We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roquette Restaurant & Bar

Roquette Restaurant & Bar
23-29 Quay Street, Whakatane, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 restaurants in Whakatane
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We managed to sneak in a meal on the early-bird menu (5:30-6:30) and had two great pasta dishes and a dessert that was to die for. It's a bit out of my girlfriend and I's price range at full price, but would highly recommend getting in early for a great meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    46
    25
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Twizel
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Modern, fresh and very attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Not the seafood sensation the motel suggested but pretty good, we love our seafood and there was only a couple of good seafood options on the menu. The seafood trio main featured nice fresh fish but didnt diliver the wow factor. Simular prices to the likes of Fluer's in Moraki but not in the same league food wise. Given the location, we expected this place to showcase the abundant seafood. Still had a very nice evening, wait staff were excellent, food service prompt, everything was fresh and nicely presented. Wine list was a little drab which seemed odd for a cafe & bar however we still found a tasty Central Otago Gerwurtz which went well with the fish. Pretty safe place to recommend, could be fantastic with a bit more imagination and zest from the chef. Might be suffering minimal competion in Whakatane as bookings are advised!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overstated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes, it's a nice surrounding, yes, the location is good, yes, some of its staff was very friendly and looked after one's needs. On the other hand the prices are high for what one gets. I would say the chef needs upgrading to get the quality of dishes to match the surrounding and pricing. The seafood risotto I ordered had a lot of seafood, but neither was it a risotto nor was there any exiting taste to be found. This for about 34 NZ$. There are places with nicer and more tasty dishes not far away.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely place for a quiet lunch with a friend. Roquette is nice and bright with a cool atmosphere. Nice down beside the Whakatane river.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Bay Whakatane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Up-class dining for Whakatane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fabulous, fabulous place to go eat in any style you like. I just love this place. The meals are generous, delicious and well presented. I have been there 3 times already and have not been disappointed with meals I ordered. The service there is also very well organised and staff are friendly and helpful. They do compare well with bigger city places, so what can I say? Go there and experience it for yourself. I give it high recommendations for the fact that it has made an impression on Whakatane alone. Take a shot and move right on into Quay Street Roquette Restaurant for a memorable meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roquette Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Roquette Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roquette Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.