We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   148 Macdonald Road | Awakeri, Whakatane 3192, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Whakatane B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Ashfields 2 nights during our visit to Bay of Plenty and we had a wonderful time during our stay. It has a big plus from our part for all the privacy that is usually lacking other B&Bs. The room was lovely, as was the entire private unit that we had. We definitely recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this incredible bed and breakfast run by Kate and Russ. After a long drive, the two of them stepped out into the cold to greet us, offer us wine and homemade chutneys, feed us, and show us around. We soon learned that their hospitality and generosity were matched only by their taste in decor; Ashfield's Country Garden is one of the most lovely locations we have ever stayed in. Our room was spacious and adjoined a wide living room that felt so familiar and homely. A crackling fireplace was ready for our arrival, and our room was doused in beautifully light aromas. The next morning, we toured the magnificent property, a landscaped garden and kiwi orchard that combined the full New Zealand experience with visual beauty in one fell swoop. Breakfast - a collection of baked goods of Kate's creation, warm coffee, and a delicious berry dish - got us perfectly ready to see the area. After a lovely stay with the hosts, who showed us the best outlooks of the nearby ocean and forced us to take delicious kiwis, we cannot overstate the pleasure of our time at Ashfield's.
Sidenote: For travelers having trouble deciding on one of the many great-looking locations in the Bay of Plenty, we suffered from the same problem and decided on Ashfield's on gut instinct. We can safely say, having come and gone, that it was the right decision and urge you to follow in our footsteps. Ashfield's is the real deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Ashfields Country Garden B & B is a superb Bed & Breakfast. Set in beautifully landscaped gardens, this first class accomodation is beautifully decorated and appointed. Guests are greeted by the very welcoming and sociable host and hostess Russ and Kate. Highly recommended

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast is the best accommodation I have ever had the pleasure to stay with. The hosts Kate and Russ are fabulous people. Everything is provided from luxury his and hers robes, gardenia and rosemary soap, fresh flowers, a selection of homemade biscuits and cake to the 4 little chocolates in the bedroom. The accomodation itself is beautifully decorated in relaxing tones with your own full size lounge leading onto the large deck with steps down to the beautiful manicured gardens. The bid is very comfortable with beautiful linens and very comfy pillows. For anyone wanting a truly peaceful and relaxing holiday away this place is very rejuvenating. In the evening Kate invited us into her home to share a glass of wine and a chat. Lovely people. We will definately stay there again and would recommend Ashfields to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 148 Macdonald Road | Awakeri, Whakatane 3192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashfields is luxury accommodation set within 2 acres of park-like gardens. Only 50 minutes from both Rotorua and Tauranga, and 20 minutes from Whakatane, Ashfields is the perfect base to explore the sunny Bay of Plenty.The property includes a self-contained guest apartment, with bedroom, ensuite, private deck, lounge and entrance. One queen bedroom and one double bedroom with guest bathroom are situated within the main house. A spectacular garden is available to wander at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.