We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bEst!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Louie

Chez Louie
Pohutukawa Ave | Ohope Beach, Whakatane, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Whakatane
Cuisines: French
Description: Best pizzeria for miles, authentic French style, Louie and Anais are fab.
Restaurant details
Description: Best pizzeria for miles, authentic French style, Louie and Anais are fab.
Borocay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The bEst!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My boyfriend's dad owns a pizzeria in Scotland and Ive spent the last 4 months working in one in Australia. They both sell awesome pizzas but nothing comes close to these!!! We bought one, tasted a slice and bought another straight away!! Granted, we're pretty full right now but it was so worth it!! Insanely good pizzas, possibly the best we've ever had! Certainly the real deal and could give pizzas in Italy and the south of France a run for their money. Do not miss out on this 'experience' when you're in Ohope!! You won't regret it!! Very nice owner too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

As the other reviews suggest it is worth going out your way for one of these pizzas, they are just the best. A good variety of toppings and all cooked to order, about 10-15 min wait but well worth it.
You can sit in garden and eat or like us take back to motel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious croissants in the morning; fab pizza at night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A surprising and fantastic find in Ohope beach. Louie's bakery (boulangerie) produces fresh, hot, delicious croissants (and pain au chocolat, pain au raisins etc) most mornings. Then in the afternoon/evening you can go back for fantastic wood-fired pizzas made out of that proper, hand-stretched dough - cooked perfectly with generous toppings.

Staff are really friendly too.

A take-away rather than restaurant - although there's a lovely beach-side garden area you can sit in to wait for your order or devour your fare.

Definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Favourite Holiday Takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The best authentic wood fire pizzas. Ordered 3 large for family of 5 - Taj mahal, Supreme & Hawaiian. Lots of fresh yummy toppings, well cooked soft base. Great service & value for money. Will have to go back someday and try their delicious baking that they do there in the mornings.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Kiwified toppings but excellent bases”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The pizzas were inded thin & crusty (some were even burnt black, maybe time to give the oven a clean), but I found the variety of toppings odd (sour cream curry ?? not very authentic Italian, I know, the guys are French but the liberal use of sour cream on the pizzas did put me off some what). I had a Moana (which the mussels where not fresh at all). The Margherita pizza had hardly any basil on it (its an in season herb!!!). So I was dissapointed in the toppings, could do better. Earlier in the day, we did try some Pain au Chocolat and a garlic & feta bread which were really good.
Change those pizza toppings and things could be a whole lot better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Louie also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Chez Louie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Louie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.