We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of wally's on the wharf

wally's on the wharf
2 the strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
(07) 307 1100
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Whakatane
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Bellingen, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Delicious fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The fish was excellent and the meal huge. The view was great. The amount of seating was a bit limited but the outside big communal table allowed us to enjoy some pleasant conversation with other customers, who, in our case, turned out to be very fascinating Maori women who treated us to a spontaneous guided tour. Memorable meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beaut chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

but disappointing fish , paying a premium for fresh fish only for it to be overcooked in dirty oil ...
as always size of servings diet sized, a few more chips would make all the difference .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We ordered two fish & two medium chips to takeaway. The fish was tasty, but the amount of chips we were given was tiny, barely enough for one person. Living in South Island, we were surprised as usually you are given considerably more. Disappointing & not up to New Zealand standards.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had fish & chips here. It was good - we had heard from one of our guidebooks that it was NZ's best - not sure if it was quite the best, but it was good. It has a nice atmosphere - we ate outside by the ocean :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolutely fabulOus.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we walked in - there was a great family atmosphere, from the huge fish tank, the pictures on the wall, the music and the big tv with screenings of nature stuff. Then we met "wally" the resident Galah who is a real character. not to mention the view, over looking the whakatane river - beautiful views.
The staff member was very helpful also.
We ordered fresh tarakihi chips and a "big Wally" which is a gourmet burger. The fish was melt in your mouth beautiful. I haven't eaten a piece of fish like that at a takeaway shop in years.. The burger was the biggest burger I have seen and the flavours were excellent.... The wait was understandably long as the place was busy, but we were told the wait time. There were good magazines to read, lots to look at, which made time fly by.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed wally's on the wharf also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to wally's on the wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage wally's on the wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.