We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   84 Mimiha Rd | RD 4, Whakatane 3194, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This place is so peaceful that you can hear the silence. The little extras are appreciated - such as the homemade muesli(delicious!) and preserves, the fresh veggies from their garden and the taking of the guests photo's at the end. It does make you feel like more of a friend than just an anonymous guest. Beverly has thought of everything for your comfort and the cottage has everything that your home has, right down to sunscreen and insect repellant. The cottage is scrupulously clean and totally comfortable. If you are after peace and quiet, gentle walks, relaxationa and serenity with warm and friendly hosts, and all for a fair price - then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

many thanks to Bev and Hilton for such a wonderful stay in their garden paradise,near the beach. What pleasant welcoming hosts., your fresh food was extremely tasty, home grown , beautifully presented and certainly enjoyed by all. we think your B & B is number one and we look forward to visiting you again.

Mr and Mrs A R. Huggett

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hosts were very warm and friendly. The cottage was clean, spacious and fully equipped. The hosts shared their delicious fresh garden produce and local knowledge. Free internet was a huge bonus. If you enjoy country living, you will especially enjoy this cottage stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This was the first time we had stayed Bed and Breakfast where you eat with the hosts and we couldn't have picked a better start. A very warm welcome, beautiful accommodation, fantastic breakfasts and wonderful hosts.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts from helpful advice on where to go on a wet day in Whakatane to superb home made pickles and relishes.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed two nights in the cottage and found it simply fantastic, beautiful fresh fruit from the orchard in the fruit basket, homemade preserves, stunning garden, cottage very tidy and clean ...beautiful sound of a stream flowing past. Great hosts, super friendly and helpful. Matata is a good place to stay too even though most people overlook it, its peaceful and accessible to everywhere you might want to go in the Bay.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We chose Mimiha Cottage as our base for visiting the Bay of Plenty, and what a great choice it was. After the drive down from Auckland the warm welcome from Bev and Hilton, with considerate touches like stocking the cottage with fresh produce, milk and preserves set the tone for a wonderful visit

The cottage is set in its own pretty gardens, with access to the lake, stream and gardens of the main house. This offers a private and peaceful location, with comfortable and thoughtfully equipped facilities. Bev andHilt's experience meant that the needs of strangers in a strange land were anticipated and well catered for.

An example of their consideration was equipping the cottage with a high speed broadband connection for our visit to allow me to stay in touch with work during our trip. Much appreciated!

The location is not only beautiful (as described by other reviewers) but wonderfully convenient for visiting Tauranga, Manganui, Rotorua, Whakatane and environs.

Thank you both, Bev and Hilt, for your warm welcome and attentive hospitality, We look forward to our next visit, should the opportunity come our way.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed with Bev and Hilton for two nights, from the time we arrived to the time we had to leave they made us so welcome. Their home and garden is beautiful. We had the Queen room up stairs which was very comfortable. Bev let me use her laptop. We had dinner with them on the first night, everything was home grown and so fresh. and delicious and so were the breakfast..
We bought some home made jams and chutney from some of the collection that Bev had made. We can recommend Fothergills a beautiful place to stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84 Mimiha Rd | RD 4, Whakatane 3194, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer top-quality accommodation in our self-contained B&B suite in this quiet, peaceful, beautiful location near the North Island's east coast with the beach close by. You will enjoy the comfort and our friendly service. Homegrown and homemade foods are our specialty, using eco-friendly practices and products. This is a central base for visits to Rotorua, Tauranga & Mount Maunganui, Whakatane and volcanic White Island. Your hosts are winners of 2010 AA Spirit of Hospitality for excellence in Home hosting nationwide, and finalists every year since 2007. Wireless internet and laptop use are free to use, plus our luxurious spa pool and our extensive gardens. Farm walks, guided garden tours and nature rambles can be arranged. Come and enjoy our slice of heaven! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fothergills on Mimiha Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.