We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic for the price we paid but good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Island Rendezvous

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added White Island Rendezvous to your Saves list
White Island Rendezvous
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 the Strand East, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very basic for the price we paid but good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Clean and tidy but very basic. The tv was so tiny and there wasnt a proper wardrobe. Three beds in open plan arrangement next to the kitchen.
No outlook from the room - kitchen looked over a tin roof and the lounge looked at the driveway. Good location as it was near the shops. For $170, we were very disappointed not to receive a newspaper. When we asked we were told there were none available.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    70
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
110
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Booked the room for two nights specifically for the White Island Tour. Sadly, the tour was cancelled in the morning - but the room certainly made up for it. The nicest room we've stayed in since being here in New Zealand. Very 'homey' with great facilities - LCD TV, spa bath, heating and a small kitchen. The staff have been incredibly helpful and friendly, and the cafe food was lovely. Would stay here again if coming through Whakatane - and will hopefully get to go on the tour this time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Very comfortable, clean, well-cared for room. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Having heard about this accommodation we thought we had better try it out. An East coast road trip led us to Whakatane and we decided to stay at the White Island Rendezvous. The exterior of the building is awesome looking ( I think an architect designed and converted some flats to create a spectacular looking place..rustic...beachy and relaxing).

Staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient. It seems to be a big operation here...accommodation, cafe ( good breaky and coffee!!), White Island tours..etc..It seemed like a slick well run business and very popular.

We found the interior of the rooms a little less appealing than the exterior...the rooms were quite brightly decorated..beachy and roomy. The room had all we needed but was a little noisy...apparently some of the rooms have better sound proofing and we would take this option next time. However the location and the staff really made our stay an enjoyable one.

Whakatane was buzzing...warm and sunny. We had a meal at the fishing club....great location, hospitable staff ( we were not members but still could eat here). Food was fresh and well priced..and the view was just lovely!). I don't know if it was the sea air
or just that we were really hungry..but the food here tasted as good as anywhere we've eaten. We highly recommend this establishment....and it's a hop, step and a jump away from your hotel door!

The township was smallish..but seemed to have lots of the main shops that one needed. Java Man Cafe was superb! Funky, healthy, delicious! Fine coffee too!

Overall we enjoyed our stay...rendezvous is definitely the funky and "hot spot" to stay..and was very reasonably priced. The staff looked happy in their work....and we always got a smile and a hello.

Thanks to all here...we'll recommend you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Although not on the beach, it was not an issue. The hotel inside and out is kept clean and the beach/waterfront/marina is right across the road. We were also only a short walk away from centre of the town and many a night we would ventour there for a night-cap or a movie at that theatre or a meal in a restaurant if we decided not to cook in our hotel. We enjoyed daily strolls along their waterfront walkway (about 1.5 hrs to do it all) and visits to the entrance from the ocean called "The Heads" where you could sometimes get a glimpse of Moko, the wild dolphin that was making its home there at the time. The staff of the hotel were excellent .. friendly and always helpful. We did not participate in their tour to White Island with its active volcano as we found it a bit out of our budget. If ever we were to return to Whakatane we would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed at their Cottage next door for 2 nights.
It sleeps 4 - king bed & 2 singles. It has separate lounge with tv, bathroom & kitchen.
The bathroom has only a shower & the toilet is in there too ... quite small. If you had 4 sleeping over it could be a bit of a nuisance, but it suited us.
The kitchen is typical of its time - like a built-in back lobby ... but very functional with stove, microwave etc.
The cafe, as part of the Motel, is fabulous..... with great coffee!! They would bring a breakfast to the cottage if we wanted it. It open from about 6.30am to 4pm ... and has great food - not your typical motel stuff!!
The staff are so helpful & friendly and make you feel very very welcome in their town. Make sure you have Wally's fish'n'chips from over the road on the wharf - superb!!
The town itself has a great walk along the beach/wharf

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This is the same company the runs the White Island tours. The tour is fantastic and the hotel is great as well. If you go on the tour there is an amazing rate for the hotel. The staff is really nice and helpful. The room was open, clean, and inviting. The cafe in the hotel is very good too.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Island Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Address: 15 the Strand East, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#5 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Island Rendezvous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.