. We are pleased you picked Crestwood to stay and perhaps we will see you again when your fishing charter trip is organised. The fishing is good at the moment, whitebaiting even better!
Regards
Janet and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you thought you were just getting a bed for the night, you are wrong.
I could not believe the view from my bedroom of the surrounding bushland and ocean views.
My room was spacious and private with a lounge and other facilities to boot.
Jan and Pete made my stay a relaxing one as the conversation flowed into the evening.
I woke to the smell of coffee and toast wofting through the house. To me, that's the smells of home.
Thanks Jan and Pete for opening your home to me and I hope to see you again.
Cheers

Robert G

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Owner at Crestwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We enjoyed having you stay with us Robert and look forward to meeting up with you again sometime. Peter enjoyed the rugby discussions. He is getting busy with the whitebaiting so he will leave some for you for next time.
Regards
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed in many types of accommodation and Crestwood is way up the top. Absolutely delightful accommodation, plenty of room to spread around in and remarkably comfortable, breakfasts were simply stunning, and the friendly and welcoming attitudes of Pete and Janet could not have been better. Wonderful company during several rugby matches was the icing on the cake.Would I return? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Owner at Crestwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thankyou Graeme for your super review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and watching the rugby and yachting was all good fun. Enjoy your move to Perth.
Janet and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were hooked the moment we arrived... Peter and Jan have a lovely home with very generous guest quarters and amazing views. We arrived to enjoy views of Whale Island, some lovely tea, homemade biscuits and Kiwi hospitality. You get a whole floor to yourselves including a little kitchen area and a large lounge so you can be self-contained but Peter and Jan always seemed happy to answer your questions and have a chat. When we left Jan packed us off with some lovely homemade cakes. The place, the hosts, and the tea and cakes come very highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great view. Delicious food. Very comfortable spacious accommodation. Lovely stay, with very welcoming hosts. The very best of Kiwi hospitality. We could not have wished for more and would return here on future trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Owner at Crestwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thankyou June for taking the time to write a nice review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and sharing an evening meal .Your garden photos are awesome keep up the good work for the charity.
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only spent one night at this B&B and we regret that we were not able to stay longer. Everything was perfect. We thank again Jan and Peter for their outstanding hospitality from the begining with the tea/coffee time to the breakfast and the time to leave. Everything is first class like the welcome, the cleanliness of the accomomdation, the NZ breakfast, the nice view on a volcano from the balcony. If we come back to the north Island, we will definitely come back to Jan & Peter B&B. This is the place to stay in Whakatane area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Owner at Crestwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Christian, It was nice to read your super comments and it was a pleasure having you and Marie stay with us. Yes a pity you only had one night as we would have enjoyed taking you around to the out of way places. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoy the rest of your travels throughout the year.
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crestwood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crestwood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Crestwood Rise | Crestwood 3120, Whakatane 3080, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crestwood Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast with spectacular sea views from all rooms. Upstairs suite of rooms, self-contained, quiet, private, with two bedrooms, private bathroom, guest lounge, kitchenette and sunny deck. Safe off-street parking and 1.5kms to town, jetty and wharf. Ideal for group of four traveling together.Free Wi-Fi, phone, writing desk,electric blankets. Spacious sunny rooms.Excellent safe off road parking and motor cycles can be stored in garage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crestwood Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crestwood Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.