We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist Court Motel

Save Saved
You added Tourist Court Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tourist Court Motel
50 Landing Road, Whakatane, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 night. The room was very clean and there was plenty of room. We had the front, ground floor unit but didn't have any issues with road noise. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. Would definitely stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    32
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
41
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 - 2 Adults & 3 Kids stayed here for one night. The owners were really friendly and helpful. The Motel was immaculate and very spacious for all of us. I am guessing the motel was probably built in the 70's and has some original fittings like taps that give a clue to the age but the owners have redecorated and repainted to a very high standard so everything was very clean and in excellent order.
Location was very handy with shops and restaurants just a short drive away.
This motel definitely deserves all the excellent reviews and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are soon to sell this motel and move to a bigger one in Tauranga (Academy Motor Inn) so if you need to stay in Tauranga please look us up. If you come back to Whakatane I am sure the new owners will treat you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lots of room inside unit, Very Clean & tidy.Kelvin and Gladys were very helpful(and understanding when we accidently set the smoke alarm off while cooking) Love the soft comfy beds and the cool art. Our family dog was even allowed to stay! Loads better than the other Whakatane motel we stayed in previously.

Room Tip: unit six slept two adults, three kids and we had plenty of space,Ground floor, no traffic noise. Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for sharing your views with everyone. We like to check everyone is OK after the smoke alarm goes off ;) Not sure we always hear the alarms as they sound like a truck reversing, but I guess the guests in the neighbouring units would hear it and come to your rescue - or just to watch your embarrasment. hahahahaha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our trip around the East Cape. We booked this motel over others because of the good reviews on here, and they weren't wrong. This motel is absolutely spotlessly clean, very comfortable and lovely hosts. We ate out so didn't use the kitchen but it certainly had everything you needed, the bed was comfortable - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. All of these reviews have definately helped build our business. It has been so successful that we are moving to a bigger motel in Tauranga (Academy Motor Inn) so would love to see you there if you ever come to Tauranga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Well equipped room at a reasonable price. One of the first motels as you enter town from the north and only a short drive from city centre. Hosts were very friendly and helpful, with advice on everything from local shops to tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of us and our motel. We do enjoy trying to help our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Absolutely lovely hosts, very friendly indeed. Great with my children :)
I booked two rooms, 1 for my family (husband and 2 small kids), and 1 for my mum, dad and sister who is wheel chair bound. The rooms were very tidy and very clean. The beds were very comfy too. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Talk to the hosts, they helped accommodate to the needs of my family (we had small kids, and my sist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. It helps our business immensely when other potential guests can hear from satisfied guests. The motel we are moving to in Tauranga (Academy Motor Inn) has wheelchair access units so it would be much easier when you need to bring your sister to Tauranga. We would love to see you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked this the day before by taking a chance- host was very obliging - very happy with our choice, the room was large and spacious. The bed was firm and very comfortable. i cooked dinner and found the kitchen well kitted out. Very friendly host. The room and especially the bathroom were very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. We enjoy doing our best for our guests. We are about to sell this motel and buy a bigger one in Tauranga (Academy Motor Inn) so that we can please even more people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tourist Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Court Motel

Address: 50 Landing Road, Whakatane, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a motel with clean and spacious units which have recently been redecorated with lcd tvs with USB & HDMI ports, freshly painted and new carpet.We have studios, one-bedroom units and a two-bedroom unit which sleeps up to 7.We are 2kms from the CBD of Whakatane and the port which is the gateway to tours to White Island (a volcano)- which we can book for you plus fishing and diving tours.Lots of walks to keep you fit while on holiday.We are one hour from Rotorua or Tauranga and two and a half hours from Gisborne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Tourist Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.