We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mataatua: The House That Came Home

Mataatua: The House That Came Home
Mataatua, Te Manuka Tutahi, 105 Muriwai Drive, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
+64 7-308 4271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Whakatane
Type: Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After more than 130 years away, Mataatua Wharenui - New Zealand's only repatriated and most travelled Maori meeting house - stands once again as the unifying soul of the Ngati Awa (one of the Maori tribes of the Bay of Plenty) New Zealand. Built in 1875, it travelled to Sydney, Melbourne, Victoria & Albert Museum and South Kensington Museum (London), Dunedin and Otago (South Island) before being rebuilt back in its place of origin, Whakatane, in 2011. Your journey at Mataatua (The Face of God) will Ignite the Soul within, as you discover the extraordinary story of the house that has travelled through time. Mataatua is a living and breathing being and our experience provides an opportunity for intimate engagement with the people of Ngati Awa. Be enthralled as the carvings and legends of Ngati Awa are brought to life through world-class digital technology. A spine tingling experience, HIKO; Legends Carved in Light, is the 2011 GOLD Nga Aho award winner from the New Zealand Designers Institute.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Really enjoyable experience, great guide and received welcome. Fascinating story of a well travelled house. Defiantly worth a visit, thank you to our guide : )

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must do when in Whakatane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

A very moving experience about a Maori meeting house that has finally made it home. Experience a welcome on to the Marae and a fascinating light show. Enjoy the hospitality afterwards. A very genuine cultural experience for NZers and overseas visitors.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So much more than just a house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A must do for anyone visiting this part of the Bay of Plenty. We were there with 19 boys as part of a rugby tour. Our time spent at Mataatua was fantastic. The welcome & explanation of the culture and significance of the house and its travels around the world from the local maori elders and guides was very well done. The light and sound show was entertaining and well presented.
Well worth the visit and a great experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I went to see this show and it is one of the best experiences i have endured. the light show is AMAZING and i recommend this to anyone

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderfully surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The story of this "house" was amazing to us as it included our home country yet we had no previous knowledge of the house. The tour was fantastic especially as we went in the "off season" so had a private tour. We chose the tour to include the seafood tastes at the end which was a hearty meal and gave us a wonderful opportunity to ask a million questions of our host about Maori culture, New Zealand culture and anything else that came to our mind. Something that was truly surprising to us was that we were not just allowed but requested to touch the house which was great as it let us get up close to the carvings in the house.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mataatua: The House That Came Home also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Mataatua: The House That Came Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mataatua: The House That Came Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.