We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel in a handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist Court Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tourist Court Motel to your Saves list
Tourist Court Motel
50 Landing Road, Whakatane, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Motel in a handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked a two bedroom Motel unit and were pleasantly surprised by the amount of room we had. There was only two of us but this unit can cater up to 7 people. The lounge area was well equipped to entertain family members who visited with two single beds and the kitchen also had everything you need to prepare meals at "home". The two bedrooms were clean and mattresses comfortable. The staff were friendly and thoughtful even turning on a welcoming light and heater plus closing the curtains when we were late back one night.

Room Tip: The road it is situated on is fairly busy so ask for a room towards the rear of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for such positive comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. The unit you had is ideal for small or family groups. Guests often comment on the size of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    32
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
41
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 night having intended to stay just one. Spending 6 weeks in NZ its fair to say we had a good degree of experience of accommodation at every level (always well above average). This place is a very nice motel which was head and shoulders above other motels in its class. The accommodation is spotless with several extra touches and plenty of local area info. However it was the attitude and friendliness of the new owners which really made this such a homely experience for us. Very good value too. A short drive from the centre of town. We had no noise issues (our room as 3 in from the roadside). This is a highly recommended motel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for your generous comments. It is always rewarding when guests appreciate our style of motel and the space of the rooms. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The aged building make you think twice as you drive in however the rooms are spotless and very well maintained. We stayed in 2 rooms (one 2 bedroom and another 'normal') both rooms had everything needed to be self sufficent - even a coffee plunger and ground coffee! The 2 bedroom easily sleeps 7 with space. The added bounus of a full dinning table meant that on our last night with family in NZ we were able to share a relaxed and easy dinner, beds and pillows were all very comfy. This motel is great value for money, just don't be decieved as you drive in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Your comments are much appreciated. It is interesting that you express your first impressions as a number of guests comment in a similar manner. We are pleased that the units were ideal for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived planning on staying just the one night however after a very warm welcome from our hosts and seeing our very well equipped room we decided to stay longer.

The rooms are super clean and very well appointed with great attention to the little things. As a few people mentioned the motel is near a road but unless you insist on sleeping with a windows open you won't hear a thing.

The couple running this motel are new to the business and are doing an excellent job. They make you feel very welcome and are more than happy to help with any advice you need, in our case a recommended route to Auckland to avoid traffic.

They deserve every success with this business in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your generous comments. We are indeed enjoying the business, especially meeting positive people like yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had two nights at the Tourist Court over Easter. The rooms were spotlessly clean and had everything necessary for an enjoyable stay. The proprieter was very pleasant and lent me a bike to ride along the cycleway/walkway that runs along the riverside into town. We had two rooms near Landing Road which is very busy and the traffic noise was a negative for some of us who had difficulty sleeping the first night. Probably being Easter the road was noisier than usual.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay here again but I would request a room at the back further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for your honest comments. As the new owners we are striving to make each guests stay a pleasant experience. We will be working on ways to reduce the traffic noise! Whakatane hope is certainly a great place to visit. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent the night of Dez. 25th 2012 at this motel, because we failed in making a reservation at a B&B in Whakatane.
It´s situated far away from central Whakatane and right on a busy main road, therefore quite noisy..
Rooms are o.k., but will need some refurnishment.
Gladys was very helpful in reconfirming our White Island- reservation.
All in all a very average place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Holland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Tourist court motel has everything that you need when you stay at Whakatane for one day. It is clean, the owners are very nice and the rooms are relatively large. We arrived when the two former owners were about to leave to se had the pleasure of meeting the old and new owners. nothing bad can be said about he motel except that it is a bit pricy (booked it through hotels.com) compared to hotels in the surrounding and that it was not very close to the beach. We loved Ohope beach (which had several lodgings too). Excellent tip for fish and chips however at the local fish retailer around the corner

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your honest appraisal of our Motel. We have enjoyed meeting a range of people since we began and it is wonderful to share ideas. Ohope is a great beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourist Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Court Motel

Address: 50 Landing Road, Whakatane, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a motel with clean and spacious units which have recently been redecorated with lcd tvs with USB & HDMI ports, freshly painted and new carpet.We have studios, one-bedroom units and a two-bedroom unit which sleeps up to 7.We are 2kms from the CBD of Whakatane and the port which is the gateway to tours to White Island (a volcano)- which we can book for you plus fishing and diving tours.Lots of walks to keep you fit while on holiday.We are one hour from Rotorua or Tauranga and two and a half hours from Gisborne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tourist Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.