We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanstastic stay in the cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   84 Mimiha Rd | RD 4, Whakatane 3194, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Fanstastic stay in the cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed at the cottage for 4 days and it was a very good starting point to visit Rotorua, do couple of walks in the region and go for a day trip to the White Island. The location is just perfect because you're not far from the main road, but still you're in a very quiet place ideal for relaxation. The Cottage itself is like an actual house with all what you would need to feel comfortable. Bev and Hilton are excellent hosts and they would do all their possible to get you the info you need to explore the region. On a nice sunny day you can enjoy the amazing garden.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Bev and Hilton's warmth and great hospitality brought so much happiness to our family specially my parents who celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary at this beautiful cottage. Everything in the cottage has been beautifully set-up and even the little things such as the toys and books kept my 4-year old niece amused. The surrounding view is just great and a stroll to the beach is only a few meters away. One of the things we've enjoyed most is the walk to the vege and fruit garden, picking of feijoas and mandarins, playing with Moe and posing for photos with Bev and Hilton. The only thing we did not like was having to pack our things and saying goodbye to the lovely hosts. We can't wait to come back for another holiday. Oliveros and Gacusan Family ,Philippines

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I will never forget Beverly and Hilton warm welcome espacially after I badly fell on a beach hurting my left shoulder. After a short stop at Wakatane hospital we were dining with them and sharing impression of the Rugby World Cup and I was oublious of my misfortune. The place is so nice that we will certainly come back to enjoy the surroundings in better circumstances. Thank you very much. Dom and Herv from Tokyo

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chain Valley Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

What a lovely place. Great facilities, great hosts, and great meals, what more could you ask for. The home-made jams, pickles are 'simply the best', and the scenery is so beautiful. Will be back, and will recommend this lovely place to all our friends. Thank you Hilton and Bev for a wonderful relaxing stay.
Judi & John Gurzinski

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

lovely warm room, beautiful garden and great hosts, breakfast with the home made preserves was delicious, and I love the wild and beautiful beach down the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This place is so peaceful that you can hear the silence. The little extras are appreciated - such as the homemade muesli(delicious!) and preserves, the fresh veggies from their garden and the taking of the guests photo's at the end. It does make you feel like more of a friend than just an anonymous guest. Beverly has thought of everything for your comfort and the cottage has everything that your home has, right down to sunscreen and insect repellant. The cottage is scrupulously clean and totally comfortable. If you are after peace and quiet, gentle walks, relaxationa and serenity with warm and friendly hosts, and all for a fair price - then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

many thanks to Bev and Hilton for such a wonderful stay in their garden paradise,near the beach. What pleasant welcoming hosts., your fresh food was extremely tasty, home grown , beautifully presented and certainly enjoyed by all. we think your B & B is number one and we look forward to visiting you again.

Mr and Mrs A R. Huggett

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84 Mimiha Rd | RD 4, Whakatane 3194, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer top-quality accommodation in our self-contained B&B suite in this quiet, peaceful, beautiful location near the North Island's east coast with the beach close by. You will enjoy the comfort and our friendly service. Homegrown and homemade foods are our specialty, using eco-friendly practices and products. This is a central base for visits to Rotorua, Tauranga & Mount Maunganui, Whakatane and volcanic White Island. Your hosts are winners of 2010 AA Spirit of Hospitality for excellence in Home hosting nationwide, and finalists every year since 2007. Wireless internet and laptop use are free to use, plus our luxurious spa pool and our extensive gardens. Farm walks, guided garden tours and nature rambles can be arranged. Come and enjoy our slice of heaven! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.