We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Island Tours

White Island Tours
15 The Strand East, Whakatane, New Zealand
+64 7 308 9588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Activities in Whakatane
Attraction details
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Must do if visiting or you live in NZ..just surreal to be walking on a real live active volcano. Very knowledgeable and friendly guides...a Must do!! Keep up the good work:-)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    40
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This tour has been the biggest highlight of our 3 weeks in NZ.
The boat trip to the island is easily done in a comfortable boat. The staff are professional, courteous, and safety conscious. The information and commentary was extremely good. The location is surreal and beautiful. We had an excellent time and are very glad we went.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not to missed - don't wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Two weeks ago we had the great experience of doing a day tour to White Island with Pee Jay White Island Tours. Good boat trip out and the staff were very attentive in case any passengers were feeling a little seasick on the way to the island. Once we arrived they went through the safety procedures very carefully explaining what was required with gas masks and hard hats etc. And once you land you realise just why you need these precautions. This is not just a tourist attraction - it is reality - a live volcano and I'm glad I had the chance to experience walking round and seeing mother nature at work. You get the feeling that things are changing on a daily basis. We took some great photos. Good lunch provided and good commentary. We took advantage of the deal to stay at the White Island Rendezvous accommodation as part of the package and that was an excellent place to stay. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer in Whakatane - there is definitely a lot to see around there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing trip of a life time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you are fairly fit and agile, do not mind climbing out of a boat into a rib, scrambling over rocks and a metal walkway then you have to do this trip! The crew of PJ tours are excellent. Having given us hard mats and gas masks we set of on a guided tour of a live volcano. You get to walk across the crater floor and up close to funerals spitting out steam, gas and mud. The whole thing is simply awesome. It feels like you are walking on the moon!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“White island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stop over night at the White Island tour accommodation which was ideally located for access to the town and start of the tour. The facilities were very good and the breakfast was fantastic!! The tour to the island takes about 6 hrs - the weather was fine and the sea calm. The crew and guides were fantastic and everything was well organised even down the mat in the rusty jetty when we reached the island. The island was very impressive with steam & sulphur bubbling out of the ground everywhere! The smell isn't too bad and the guys provided helmets and breathing masks as required. All in all a great day to see a active volcano which had actual popped slightly the week before, Thanks to all as White Island tours for a great day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Island Tours also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
North Island, New Zealand
 

Been to White Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Island Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.